Accueil Base de données Études de cas Mise en œuvre de la stratégie d’infrastructure urbaine verte Vitoria-Gasteiz

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
The European Climate and Health Observatory is undergoing reconstruction until June 2024 to improve its performance. We apologise for any possible disturbance to the content and functionality of the platform.
Études de cas

Mise en œuvre de la stratégie d’infrastructure urbaine verte Vitoria-Gasteiz

Mise en œuvre de la stratégie d’infrastructure urbaine verte Vitoria-Gasteiz

La stratégie d’infrastructure urbaine verte a été lancée par le conseil municipal de Vitoria-Gasteiz en 2012. Ses principaux objectifs sont la régénération des zones dégradées par des techniques d’écoconception, l’amélioration de la biodiversité urbaine, l’amélioration de la connectivité et de la fonctionnalité des différents espaces verts urbains et périurbains, la promotion de l’utilisation publique des espaces verts et l’amélioration de la capacité d’adaptation au changement climatique, en particulier des vagues de chaleur plus graves et plus fréquentes.

La mise en œuvre de la stratégie comprenait la rénovation de l’avenue Gasteiz avec des techniques d’éco-conception et la création d’une façade verte dans le Palais des Congrès Europa, situé sur le même axe routier. Dans le même temps, des interventions ont commencé dans les quartiers afin de régénérer les espaces verts et les espaces libres; une première initiative a été mise en œuvre dans la région de Lakua (Lakuabizkarra en basque), également dans le but de tester les performances de différentes techniques qui seront ensuite exportées dans d’autres zones similaires.

Description de l'étude de cas

Défis

Les principaux défis liés au changement climatique pour Vitoria-Gasteiz sont les changements dans la configuration des précipitations, l’augmentation de la température et l’augmentation du risque d’inondation. Les changements dans les précipitations sont particulièrement attendus au printemps avec une diminution moyenne comprise entre 10 % et 30 % d’ici 2100. On s’attend également à une augmentation allant jusqu’à 30 % du nombre d’événements avec des précipitations extrêmes. Des études prévoient également un risque accru d’inondation et un risque accru d’inondation. On s’attend également à une augmentation de la température annuelle moyenne et à l’apparition de vagues de chaleur. Plus précisément, pendant les mois d’hiver, les températures minimales pourraient augmenter entre 1 et 3 °C d’ici 2100, tandis que pendant les mois d’été, les projections montrent une augmentation possible jusqu’à 3 °C des températures maximales encore d’ici 2100. En raison de ces changements, des vagues de chaleur plus longues et plus récurrentes sont attendues d’ici la fin du siècle.

Vitoria-Gasteiz est une ville de plus de 200 000 habitants, qui pourrait être affectée par des conditions climatiques plus sévères. Pour cette raison, il est extrêmement important de créer des espaces verts qui peuvent réduire les impacts des vagues de chaleur et l’effet d’îlot de chaleur typique des zones urbaines. Les zones vertes favoriseront également la conservation, la connectivité et l’amélioration de la biodiversité, pertinentes tant pour l’atténuation que pour l’adaptation au changement climatique.

Objectifs

La stratégie d’infrastructure urbaine verte a été lancée par le conseil municipal de Vitoria-Gasteiz en 2012 et a également impliqué le projet «Roots of Tomorrow», qui est toujours en cours. La stratégie vise à explorer l’utilité de différentes solutions d’infrastructures urbaines vertes pour relever divers défis urbains tels que l’amélioration de la biodiversité, l’atténuation du changement climatique et la promotion de l’adaptation au changement climatique dans la ville. Il s’agit également de l’étude des services écosystémiques urbains, du concept de multifonctionnalité des infrastructures urbaines vertes et des avantages qui en découlent. Sur la base de cet objectif général, la stratégie d’infrastructure urbaine verte de Vitoria-Gasteiz poursuit les objectifs spécifiques suivants:

  1. Améliorer la biodiversité dans la ville, en augmentant la connectivité spatiale et fonctionnelle entre les espaces verts urbains et périurbains.
  2. Accroître les services fournis par les écosystèmes urbains, renforçant les processus naturels.
  3. Intégrer les processus et les flux écologiques et hydrologiques dans l’urbanisme.
  4. Réduire l’effet des îlots de chaleur urbains, réduire l’impact du changement climatique et améliorer l’adaptation dans la ville.
  5. Promouvoir l’utilisation publique des espaces verts, accroître les possibilités de loisirs et de loisirs, accroître l’accessibilité et les connexions entre les villes, préserver le patrimoine culturel et les paysages traditionnels et étendre le sentiment d’identité et d’appartenance.
  6. Créer un environnement urbain qui favorise la santé, le bien-être et l’habitabilité générale de la ville.
  7. Sensibiliser à la relation entre nature-biodiversité et société et, en particulier, aux biens et services fournis par les écosystèmes, y compris leur valorisation économique.
  8. Contribuer au développement économique par la création d’emplois.
Solutions

Conscient qu’il est nécessaire de développer de nouvelles stratégies et projets d’intervention qui transforment la ville en un espace qui renoue avec la nature et devient plus résilient, la Mairie de Vitoria-Gasteiz a proposé en 2012 une nouvelle ligne d’action basée sur l’application du concept d’infrastructures urbaines vertes. À cette fin, le conseil municipal a élaboré la stratégie d’infrastructure urbaine verte de Vitoria-Gasteiz. Cette stratégie concerne d’autres plans municipaux tels que la stratégie de conservation de la biodiversité et le plan de lutte contre le changement climatique et d’adaptation à celui-ci, qui souligne la nécessité de créer des espaces verts pour atténuer la contribution de la ville au changement climatique, ainsi que de créer des infrastructures vertes pour accroître la résilience et la capacité d’adaptation de la ville au changement climatique.

La stratégie en matière d’infrastructures urbaines vertes est mise en œuvre par le biais de diverses interventions dans différentes parties de la ville: L’Anneau Vert (une série de parcs et de zones semi-rurales entourant la ville), les parcs urbains et les corridors écologiques reliant différents éléments (tels que les arbres le long des cours d’eau ou des rues bordées d’arbres), les parcelles vacantes et même les bâtiments. Les interventions sont très diverses et, dans de nombreux cas, multi-objectifs, notamment:

  • Transformation des parcelles vacantes en nouveaux espaces verts;
  • Augmentation de la biomasse et du nombre d’arbres et d’arbustes dans les parcs et les jardins.
  • Amélioration des fonctions de l’habitat dans les zones vertes existantes grâce à des interventions qui augmentent la biodiversité urbaine, améliorent la conservation des espèces indigènes et améliorent la gestion de l’eau.
  • Promotion de l’agriculture écologique dans les espaces libres et périurbains.
  • Promotion du vert dans les façades et les couvertures, etc.

Parmi les interventions les plus emblématiques qui ont déjà été menées dans le cadre de la stratégie d’infrastructures urbaines vertes figurent la rénovation urbaine de l’avenue Gasteiz avec des techniques d’éco-conception et, s’y rapportant, la création d’une façade verte dans le Palais des Congrès Europa, situé sur le même axe routier. La rénovation de l’avenue Gasteiz a consisté essentiellement dans la construction d’un couloir fluvial restauré, la plantation d’arbres alignés le long du nouveau canal et la construction de rues sans voiture. L’installation d’un jardin vertical sur la façade du Palais des Congrès Europa composée d’espèces indigènes a contribué à l’amélioration de l’isolation thermique et acoustique du bâtiment, à la réduction de la pollution de l’air et à l’amélioration de la qualité esthétique de l’environnement.

Dans le même temps, des interventions ont commencé dans différents quartiers dans le but d’aborder et de répondre conjointement à une série de problèmes liés à la gestion urbaine. Ces interventions ont lieu dans des espaces vacants et verts actuels, tels que des parcelles et des parcs vides. Une première initiative de naturalisation des espaces verts et des parcelles vacantes a été mise en œuvre dans le quartier de Lakuabizkarra à travers le projet de quartier de Lakua. Cette zone a été sélectionnée comme espace pilote pour tester différentes interventions en termes de performances afin de pouvoir les reproduire dans d’autres zones de la ville, telles que Zabalgana et Salburua, qui ont des caractéristiques très similaires à la région de Lakua. Dans le but d’améliorer la fonctionnalité écologique et environnementale des espaces verts existants et des parcelles vacantes, ainsi que de réduire les coûts actuellement engagés dans leur gestion et leur entretien, le projet est jusqu’à présent intervenu dans 50 espaces différents à travers différents types d’actions de naturalisation. Les avantages de ces actions sont un système amélioré de gestion de l’eau qui réduit les risques d’inondation, la réduction de la pollution atmosphérique, l’amélioration de la régulation de la température qui réduit l’effet chaleur-île, etc.

Le projet «Roots of Tomorrow» se poursuivra jusqu’en 2020. Par ailleurs, la municipalité de Vitoria-Gasteiz a signé un accord avec l’Agence basque de l’eau (URA) pour développer différents types d’interventions dans le but de réduire les impacts des inondations dans la ville. Ces projets seront réalisés jusqu’en 2020 et seront financés par le gouvernement basque.

Pertinence

Cas principalement développé et mis en œuvre en raison d’autres objectifs politiques, mais avec une prise en compte significative des aspects d’adaptation au changement climatique

Détails supplémentaires

Participation des parties prenantes

Un processus de participation a été réalisé pendant la phase de conception de la stratégie, ainsi que lors de sa mise en œuvre. En outre, les citoyens et les autres acteurs privés ont été fortement impliqués dans le projet «Roots of Tomorrow» dans le but de promouvoir leur engagement envers les objectifs du projet. Ils ont été engagés lors de la conception du projet, ainsi que par le biais d’actions spécifiques, telles que des journées de plantation d’arbres, impliquant plus de 2 500 personnes, et des campagnes de sensibilisation, y compris la participation de plus de 3 000 étudiants. Outre la collaboration dans le cadre des actions susmentionnées, les acteurs privés pourraient également participer en finançant une partie des interventions incluses dans le projet «Roots of Tomorrow».

Facteurs de réussite et facteurs limitants

La participation des citoyens et des acteurs locaux du secteur privé a été considérée comme un facteur de réussite, car elles ont contribué à créer un consensus sur les besoins et les avantages de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie sur les infrastructures urbaines vertes.

La stratégie globale fournit un cadre global pour la conception et la mise en œuvre d’autres interventions spécifiques, qui peuvent donc contribuer aux mêmes objectifs. Étant donné que les interventions planifiées ont plusieurs objectifs, elles produisent des avantages communs au-delà de l’adaptation au changement climatique.

Les interventions testées dans le quartier de Lakuabizkarra ont permis d’évaluer la performance des différentes modalités d’action et d’exporter les approches les plus appropriées vers d’autres quartiers.

Coûts et bénéfices

Le budget alloué à la rénovation de l’avenue Gasteiz et à la construction de la façade verte du Palais des Congrès Europa s’est élevé à 10 millions d’euros. L’investissement réalisé pour le projet Green Ring a atteint 2 millions d’euros au cours des quatre années de mise en œuvre. L’investissement réalisé pour la région de Lakuabizkarra a atteint 415 000 EUR.

L’ensemble de la stratégie relative aux infrastructures urbaines vertes a été élaborée pour améliorer la biodiversité urbaine et améliorer la connectivité et la fonctionnalité des différents espaces verts urbains et périurbains. En ce qui concerne l’adaptation au changement climatique, ces interventions contribuent à réduire l’effet des îlots de chaleur et à réguler le climat local. En outre, on peut s’attendre à une augmentation de l’utilisation publique des espaces verts et des possibilités de loisirs et de loisirs. Enfin, il est prévu que certaines mesures concrètes telles que la façade verte du Congrès Palacio Europa se traduiront par une diminution de la consommation d’énergie dans le bâtiment, ainsi qu’une meilleure régulation de la température dans son intérieur et son environnement plus proche.

Le cadre normatif et juridique dans lequel s’inscrit la stratégie relative aux infrastructures urbaines vertes est le plan général de planification urbaine, actuellement à l’examen. En outre, cette stratégie partage des objectifs avec d’autres stratégies et plans municipaux, comme en particulier la stratégie de conservation de la biodiversité de la municipalité de Vitoria-Gasteiz élaborée en mai 2011. L’objectif principal de la stratégie de conservation de la biodiversité est de mettre fin à la perte de biodiversité et de parvenir à un état favorable de conservation des habitats et des espèces au sein de la municipalité, en favorisant la reconnaissance de ses valeurs et fonctions pour la société. Le plan d’action de la stratégie pour la biodiversité fait référence à l’importance d’élaborer un plan d’infrastructures vertes spécifiquement pour la zone urbaine, d’établir les actions nécessaires pour conserver ou promouvoir sa biodiversité et assurer sa multifonctionnalité.

D’autres plans directement liés à la stratégie en matière d’infrastructures urbaines vertes sont le plan de lutte contre le changement climatique et son adaptation, y compris un certain nombre de mesures qui peuvent être élaborées grâce à la mise en œuvre de la stratégie sur les infrastructures urbaines vertes. En outre, la stratégie sur les infrastructures urbaines vertes montre également des synergies avec le Plan pour la mobilité durable et l’espace public et le plan de santé municipal.

Temps de mise en œuvre

La stratégie relative aux infrastructures urbaines vertes a été lancée en 2012 et sa mise en œuvre a commencé peu après. Dans les années suivantes, il s’est concentré sur la rénovation de l’avenue Gasteiz à travers des techniques d’éco-conception, qui a été achevée en 2014, ainsi que sur la façade verte du Palais des Congrès Europa qui a été construit entre 2014 et 1015.

Des interventions dans les quartiers, dans le cadre de la même stratégie en matière d’infrastructures urbaines vertes, sont en cours de mise en œuvre. L’intervention dans le quartier de Lakuabizara a été initiée en 2015 et finalisée en 2016 à travers le projet de naturalisation des espaces verts et des parcelles vacantes. Cela a permis d’exporter les performances de différentes interventions dans d’autres quartiers et espaces de la ville, tels que les nouveaux quartiers de Zabalgana et Salburua.

Durée de vie

La stratégie n’indique pas de date finale spécifique; de nouveaux projets et interventions seront conçus et mis en œuvre tant que le Conseil consacrera le budget nécessaire à leur réalisation.

Informations de référence

Contacter

Andrés Alonso
City Council of Vitoria-Gasteiz
E-mail: aalonso@vitoria-gasteiz.org 
General e-mail: informacion@vitoria-gasteiz.org 

Référence

Centro de Estudios Ambientales, Ayuntamiento de Vitoria-Gasteiz - Center for Environmental Studies, City Council of Vitoria-Gasteiz

Publié dans Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Dernière modification dans Climate-ADAPT Mar 06 2024


Veuillez nous contacter pour toute autre enquête sur cette étude de cas ou pour partager une nouvelle étude de cas (email climat.adapt@eea.europa.eu a >)

Actions sur le document

You are here: Home / Database / Case studies / Implementation of the Vitoria-Gasteiz Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy
Original page

Case studies

Implementation of the Vitoria-Gasteiz Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy
© Vitoria-Gasteiz City Council

Implementation of the Vitoria-Gasteiz Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy (2018)

The Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy was launched by the City Council of Vitoria-Gasteiz in 2012. Its main objectives are the regeneration of degraded areas through eco-design techniques, the enhancement of urban biodiversity, the improvement of connectivity and functionality of different urban and periurban green areas, the promotion of public use of green space and the improvement of adaptation capacity to climate change, as in particular more severe and frequent heatwaves.

The implementation of the strategy included the refurbishment of the Gasteiz Avenue with eco-design techniques and the creation of a green facade in the Congress Palace Europa, located on the same road axis. At the same time, interventions have begun in the neighborhoods in order to regenerate green areas and free spaces; a first initiative has been implemented in the Lakua area (Lakuabizkarra in Basque), also with the aim to test the performance of different techniques to be then exported in other similar areas.

Case Study Description

Challenges

Main climate change challenges for Vitoria-Gasteiz are changes in precipitation pattern, increase in temperature and increase in the risk of flooding. Changes in precipitation are especially expected in spring time with an average decrease ranging between 10% and 30% by 2100. It is also expected an increase up to 30% in the number of events with extreme precipitation. Studies also project an increased risk and danger of flooding. It is also expected an increase in average annual temperature and in the occurrence of heatwaves. Specifically, during winter months minimum temperatures could rise between 1 and 3ºC by 2100, while during summer months projections show a possible increase up to 3ºC in maximum temperatures still by 2100. Due to these changes, longer and more recurrent heatwaves are expected by the end of the century.

Vitoria-Gasteiz is a city of more than 200,000 inhabitants, which might be affected by more severe climatic conditions. For this reason, it is extremely important to create green areas that can reduce the heatwaves impacts and heat island effect typical of urban areas. Green areas will also promote the conservation, connectivity and improvement of biodiversity, relevant for both mitigation and adaptation to climate change.

Objectives

The Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy was launched by the City Council of Vitoria-Gasteiz in 2012 and has also implied the “Roots of Tomorrow” project, which is still on-going. The strategy aims to explore the usefulness of different green urban infrastructure solutions to address diverse urban challenges such as improving biodiversity, mitigating climate change and promoting climate change adaptation in the city. It also involves the study of urban ecosystem services, the concept of multi-functionality of green urban infrastructure and its associated benefits. Based on this general aim, the Vitoria-Gasteiz Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy pursues the following specific objectives:

  1. Improve the biodiversity in the city, increasing the spatial and functional connectivity between the urban and periurban green areas.
  2. Increase the services provided by the urban ecosystems, strengthening natural processes.
  3. Integrate ecological and hydrological processes and flows in urban planning.
  4. Reduce the urban heat island effect, reducing climate change impact and improving adaptation in the city.
  5. Promote the public use of green spaces, increase leisure and recreational opportunities, increase accessibility and field-city connections, preserve cultural heritage and traditional landscapes and extend the sense of identity and belonging.
  6. Create an urban environment that favors the health, well-being and the general habitability of the city.
  7. Raise awareness on the relationship between nature-biodiversity and society and, in particular, on goods and services provided by ecosystems, including their economic valuation.
  8. Contribute to economic development through job creation.
Solutions

Being aware that it is necessary to develop new strategies and intervention projects that transform the city into a space that reconnects with nature and becomes more resilient, the City Council of Vitoria-Gasteiz proposed in 2012 a new line of action based on the application of the green urban infrastructure concept. For this purpose, the City Council developed the Vitoria-Gasteiz Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy. This strategy relates to other municipal plans such as the Biodiversity Conservation Strategy and the Plan to combat and adapt to climate change, which highlights the necessity of creating green spaces to mitigate city’s contribution to climate change, as well as creating green infrastructures to increase city’s resilience and adaptation capacity to climate change.

The Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy is being implemented through various interventions in different parts of the city: the Green Ring (a series of parks and semi-rural areas surrounding the city), the urban parks and the ecological corridors connecting different elements (such as trees along water streams or tree lined streets), vacant plots and even buildings. Interventions are very diverse and in many cases multi-objective, including:

  • Transformation of vacant plots into new green spaces;
  • Increase of biomass and number of trees and shrubs in parks and gardens.
  • Enhancement of habitat functions in existing green areas through interventions that increase urban biodiversity, improve the conservation of native species and improve water management.
  • Promotion of ecological agriculture in free and periurban spaces.
  • Promotion of green in facades and covers, etc.

Some of the most emblematic interventions that have been already carried out in the framework of the Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy include the urban renovation of the Gasteiz Avenue with eco-design techniques and, related to it, the creation of a green facade in the Congress Palace Europa, located on the same road axis. Refurbishment of the Gasteiz Avenue consisted basically in the construction of a restored river corridor, the plantation of aligned trees along the new channel and the construction of car-free streets. The installation of a vertical garden on the Congress Palace Europa facade made up of native species has contributed to the improvement of the thermal and acoustic insulation of the building, the reduction of air pollution and the enhancement of the aesthetic quality of the environment.

At the same time, interventions have begun in different neighborhoods with the aim of addressing and responding jointly to a series of problems related to urban management. These interventions take place in current vacant and green areas, such as empty plots and parks. A first initiative of naturalization of green spaces and vacant plots has been implemented in Lakuabizkarra neighborhood through the Lakua neighborhood project. This area has been selected as a pilot space to test different interventions in terms of performances in order to be able to replicate them in other areas of the city, such as Zabalgana and Salburua, which have very similar characteristics to Lakua area. With the aim of improving the ecological and environmental functionality of existing green spaces and vacant plots, as well as reducing the costs currently incurred in their management and maintenance, up to now the project has intervened in 50 different spaces through various kinds of naturalization actions. The benefits of these actions are an improved water management system that reduce flood risk, reduction of air pollution, improvement of temperature regulation that reduce heat-island effect, etc.

The “Roots of Tomorrow” project will continue until 2020. Besides, the municipality of Vitoria-Gasteiz has signed an agreement with the Basque Water Agency (URA) to develop various kinds of interventions with the aim of reducing the impacts of flooding events in the city. These projects will be carried out until 2020 and will be funded by the Basque Government.

Relevance

Case mainly developed and implemented because of other policy objectives, but with significant consideration of CCA aspects

Additional Details

Stakeholder Participation

A participation process was carried out during the design phase of the strategy, as well as during its implementation. Moreover, citizens and other private stakeholders were highly involved in the “Roots of Tomorrow” project with the aim of promoting their commitment towards the project goals. They were engaged during the design of the project, as well as through specific project actions, such as tree-planting days, involving more than 2,500 people, and awareness campaigns, including participation of more than 3,000 students. Besides collaborating through the above mentioned actions, private stakeholders could also participate by financing part of the interventions included in the “Roots of Tomorrow” project.

Success and Limiting Factors

The involvement of citizens and local private sector stakeholders have been considered to be a success factor, as they have helped to create a consensus on the needs as well as the benefits of the implementation of the Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy.

The overall strategy provides an overarching frame for the design and implementation of other specific interventions, that therefore can contribute to the same goals. As planned interventions have multi-objectives, they produce co-benefits beyond climate change adaptation.

Interventions tested in Lakuabizkarra neighborhood has enabled assessing the performance of different modalities of actions and exporting most suitable approaches to other neighborhoods.

Costs and Benefits

The budget allocated for the refurbishment of Gasteiz Avenue and the construction of the green facade in the Congress Palace Europa amounted to 10 million Euros. The investment made for Green Ring project reached 2 million Euros over the four years of implementation. The investment made for Lakuabizkarra area reached 415.000 Euros.

The whole Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy has been developed to enhance urban biodiversity, as well as improve the connectivity and functionality of the different urban and peri-urban green spaces. Concerning climate change adaptation, such interventions contribute reducing the heat island effect and help regulating the local climate. Moreover, an increase in the public use of green spaces and the opportunities of leisure and recreation can be expected. Finally, it is expected that some concrete measures such as the green facade of the Congress Palacio Europa will result in lower energy consumption in the building, as well as better regulation of the temperature in its interior and nearer surroundings.

Legal Aspects

The normative and legal framework in which the Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy lays upon, is the General Plan of Urban Planning, currently under review. Moreover, this strategy shares objectives with other municipal strategies and plans, as in particular the Biodiversity Conservation Strategy of the municipality of Vitoria-Gasteiz elaborated in May 2011. The main objective of the Biodiversity Conservation Strategy is to stop the loss of biodiversity and to achieve a favorable state of conservation of habitats and species within the municipality, promoting the recognition of its values and functions for society. The Action Plan of the biodiversity strategy refers to the importance of drafting a Green Infrastructure Plan specifically for the urban area, establishing the necessary actions to conserve or promote its biodiversity and ensure its multi-functionality.

Other plans directly related to the Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy are the Plan to combat and adapt to climate change, including a number of measures that can be developed through the implementation of the strategy on green urban infrastructure. In addition, the Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy show synergies also with the Plan for Sustainable Mobility and Public Space and the Municipal Health Plan.

Implementation Time

The Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy was launched in 2012 and its implementation started shortly after. In the following years it focused on the renovation of the Gasteiz Avenue through eco-design techniques, that was completed in 2014, as well as on the green facade of the Congress Palace Europa that was constructed between 2014 and 1015.

Interventions on the neighborhoods, as part of the same Green Urban Infrastructure Strategy, are currently being implemented. The intervention in Lakuabizara neighborhood were initiated in 2015 and finalized in 2016 through the project for the naturalization of green spaces and vacant plots. This enabled testing performances of different interventions to be exported in other neighborhoods and spaces of the city, such as the new neighborhoods of Zabalgana and Salburua.

Life Time

The strategy does not identify a specific final date; new projects and interventions will be designed and implemented as long as the Council will allocate budget to accomplish them.

Reference Information

Contact

Andrés Alonso
City Council of Vitoria-Gasteiz
E-mail: aalonso@vitoria-gasteiz.org 
General e-mail: informacion@vitoria-gasteiz.org 

Source
Centro de Estudios Ambientales, Ayuntamiento de Vitoria-Gasteiz - Center for Environmental Studies, City Council of Vitoria-Gasteiz

Keywords

Ecosystem connectivity, ecosystem services, green belt, green infrastructure, urban plantation, urban regeneration

Sectors

Biodiversity, Buildings, Urban

Climate impacts

Extreme Temperatures, Flooding

Governance level

Local (e.g. city or municipal level)

Geographic characterization

Europe

Document Actions