Accueil Base de données Études de cas Fonctionnement du plan portugais pour les vagues de chaleur d’urgence

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
The European Climate and Health Observatory is undergoing reconstruction until June 2024 to improve its performance. We apologise for any possible disturbance to the content and functionality of the platform.
Études de cas

Fonctionnement du plan portugais pour les vagues de chaleur d’urgence

Fonctionnement du plan portugais pour les vagues de chaleur d’urgence

La preuve que les températures élevées peuvent entraîner une augmentation de la mortalité et de la morbidité est bien documentée, la vulnérabilité de la population étant spécifique à l’emplacement. Les personnes âgées sont particulièrement vulnérables au stress thermique extrême. Faisant partie de la péninsule ibérique, le Portugal a un climat méditerranéen doux. Les projections relatives au changement climatique indiquent que le nombre de jours de chaleur extrême au Portugal augmentera, les zones urbaines étant plus sensibles. Si les populations futures deviennent plus urbanisées et que le nombre de personnes âgées continue d’augmenter, la question de la mortalité liée à la chaleur deviendra probablement plus grave.

Au cours de la vague de chaleur de 2003 en Europe, le Portugal a été l’un des rares pays à avoir déjà mis en place un système d’alerte précoce: mais seulement pour Lisbonne, la capitale. À la suite de la vague de chaleur de 2003, le plan portugais de contingence sur les ondes de chaleur a été établi et est opérationnel chaque année de mai à septembre. Il s’agit d’un plan national couvrant l’ensemble du Portugal continental. L’objectif de l’actuel plan portugais d’urgence des ondes de chaleur est de prévenir les effets néfastes sur la santé du stress thermique sur la population pendant les périodes de températures élevées. Les alertes quotidiennes sont des facteurs clés de la réussite de la mise en œuvre de ce plan; ils indiquent quelles mesures de protection doivent être prises pour protéger la population pendant les périodes de températures élevées.

Description de l'étude de cas

Défis

La vulnérabilité de la population aux températures élevées dépend de l’état de santé et des conditions socio-économiques de l’individu, du système de santé, de l’emplacement spécifique et de la fréquence à laquelle des températures extrêmes se produisent dans cet endroit. Chacun d’entre eux est un sujet complexe et difficile. La mise en œuvre réussie d’un plan d’urgence national sur les vagues de chaleur exige que l’information sur tous ces sujets soit connue, surveillée et que des mesures correctives soient prises au besoin.

L’exposition à des températures élevées est associée à une augmentation de la mortalité et de la morbidité. Les données d’études de séries chronologiques dans les villes européennes montrent une association claire entre les températures élevées et la mortalité due aux affections respiratoires. Les personnes âgées sont connues pour être particulièrement vulnérables pendant les températures estivales extrêmes. Ce dernier est attribuable à la réduction des réponses thermorégulatrices chez ces sujets et, dans certains cas, à la présence de maladies chroniques, à une mobilité limitée et à l’absence d’autosuffisance.

Les projections relatives au changement climatique indiquent que le nombre de jours de chaleur extrême au Portugal augmentera, les zones urbaines étant plus sensibles. Si les populations futures deviennent plus urbanisées et que le nombre de personnes âgées continue d’augmenter, la question de la mortalité liée à la chaleur deviendra probablement plus grave.

Objectifs

L’objectif principal du plan portugais d’urgence des ondes de chaleur est de prévenir les effets néfastes des températures élevées sur la santé, compte tenu également des impacts possibles du changement climatique. Pour ce faire, il est possible de fournir en temps utile des informations pertinentes aux autorités locales pour leur permettre de procéder à des évaluations des risques et à des mesures correctives appropriées. Une attention particulière est accordée à la population âgée. Ce plan définit les rôles et les fonctions des institutions gouvernementales aux niveaux national, régional et local. Bien qu’il soit coordonné de manière centralisée par la direction générale de la santé, il dispose d’une structure opérationnelle décentralisée.

Solutions

Les principaux éléments et actions prévus par le plan sont les suivants:

  • Définition des rôles et des responsabilités de chaque autorité impliquée dans l’opération du Plan. Au sein du secteur de la santé, les rôles et les responsabilités impliquent les niveaux national, régional et municipal. Le Plan établit également des protocoles d’exploitation avec d’autres secteurs comme les Services de protection (y compris les services métrologiques) et les Services sociaux.
  • Alertes quotidiennes au grand public concernant l’état de danger lié aux températures extrêmes et aux vagues de chaleur. Trois niveaux d’alerte possibles sont pris en compte: (I) vert, indiquant les températures normales pour cette période de l’année; (II) Jaune, indiquant que les températures sont élevées et susceptibles d’avoir des effets nocifs sur la santé de la population la plus sensible; (III) Rouge, indiquant des températures extrêmement élevées susceptibles d’entraîner des effets nocifs importants sur la santé.
  • Pour chaque niveau d’alerte, des mesures de protection spécifiques sont établies afin de réduire les éventuelles incidences néfastes sur la santé; par exemple, lors d’un niveau d’alerte rouge: a) Informer la population générale, les établissements de santé, les services sociaux et les médias concernés du niveau d’alerte et recommander les mesures de protection (c’est-à-dire la consommation d’eau) qui peuvent être appliquées pour réduire le stress thermique; B) Renforcer les canaux de communication entre le secteur de la santé et d ' autres secteurs; c) Articuliser avec les services d ‘intervention d’ urgence pour promouvoir le transport vers les unités d ‘urgence dans les hôpitaux et les lieux temporaires avec accès aux climatiseurs; d) Veiller à ce que les groupes de population vulnérables ne soient pas seuls pendant cette période; e) Veiller à ce que les unités d’intervention d’urgence des établissements de santé disposent d’une capacité supplémentaire.
  • Une attention particulière est accordée aux groupes de population vulnérables. Diverses activités de formation et de communication visant les populations vulnérables sont définies par le Plan.
  • Surveillance de la mortalité et de la morbidité associées aux périodes de stress thermique.
  • Faire rapport au ministre de la Santé et au grand public sur les activités élaborées au cours de l’année dans le cadre du Plan d’urgence sur les ondes de chaleur.
Pertinence

Cas principalement développé et mis en œuvre en raison d’autres objectifs politiques, mais avec une prise en compte significative des aspects d’adaptation au changement climatique

Détails supplémentaires

Participation des parties prenantes

Les institutions gouvernementales aux niveaux national, régional et local ont participé à l’élaboration du plan et ont travaillé ensemble en assumant différents rôles au cours des différentes étapes de l’opération du Plan. Cela comprend également des professionnels de la santé, des hôpitaux et d’autres membres du personnel d’urgence. Des communications concernant les niveaux d’alerte et les mesures correspondantes de réduction des risques sont adressées aux médias. Des documents imprimés sur la façon de réduire les risques sont largement disponibles dans les cliniques et dans d’autres endroits ciblant des groupes vulnérables tels que les maisons des personnes âgées. Des informations sont également disponibles en ligne sur le site Web de la Direction de la santé ainsi que sur le site Web des autorités sanitaires régionales.

Facteurs de réussite et facteurs limitants

Le système d’alerte d’alerte est bien connu au niveau national et a pu identifier les principaux épisodes de vague de chaleur au Portugal. Il est plus difficile d’évaluer comment cela a réduit les effets nocifs sur la santé, et il n’existe actuellement aucune information disponible.

Le plan est opérationnel à l’échelle nationale depuis 2004; au cours de cette période, plusieurs ajustements ont été apportés pour permettre une meilleure mise en œuvre. L’un des changements les plus importants a consisté à déplacer les tâches de mise en œuvre de l’administration centrale vers les administrations régionales et locales, ce qui a permis des évaluations des risques plus réalistes et des réponses plus rapides au sein du système de santé.

Un autre changement important a été l’introduction de différentes valeurs de coupure de température utilisées pour déclencher des altérations dans chaque région. Cependant, il s’agit d’une partie du régime qui pourrait encore bénéficier d’une information plus affinée. La définition actuelle d’une vague de chaleur (ou période avec une chaleur extrême) est basée sur la comparaison statistique du climat prévu avec les données climatiques attendues pour cette période dans cette région. La réalisation d’évaluations dans chaque région afin de déterminer le seuil en fonction de la sensibilité de la population locale et du climat serait probablement plus efficace.

Coûts et bénéfices

Le plan est entièrement financé par le ministère de la Santé. Le personnel travaillant sur ce plan travaille également dans d’autres domaines des soins de santé primaires, ce qui rend très difficile l’estimation des coûts et des ressources associés au Plan.

Par définition, les avantages de ce plan sont la prévention des effets nocifs sur la santé. La mesure de ces avantages est très difficile et n’a pas encore été calculée.

Le plan d’urgence sur les ondes de chaleur est un plan national élaboré, financé et mis en œuvre par le ministère de la Santé.

Temps de mise en œuvre

À la suite de la vague de chaleur de 2003, le plan portugais de contingence sur les ondes de chaleur a été établi et est opérationnel chaque année, depuis 2004, de mai à septembre.

Durée de vie

Les actions prévues par le plan devraient se poursuivre à long terme. Une révision du plan est prévue pour 2016-2017.

Informations de référence

Contacter

Paulo Diegues
Head of Environmental and Occupational Health Division
Directorate-General of Health
E-mail: diegues@dgs.pt

Référence
Portuguese Health Ministry – Health General Directorate

Publié dans Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Dernière modification dans Climate-ADAPT Apr 18 2024


Veuillez nous contacter pour toute autre enquête sur cette étude de cas ou pour partager une nouvelle étude de cas (email climat.adapt@eea.europa.eu a >)

Actions sur le document

You are here: Home / Database / Case studies / Operation of the Portuguese Contingency Heatwaves Plan
Original page

Case studies

Operation of the Portuguese Contingency Heatwaves Plan

Operation of the Portuguese Contingency Heatwaves Plan (2015)

Evidence that elevated temperatures can lead to increased mortality and morbidity is well documented, with population vulnerability being location specific. The elderly are particular vulnerable to extreme heat stress. Being part of the Iberian Peninsula, Portugal has a mild Mediterranean climate. Climate change projections indicate that the number of days with extreme heat in Portugal will increase with urban areas being more sensitive. If future populations become more urbanized and the number of elderly continues to increase, the issue of heat-related mortality will likely become more severe.

During the 2003 heatwave in Europe, Portugal was one of the few countries that already had an early warning system in place: but only for Lisbon, the capital city. Following the 2003 heatwave, the Portuguese Heatwave Contingency Plan was established and has been in operation every year from May to September. This is a national plan covering the whole continental Portugal. The aim of the current Portuguese Heatwave Contingency Plan is to prevent the adverse health effects of heat stress on the population during periods of elevated temperatures. Daily alerts are key factors to the successful implementation of this plan; they indicate what protection measures must be carried out to protect the population during periods of elevated temperatures.

Case Study Description

Challenges

Population vulnerability to elevated temperatures is depended on the state of the health and socio-economic conditions of the individual, the health system, the specific location and the frequency with which extreme temperatures occur in that location. Each of these is a complex and challenging topic. Successful implementation of a national heatwave contingency plan requires that information on all these topics are known, monitored and corrective measures are taken when required.

Exposure to elevated temperatures is associated with increased mortality and morbidity. Evidence from time-series studies in European cities show a clear association between elevated temperatures and mortality from respiratory conditions. Older individuals are known to be particularly vulnerable during extreme summer temperatures. The latter is attributable to the reduced thermoregulatory responses in these subjects and, in some cases, to the presence of chronic diseases, limited mobility and not being self-sufficient.

Climate change projections indicate that the number of days with extreme heat in Portugal will increase with urban areas being more sensitive. If future populations become more urbanized and the number of elderly continues to increase, the issue of heat-related mortality will likely become more severe.

Objectives

The main objective of the Portuguese Heatwave Contingency Plan is to prevent the adverse health impacts from elevated temperatures, also considering the possible impacts of climate change. This is achieved by providing timely relevant information to local authorities to enable them to conduct risk assessments and suitable corrective measures. Special attention is placed on the elderly population. This Plan establishes roles and functions for governmental institutions at national, regional and local level. Although it is coordinated centrally by the Directorate-General of Health, it has a de-centralized operational structure.

Solutions

Main elements and actions foreseen by the Plan include:

  • Definition of roles and responsibilities for each authority involved in the Plan operation. Within the Health Sector, roles and responsibilities involve national, regional and municipal levels. The Plan also establishes protocols of operations with other sectors such as Protection Services (including Metrological services) and Social Services.
  • Daily alerts to the general public regarding the state of hazard related to extreme temperature and heat waves. Three possible alert levels are considered: (i) Green, indicating normal temperatures for that time of year; (ii) Yellow, indicating that temperatures are high and likely to cause adverse health effects in the most sensitive population; (iii) Red, indicating extremely high temperatures likely to cause significant adverse health effects.
  • For each alert level specific protection measures are established to reduce possible adverse health impacts; for example, during a red alert level: (a) Inform the general population, health establishments, social services, and relevant media channels of the alert level and recommend what protective measures (i.e. drinking of water) that can be applied to reduce heat-stress; (b) Enhance communication channels between the health sector and other sectors; (c) Articulate with emergency response services to promote transportation to emergency units in hospitals and temporary locations with access to air conditioners; (d) Ensure vulnerable population groups are not alone during this period; (e) Ensure that health establishment emergency response units have additional capacity.
  • Special focus on vulnerable population groups. Various training and communication activities aimed at vulnerable populations are defined by the Plan.
  • Monitoring of mortality and morbidity associated with periods of heat stress.
  • Report to the Health Minister and the general public on the activities developed during the year within the Heatwave Contingency Plan.
Relevance

Case mainly developed and implemented because of other policy objectives, but with significant consideration of CCA aspects

Additional Details

Stakeholder Participation

Governmental institutions at national, regional and local level were involved in the elaboration of the Plan and work together taking on different roles during various stages of the Plan operation. This also includes health professionals, hospitals and other emergency staff. Communications regarding alert levels and corresponding risk reduction actions required are issued to the media. Printed material on how to reduce risks are widely available in clinics and other locations targeting vulnerable groups such as the homes of the elderly. Information is also available online on Health Directorate website as well as on the website of the regional health authorities.

Success and Limiting Factors

The alert warning system is well known nationally, and has been able to identify the major heatwave episodes in Portugal. How this has reduced adverse health effects is more difficult to assess, and there is currently no information available.

The Plan has been operational nationally since 2004; during this period there have been various adjustments to allow for better implementation. One of the biggest changes included shifting the implementation tasks from central government to regional and local governments, thus allowing for more realistic risk assessments and faster responses within the health system.

Another important change was introducing different temperature cut off values used to trigger alters in each region. However, this is a part of the Plan that could still benefit of more refined information. The current definition of a heatwave (or period with extreme heat) is based on the statistical comparison of predicted climate with climate data expected for that period in that region. Conducting assessments in each region to determine the threshold based on local population sensitivity and climate would likely be more efficient.

Costs and Benefits

The Plan is fully funded by the Health Ministry. Staff working on this Plan also works in other areas of primary health care thus making it very difficult to estimate the costs and resources associated with the Plan.

By definition the benefits of this Plan is prevention of adverse health effects. Measuring these benefits is very difficult and has not yet been calculated.

Legal Aspects

The Heatwave Contingency Plan is a national Plan developed, funded and implemented by the Health Ministry.

Implementation Time

Following the 2003 heatwave, the Portuguese Heatwave Contingency Plan was established and has been in operation every year, since 2004, from May to September.

Life Time

Actions foreseen by the Plan are assumed to continue for the long-term. A revision of the Plan is planned for 2016-2017.

Reference Information

Contact

Paulo Diegues
Head of Environmental and Occupational Health Division
Directorate-General of Health
E-mail: calor@dgs.pt

Source
Portuguese Health Ministry – Health General Directorate

Keywords

Contingency plan, Lisbon, early warning system, elderly people, heatwave, morbidity, mortality

Sectors

Disaster Risk Reduction, Health, Urban

Climate impacts

Extreme Temperatures

Governance level

National

Geographic characterization

Europe

Document Actions