Accueil Base de données Options d’adaptation establishment-of-early-warning-systems

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
We are currently facing a technical issue with the website which affects the display of data. The full functionality will be restored as soon as possible. We appreciate your understanding. If you have any questions or issues, please contact EEA Helpdesk (helpdesk@eea.europa.eu).
Adaptation option

Les systèmes d’alerte précoce (EWS) sont des éléments clés de l’adaptation au changement climatique et de la réduction des risques de catastrophe, et visent à éviter ou à réduire les dommages causés par les dangers. Pour être efficaces, les systèmes d’alerte précoce doivent associer activement les personnes et les communautés à risque, faciliter l’éducation et la sensibilisation du public aux risques, diffuser efficacement des messages et des avertissements et veiller à ce qu’il y ait un état de préparation constant et que des mesures rapides soient prises. L’importance d’un système d’alerte précoce efficace réside dans la reconnaissance de ses avantages par la population locale.

Les systèmes d’alerte précoce pour les risques liés au climat doivent reposer sur des bases scientifiques et techniques solides et se concentrer sur les personnes ou les secteurs les plus exposés au risque. Cela implique l’adoption d’une approche systémique intégrant tous les facteurs de risque pertinents, qu’ils résultent des dangers climatiques ou des vulnérabilités sociales, et des processus à court ou à long terme. Les systèmes d’alerte précoce comprennent la détection, l’analyse, la prédiction, puis la diffusion des avertissements, suivi de la prise de décision et de la mise en œuvre des réponses. De tels systèmes sont en place, dans de nombreuses régions du monde, pour surveiller, prévoir et avertir les gens des cyclones tropicaux, des inondations, des tempêtes, des tsunamis, des avalanches, des tornades, des orages violents, des éruptions volcaniques, de la chaleur et du froid extrêmes, des incendies de forêt, de la sécheresse, etc. Pour être efficace et complet, un système d’alerte précoce doit comprendre quatre éléments interagissants: (I) connaissance des risques, ii) services de surveillance et d’alerte, iii) diffusion et communication et iv) capacité de réaction.

En Europe, il existe une expérience considérable des systèmes d’alerte précoce, en particulier en ce qui concerne les risques d’inondation et d’inondation éclair, les tempêtes, les incendies de forêt, les vagues de chaleur et les sécheresses. Les systèmes d’alerte précoce sont directement pertinents pour divers secteurs qui sont principalement touchés par les risques liés au climat tels que la santé, la réduction des risques de catastrophe, l’agriculture, la sylviculture, les bâtiments, les zones côtières et urbaines. D’autres peuvent indirectement bénéficier de systèmes d’alerte précoce tels que le secteur des transports, si les routes ou les chemins de fer sont fermés à l’avance avant que les humains ne soient affectés négativement, ou le tourisme, lorsqu’ils veillent à ce que les groupes touristiques soient avertis d’accéder à une certaine zone ou d’éviter les activités de plein air pendant les périodes météorologiques extrêmes.

Certains SAP fournissent des services et des produits pour plus d’un risque spécifique lié au climat. Meteoalarm est un effort conjoint d’EUMETNET (The Network of European Meteorological Services) qui fournit des alertes en Europe en cas d’événements météorologiques extrêmes, y compris de fortes pluies avec risque d’inondation, d’orages violents, de vents violents, de vagues de chaleur, d’incendies de forêt, de brouillard, de neige ou de froid extrême avec des blizzards, des avalanches ou de fortes marées côtières. Le Copernicus Climate Change Service (C3S) fournit des données climatiques fiables de haute qualité et des informations adaptées aux secteurs socio-économiques au niveau européen, qui sont certainement pertinents pour l’adaptation au changement climatique. En outre, le centre de données sur les risques du Centre de connaissances sur la gestion des risques de catastrophe (DRMKC) géré par la DG JRC fournit des données sur les risques à l’échelle de l’UE via l’hébergement d’ensembles de données et en établissant des liens avec des plateformes nationales.

D’autres SAP se concentrent sur des risques et/ou secteurs spécifiques liés au climat, y compris les exemples à l’échelle européenne mentionnés dans le texte suivant. Outre ces initiatives à grande échelle, les SAP ont été conçus et mis en œuvre à des niveaux inférieurs (nationaux, infranationaux et locaux), par exemple: (I) Autriche, où un SAP pour le transport ferroviaire a été mis au point (ii) la Macédoine du Nord se concentre sur les vagues de chaleur et fait partie des actions mettant en œuvre le plan d’action national pour le cicatrisation thermique; III) Tatabanya ( Hongrie), pour alerter les vagues de chaleur urbaines et les incendies de forêt; IV) Région d’Émilie-Romagne (Italie), où un portail Web régional sur les alertes météorologiques a été mis au point parallèlement à l’élaboration et à l’amélioration de technologies de surveillance hydrométéorologique en temps réel et à un programme généralisé de communication des risques, et v) Sogn og Fjordane (Norvège) s’occupant de multiples dangers (avalanches, glissements de terrain, ondes de tempête et inondations).

Vagues de chaleur et chaleur extrême

L’Europe a connu plusieurs vagues de chaleur estivales extrêmes depuis 2000 (voir l’indicateur «Température mondiale et européenne»de l’EEE), qui ont entraîné une mortalité élevée et des impacts socio-économiques. Les vagues de chaleur devraient devenir plus fréquentes et durer plus longtemps en Europe au cours de ce siècle et dans tous les scénarios RCP. Dans un scénario d’émissions élevées (RCP8.5) des vagues de chaleur très extrêmes (beaucoup plus fortes que les vagues de chaleur de 2003 ou de 2010) devraient se produire aussi souvent que tous les deux ans dans la seconde moitié du21e siècle. Les impacts seront particulièrement importants dans le sud de l’Europe. En réponse à ce risque pour la santé humaine, ainsi que pour divers secteurs pertinents pour l’économie, de nombreux pays ont introduit des systèmes d’alerte précoce liés à la chaleur comme option d’adaptation. À l’échelle européenne, EuroHEAT agit comme un outil d’aide à la décision en matière d’information climatique pour la chaleur et est accompagné d’un document d’orientation.

Sécheresse

La gravité et la fréquence des sécheresses semblent avoir augmenté dans certaines parties de l’Europe (voir l’indicateur «Terreurs météorologiques et hydrologiques»de l’EEE), en particulier dans les régions du sud et du sud-est. Les sécheresses devraient augmenter en fréquence, en durée et en gravité dans la majeure partie du continent. Selon le RE5 du GIEC, l’augmentation la plus forte est prévue pour le sud de l’Europe, où la concurrence entre les différents utilisateurs d’eau, tels que l’agriculture, l’industrie, le tourisme et les ménages, devrait augmenter. L’ Observatoire européen de la sécheresse (EDO) contient des informations relatives à la sécheresse provenant de différentes sources de données. Différents outils permettent d’afficher et d’analyser les informations relatives à la sécheresse, tandis que le service «Drought News» fournit une vue d’ensemble de la situation en cas de sécheresse imminente.

Inondation

Le nombre d’inondations très graves en Europe a augmenté au cours de la période 1980-2010, mais avec une grande variabilité interannuelle due à des causes différentes: amélioration des rapports, changements dans l’affectation des sols et augmentation des fortes précipitations dans certaines parties de l’Europe. Le changement climatique devrait intensifier le cycle hydrologique et augmenter l’occurrence et la fréquence des inondations dans de grandes parties de l’Europe. Les inondations pluviales et les crues soudaines, qui sont déclenchées par d’intenses précipitations locales, sont susceptibles de devenir plus fréquentes dans toute l’Europe (voir l’indicateur «Inondations fluviales»de l’EEE). Les ondes de tempêtes côtières et les inondations sont les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes les plus fréquents et les plus coûteux qui se produisent en Europe, ce qui représente 69 % des pertes naturelles catastrophiques globales. En 2010, par exemple, la France n’a guère été touchée par la tempête hivernale Xynthia, avec 51 victimes et dommages de plus de 1,5 milliard d’euros (AEE, 2013). L’amélioration de la capacité de prévoir les rejets de pointe reste la mesure non structurelle la plus pertinente pour la protection contre les inondations. Des délais d’alerte aux inondations de 3 à 10 jours permettent de mettre en place les mesures de protection civile et d’urgence nécessaires, en minimisant les conséquences en termes de vies humaines et de pertes économiques. Le système européen de sensibilisation aux inondations (EFAS) soutient les mesures préparatoires avant les inondations majeures, en particulier dans les grands bassins fluviaux transnationaux et dans toute l’Europe en général. EFAS a été développé et testé au Centre commun de recherche en étroite collaboration avec les services hydrologiques et météorologiques nationaux, la protection civile européenne et d’autres instituts de recherche.

Feu

Le risque d’incendie dépend de nombreux facteurs: les changements climatiques, la végétation, les pratiques de gestion forestière et d’autres facteurs socio-économiques. Dans un climat plus chaud, des incendies plus violents et, par conséquent, une extension de la zone exposée aux incendies et des saisons de feu plus longues sont projetés dans toute l’Europe. L’impact des incendies est particulièrement important dans le sud de l’Europe (voir l’indicateur «incendies de forêt» de l’EEE). Le système européen d’information sur les incendies de forêt (EFFIS) soutient les services chargés de la protection des forêts contre les incendies dans les pays de l’UE et fournit aux services de la Commission européenne et au Parlement européen des informations actualisées et fiables sur les incendies de forêt. EFFIS exécute un module qui génère des cartes quotidiennes de 1 à 9 jours de niveau de danger d’incendie prévu à l’aide de prévisions météorologiques numériques. Le module est actif toute l’année, bien que le cœur de la saison des feux de forêt soit, dans la plupart des pays, du 1er marsau 31octobre.

Risques liés à la santé: maladies à transmission vectorielle et aéroallergène

La mondialisation et les changements environnementaux, les déterminants sociaux et démographiques et la capacité du système de santé sont des moteurs importants des maladies infectieuses qui peuvent également servir de précurseurs épidémiques. Ainsi, le suivi des changements dans ces facteurs peut aider à anticiper, voire prévoir, une recrudescence des maladies infectieuses. Le changement climatique peut modifier l’éventail géographique des maladies à transmission vectorielle en Europe, de sorte que l’alerte précoce devient encore plus importante (voir l’indicateur «maladies à transmissionvectorielle» de l’EEE). Un prototype de systèmes d’alerte précoce pour les maladies Vectoro-Borne en Europe est proposé pour le Centre européen de prévention et de contrôle des maladies (ECDC): les facteurs environnementaux/climatiques et socio-économiques en amont des maladies peuvent fournir le délai nécessaire à une réaction rapide en matière de santé publique afin de contenir les coûts humains et financiers associés à l’émergence et à la propagation de maladies d’origine vectorielle dans l’UE.

La hausse des températures causée par le changement climatique signifie que les plantes et les arbres fleurissent plus tôt et plus longtemps, ce qui prolonge la souffrance de nombreuses personnes souffrant d’allergies au pollen. Le réseau européen d’aéroallergènes (EAN) est un bassin de données sur les pollens et les spores fongiques des services européens d’information sur le pollen, des sites de mesure individuels et des fournisseurs de données en dehors de l’Europe. Le réseau couvre 38 pays et plus de 600 sites de mesure. La base de données EAN est l’outil de base pour les prévisions polliniques et donc indispensable pour le service d’information sur le pollen dans toute l’Europe. Le développement des activités de service au cours des dernières années (y compris les cartes de charge européennes, le journal de pollen pour les personnes souffrant d’allergies au pollen et les informations personnalisées sur le pollen) n’aurait pas été possible sans la base de données européenne sur le pollen. Le service de surveillance de l’atmosphère Copernicus (CAMS) a formé un partenariat avec le réseau européen d’aéroallergènes (EAN) et explore les technologies pour fournir des observations automatiques de pollen en temps quasi réel dans toute l’Europe.

Détails supplémentaires
Informations de référence

Détails d'adaptation

Catégories du GIEC

Social: information, Structurel et physique: options technologiques

Participation des parties prenantes

Pour maintenir un système d’alerte précoce, il est nécessaire de disposer d’un engagement politique fort et de capacités institutionnelles durables, qui dépendent à leur tour de la sensibilisation du public. La sensibilisation et le soutien du public sont souvent élevés immédiatement après une catastrophe majeure; ces moments peuvent être capitalisés pour renforcer et garantir la durabilité des systèmes d’alerte précoce. L’utilisation incorrecte d’un système d’alerte précoce pourrait entraîner une augmentation significative des effets sur la population touchée. Une communication et une fiabilité correctes de l’institution sont une condition préalable fondamentale pour un système d’alerte précoce efficace. L’alerte précoce doit également être évaluée conjointement avec ses utilisateurs, afin de s’assurer que les informations fournies sont ciblées sur les besoins des utilisateurs et que les mesures attendues sont prises sur la base des informations fournies. Un certain degré de co-développement et de co-conception avec les utilisateurs est donc pertinent.

Facteurs de réussite et facteurs limitants

L’analyse et la préparation de l’information sont des points particulièrement critiques d’une chaîne d’alerte précoce. Les décideurs responsables sont généralement confrontés à d’énormes quantités de données structurées et non structurées. Pour permettre une alerte précoce fiable, les données disponibles doivent être présélectionnées, analysées et préparées. Les décideurs devraient disposer d’une quantité fiable et gérable d’informations pour prendre des mesures préventives. Les limitations comprennent également l’absence de prise en compte de facteurs de confusion non climatiques, une résolution géographique ou temporelle limitée, ou l’absence d’évaluation de la validité prédictive.

L’un des principaux défis du SAP est la mise en place d’arrangements institutionnels clairs et de capacités aux niveaux national et local qui favorisent le développement durable de la capacité d’intervention publique et institutionnelle. La compréhension et la confiance du public à l’égard du système s’accompagnent d’une connaissance et d’une sensibilisation de la part des utilisateurs finaux du système et d’un rendement convaincant de la part du fournisseur de services publics.

Coûts et bénéfices

Les systèmes d’alerte précoce sont généralement des mesures non structurelles rentables. Leur coût, non négligeable en termes absolus, est extrêmement faible par rapport au montant potentiel des pertes que ces systèmes permettent de réduire. Des ressources sont nécessaires pour maintenir le système et l’améliorer davantage. En outre, le système d’alerte précoce ne fonctionne bien que si le réseau de stations météorologiques et hydrologiques est bien établi et maintenu en conséquence. La disponibilité d’autres informations actualisées est tout aussi importante pour les systèmes d’alerte précoce ciblés, par exemple dans le cas des maladies à transmission vectorielle, des aéroallergènes, de l’état de la végétation, etc.

Les systèmes d’alerte précoce sont une mesure d’adaptation importante au changement climatique, utilisant des systèmes de communication intégrés pour aider divers secteurs et communautés à se préparer aux événements liés au climat. Un SAP réussi sauve des vies, des infrastructures, des terres et des emplois et favorise la durabilité à long terme. Les systèmes d’alerte précoce visent à aider les fonctionnaires et les administrateurs du secteur public ainsi que les acteurs du secteur privé, les communautés et les individus dans leur planification, à économiser de l’argent à long terme et à protéger les économies.

Les systèmes européens et paneuropéens d’alerte précoce et de détection des catastrophes naturelles provoquées par les conditions météorologiques (tels que l’EFAS, l’EFFIS et l’Observatoire européen de la sécheresse) apportent une valeur ajoutée qui va au-delà des efforts nationaux en faveur de la coopération transfrontalière.

Du point de vue financier, l’UE a fourni des investissements cohérents dans les stratégies liées au système d’alerte précoce. Par exemple, COPERNICUS est le programme européen pour la mise en place d’une capacité européenne d’observation de la Terre. Les services de Copernicus, par exemple les services COPERNICUS en matière de changement climatique, sont dédiés à la surveillance et à la prévision des sous-systèmes de la Terre et contribuent directement à la surveillance du changement climatique. Les services Copernicus traitent également des services de gestion des urgences (par exemple en cas de catastrophe naturelle, d’incendies de forêt, d’accidents technologiques ou de crises humanitaires) et de questions liées à la sécurité (par exemple, surveillance maritime, contrôle des frontières).

Une politique axée sur des risques spécifiques liés au climat peut jouer un rôle dans le développement du SAP. Par exemple, les directives-cadres de l’UE sur les inondations et l’eau prévoient que les systèmes de prévision des inondations et d’alerte précoce sont pris en considération dans les plans de gestion des risques d’inondation. En fait, de meilleures prévisions d’inondations sont au programme national d’adaptation de nombreux pays européens. Un autre exemple est celui de l’EFAS, qui est pleinement conforme à la communication de la Commission intitulée «Vers une réaction plus forte en cas de catastrophe de l’Union européenne», adoptée et approuvée par le Conseil en 2010, qui souligne l’importance de renforcer les actions concertées en cas de catastrophes naturelles, y compris les inondations, qui comptent parmi les catastrophes naturelles les plus coûteuses de l’UE.

Temps de mise en œuvre

La conception et la mise en œuvre d’un système d’alerte précoce nécessitent généralement de 1 à 5 ans, en fonction de l’objectif et des caractéristiques spécifiques du système.

Durée de vie

La durée de vie du SAP est généralement longue; toutefois, cela dépend du financement disponible pour la maintenance et la mise à jour du SAP ainsi que pour la maintenance du réseau de mesure supportant le système d’alerte précoce.

Informations de référence

Références:

Publié dans Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Dernière modification dans Climate-ADAPT Nov 07 2023

Actions sur le document

You are here: Home / Database / Adaptation options / Establishment of early warning systems
Original page

Adaptation option

Establishment of early warning systems (2019)

Early warning systems (EWS) are key elements of climate change adaptation and disaster risk reduction, and aim to avoid or reduce the damages caused from hazards. To be effective, early warning systems need to actively involve the people and communities at risk from a range of hazards, facilitate public education and awareness of risks, disseminate messages and warnings efficiently and ensure that there is a constant state of preparedness and that early action is enabled. The significance of an effective early warning system lies in the recognition of its benefits by local people.

Early warning systems for climate-related risks must rely on a sound scientific and technical basis and focus on people or sectors mostly exposed to risk. This implies the adoption of a system approach incorporating all relevant risk factors, whether arising from the climate-hazards or social vulnerabilities, and from short-term or long-term processes. Early warning systems include detection, analysis, prediction, and then warning dissemination followed by response decision-making and implementation. Such systems are in place, in many parts of the world, to monitor, forecast, and warn people about e.g. tropical cyclones, floods, storms, tsunami, avalanches, tornadoes, severe thunderstorms, volcanic eruptions, extreme heat and cold, forest fires, drought, etc. To be effective and complete, an early warning system needs to comprise four interacting elements namely: (i) risk knowledge, (ii) monitoring and warning services, (iii) dissemination and communication and (iv) response capability.

In Europe there is a considerable experience with early warning systems, especially for what concerns flood and flash-flood risk, storms, forest fires, heatwaves and droughts. Early warning systems are directly relevant for diverse sectors that are primary affected by climate-related risks like health, disaster risk reduction, agriculture, forestry, buildings, coastal and urban areas. Others can indirectly benefit from early warning systems like the transport sector, if roads or rails are closed in advance before humans are negatively impacted, or tourism, when ensuring that tourist groups are warned to access a certain area or avoid outdoor activities during extreme weather periods.

Some EWS provide services and products for more than a specific climate-related risk. Meteoalarm is a joint effort from EUMETNET (The Network of European Meteorological Services) that provides alerts in Europe for extreme weather events, including heavy rain with risk of flooding, severe thunderstorms, gale-force winds, heatwaves, forest fires, fog, snow or extreme cold with blizzards, avalanches or severe coastal tides. The Copernicus Climate Change Service (C3S) provides reliable high-quality climate data and tailored information for socio-economic sectors at the European level, which are surely relevant for climate change adaptation. Also the Risk Data Hub of the Disaster Risk Management Knowledge Centre (DRMKC) managed by DG JRC provides curated EU-wide risk data via hosting datasets and through linking to national platforms.

Other EWS focus on specific climate-related risks and/or sectors, including the Europe-wide examples mentioned in the following text. Besides these large scales initiatives, EWS have been designed and implemented at lower levels (national, sub-national and local) as well, e.g. in: (i) Austria, where an EWS for railway transport has been developed (ii) ) North Macedonia focusing on heatwaves and being part of the actions implementing the national heat heal action plan; (iii) Tatabanya (Hungary), to provide alert about urban heatwaves and forest fires; (iv) Emilia Romagna region (Italy), where a regional Weather Alert Web Portal has been developed in parallel to the development and refinement of real-time hydro-meteorological monitoring technologies and a widespread risk communication programme, and (v) Sogn og Fjordane (Norway) dealing with multi-hazards (avalanches, landslides, storm surges and flooding).

Heatwaves and extreme heat

Europe has experienced several extreme summer heatwaves since 2000 (see the “Global and European temperature” EEA indicator), which have led to high mortality and socio-economic impacts. Heat waves are projected to become more frequent and to last longer across Europe during this century and under all RCP scenarios. Under a high emissions scenario (RCP8.5) very extreme heat waves (much stronger than either the 2003 or the 2010 heat waves) are projected to occur as often as every 2 years in the second half of the 21st century. The impacts will be particularly strong in southern Europe. As a response to such risk for human health, as well as for diverse sectors relevant to the economy, many countries have introduced heat-related early warning systems as an adaptation option. At the European scale, EuroHEAT acts as a climate information decision support tool for heat and is accompanied by a guidance document.

Drought

The severity and frequency of droughts appear to have increased in parts of Europe (see the “Meteorological and hydrological droughts” EEA indicator), in particular in the southern and south-eastern regions. Droughts are projected to increase in frequency, duration and severity in most of the continent. According to IPCC AR5, the strongest increase is projected for southern Europe, where competition between different water users, such as agriculture, industry, tourism and households, is likely to increase. The European Drought Observatory (EDO) contains drought-relevant information from different data sources. Different tools allow for displaying and analysing drought-related information, while the "Drought News" service provides an overview of the situation in case of imminent droughts.

Flood

The number of very severe floods in Europe increased over the period 1980-2010, but with large interannual variability due to different causes: better reporting, land-use changes and increased heavy precipitation in parts of Europe. Climate change is projected to intensify the hydrological cycle and increase the occurrence and frequency of flood events in large parts of Europe. Pluvial floods and flash floods, which are triggered by intense local precipitation events, are likely to become more frequent throughout Europe (see the “River floods” EEA indicator). Coastal storm surges and floods are the most frequent and costly extreme weather events occurring in Europe, representing 69% of the overall natural catastrophic losses. In 2010, for example, France was hardly hit by the winter storm Xynthia, with 51 casualties and damages of more than EUR 1.5 billion (EEA, 2013). Enhanced ability to forecast peak discharges remains the most relevant non-structural measure for flood protection. Flood warning lead-times of 3–10 days give the possibility to set up the needed civil protection and emergency measures, minimising the impacts in terms of human lives and economic losses. The European Flood Awareness System (EFAS) supports preparatory measures before major flood events strike, particularly in the large trans-national river basins and throughout Europe in general. EFAS has been developed and tested at the Joint Research Centre in close collaboration with national hydrological and meteorological services, European Civil Protection and other research institutes.

Fire

Fire risk depends on many factors: climate change, vegetation, forest management practices and other socio-economic factors. In a warmer climate, more severe fire weather and, as a consequence, an expansion of the fire-prone area and longer fire seasons are projected across Europe. The impact of fire events is particularly strong in southern Europe (see the “Forest fires” EEA indicator). The European Forest Fire Information System (EFFIS) supports the services in charge of the protection of forests against fires in the EU countries and provides the European Commission services and the European Parliament with updated and reliable information on wildland fires. EFFIS runs module which generates daily maps of 1 to 9 days of forecasted fire danger level using numerical weather predictions. The module is active all year around, although the core of the wildfire season is, in most countries, from March 1st to October 31st.

Health-related risks: vector-borne diseases and aeroallergen

Globalization and environmental change, social and demographic determinants and health system capacity are significant drivers of infectious diseases which can also act as epidemic precursors. Thus, monitoring changes in these drivers can help anticipate, or even forecast, an upsurge of infectious diseases. Climate change can shift the geographical ranges of vector-borne diseases in Europe, thus early warning is becoming even more important (see the “Vector-borne diseases” EEA indicator). A prototype Early Warning Systems for Vector-Borne Diseases in Europe is suggested for the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC): the upstream environmental/climatic and socioeconomic drivers of disease can provide the lead time for a swift public health response in order to contain human and financial costs associated with vector borne disease emergence and spread in the EU.

Rising temperatures caused by climate change mean that plants and trees bloom earlier and for longer, prolonging the suffering of many people with pollen allergies. The European Aeroallergen Network (EAN) is a pool for the pollen and fungal spore data of European pollen information services, individual measurement sites and data suppliers outside Europe. The network covers 38 countries and more than 600 measurement sites. The EAN database is the basic tool for pollen forecasts and thus indispensable for pollen information service in whole Europe. The development of service activities in the recent years (including the European load maps, the pollen diary for pollen allergy sufferers and the personalized pollen information) would not have been possible without the European pollen database. The Copernicus Atmosphere Monitoring service (CAMS) formed a partnership with the European Aeroallergen Network (EAN,) and explores technologies to deliver automatic pollen observations in near real-time across Europe.

Additional Details
Reference information

Adaptation Details

Category

Soft

IPCC categories

Social: Informational, Structural and physical: Technological options

Stakeholder participation

To sustain an early warning system it is necessary to have strong political commitment and durable institutional capacities, which in turn depend on public awareness. Public awareness and support is often high immediately after a major disaster event; such moments can be capitalized to strengthen and secure the sustainability of early warning systems. The incorrect use of an early warning system could result in significantly increasing the impacts for the affected population. A correct communication and reliability of the institution is a fundamental pre-requisite for an effective early warning system. Early warning also needs to be evaluated jointly with its users, to ensure that the provided information is targeted to user needs and the expected measures are being taken based on the information provided. Thus a certain degree of co-development and co-design with the users is of relevance.

Success and Limiting Factors

The analysis and preparation of information are particularly critical points of an early warning chain. The responsible decision makers are usually confronted with huge amounts of structured and unstructured data. To enable reliable early warning, the available data must be pre-selected, analysed and prepared. The decision makers should be provided with a reliable and manageable amount of information for taking preventive measures. Limitations also include failure to allow for non-climatic confounding factors, limited geographical or temporal resolution, or lack of evaluation of predictive validity.

One of the major challenges of EWS is the establishment of clear institutional arrangements and capacities at national and local levels that support the sustained development of public and institutional response capability. Public understanding of and trust in the system comes with knowledge and awareness on the part of the end users of the system and convincing performance on the part of the public service provider.

Costs and Benefits

Early warning systems are usually cost-effective non-structural measures. Their cost, non-negligible in absolute terms, is extremely low in comparison with the potential amount of losses that these systems allow to reduce. Resources are needed to maintain the system and further improve it. Additionally, the early warning system only functions well, if the network of meteorological and hydrological stations is well-established and accordingly maintained. The availability of other updated information is equally important for targeted early warning systems, as for example in the case of vector-borne diseases, aeroallergens, status of vegetation, etc.

Early warning systems are an important adaptive measure for climate change, using integrated communication systems to support diverse sectors and communities to prepare for climate-related events. A successful EWS saves lives, infrastructures, land and jobs and supports long-term sustainability. Early warning systems aim to assist public officials and administrators as well as private sector actors, communities and individuals in their planning, saving money in the long run and protecting economies.

The European and pan-European early warning and detection systems for weather-driven natural disasters (such as EFAS, EFFIS and the European Drought Observatory) provide an added value which extends beyond national efforts towards transboundary cooperation.

From the financial point of view, the EU has provided consistent investments in the early warning system related strategies. For example, COPERNICUS is the European Programme for the establishment of a European capacity for Earth Observation. COPERNICUS’ services, e.g. COPERNICUS climate change services, are dedicated to the monitoring and forecasting of the Earth's subsystems and contribute directly to the monitoring of climate change. COPERNICUS services also address emergency management services (e.g. in case of natural disaster, forest fires, technological accidents or humanitarian crises) and security-related issues (e.g. maritime surveillance, border control).

Policy focused on specific climate-related risk can have a role in driving the development of EWS. For example the EU Flood and Water Framework Directives foresee that flood forecast and early warning systems are taken in consideration in Flood Risk Management Plans. Actually, improved flood predictions are on the national adaptation agenda of many European countries. Another example is referred to EFAS, which is fully in line with the EC’s communication “Towards a Stronger European Union Disaster Response”, adopted and endorsed by the Council in 2010, which underpins the importance of strengthening concerted actions in case of natural disasters including floods, which are amongst the costliest natural disasters in the EU.

Implementation Time

Design and implementation of an early warning system typically require a 1 to 5 years, depending of the specific objective and characteristics of the system.

Life Time

Lifetime of EWS is typically long; however it depends on financing available for EWS maintenance and updating as well as for the maintenance of the measurement network supporting the early warning system.

Reference information

Websites:
References:
EEA, (2013). Late lessons from early warnings: science, precaution, innovation. EEA Report 1/2013.

Published in CA:

08-05-2015

Document Actions