Accueil Base de données Études de cas Protection contre les inondations dans le bassin de la Vistule supérieure: mesures grises et vertes mises en œuvre dans la région de Sandomierz

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
The European Climate and Health Observatory is undergoing reconstruction until June 2024 to improve its performance. We apologise for any possible disturbance to the content and functionality of the platform.
Études de cas

Protection contre les inondations dans le bassin de la Vistule supérieure: mesures grises et vertes mises en œuvre dans la région de Sandomierz

Protection contre les inondations dans le bassin de la Vistule supérieure: mesures grises et vertes mises en œuvre dans la région de Sandomierz

La Vistule est une rivière longue de 1 046 km qui jaillit dans le sud de la Pologne et se termine dans la mer Baltique. La Vistule supérieure s’étend sur les trois provinces polonaises de Małopolskie, Podkarpackie et Swietokrzyskie. La région de la Vistule supérieure couvre une superficie de 43 000 km2, y compris les villes de Cracovie, Tarnow, Kielce, Nowy Sacz, Rzeszow, Przemysl et Krosno. La région est également connue pour ses valeurs naturelles extraordinaires. La région est sujette aux risques d’inondation tant en hiver qu’en été. Cela comprend différents types d’inondations comme les crues, les crues éclair, les inondations pluviales, les inondations de fonte des neiges et les inondations causées par les barrages de glace sur les rivières.

Cette étude de cas porte sur une partie spécifique des zones de la Vistule supérieure, à savoir la zone située près de la ville de Sandomierz, dans la province de Swietokrzyskie. La région est caractérisée par plusieurs affluents importants, dont San Rive, le plus grand affluent des Carpates de la Vistule. Dans cette zone, les inondations dévastatrices de 2010 ont fait 3 000 personnes évacuées et 4 victimes. Par conséquent, de nouvelles initiatives ont été lancées pour accroître la protection contre les inondations et la capacité de rétention du bassin hydrographique. Ces initiatives comprennent une approche hybride des mesures d’infrastructure verte et grise telles que la renaturalisation des réservoirs et la restauration des zones humides; la reconstruction et la modernisation des berges fluviales; restauration des fonctionnalités de digue; et reconstruction des stations de pompes à eau et des canaux d’évacuation de l’eau.

Description de l'étude de cas

Défis

Le principal défi dans la région de la Vistule supérieure est la forte occurrence d’inondations. Les précipitations et le ruissellement dans la région sont respectivement de 15 % et 50 % supérieurs à la moyenne polonaise. D’autres éléments déterminant une forte vulnérabilité aux inondations sont les suivants: un réseau hydrographique dense, des pentes abruptes, la forme ovale du bassin versant, une forte intensité routière et une forte densité de population dans le bassin versant. Les inondations sont d’origine diverse: inondations soudaines causées par des averses intenses et de courte durée, des fraiches causées par la fonte de la neige et des inondations causées par des barrages de glace.

Plusieurs zones de la région de la Haute-Vistule sont vulnérables aux inondations. Le risque d’inondation le plus élevé est situé sur la rive droite de la Vistule, en amont de la ville de Sandomierz, qui abrite environ 24 700 personnes. Les inondations de mai et juin 2010 ont été causées par de fortes pluies et ont entraîné l’effondrement des digues dans la région voisine de Sandomierz, affectant cette ville et les villes voisines de Tarnobrzeg et Gorzyce. À Sandomierz, une superficie de 1 154 ha a été inondée, ce qui correspond à 40 % de son extension totale. La région a été inondée pendant environ deux semaines et la région a été bloquée de plusieurs mois. Les pertes d’inondation ont été estimées à environ 100 millions d’euros, tandis que 3 000 personnes ont été évacuées et 4 sont mortes. Puis, en juillet 2011, de fortes pluies ont provoqué un autre événement d’inondation, endommageant la vieille ville de Sandomierz, les infrastructures routières, le réseau d’égouts et les zones récréatives. Les pertes totales se sont élevées à près de 2 millions d’euros.

Bien que le risque actuel d’inondation soit déjà élevé, les modèles de changement climatique ont indiqué que ce risque augmenterait considérablement. Dans la région de la Haute-Vistule, la zone supplémentaire sujette aux inondations peut s’étendre jusqu’à 1 751 km2 en cas d’inondation d’une période de retour sur 100 ans d’ici 2050, y compris une zone urbaine supplémentaire de 89 km2.

Objectifs

L’objectif principal des mesures d’adaptation mises en œuvre dans la région de Sandomierz est d’accroître la capacité de rétention et de réduire les risques d’inondation dans et autour de cette ville, également à la lumière du changement climatique futur. D’autres objectifs qui ont été pris en compte dans la conception des solutions sont les suivants: protection de la santé et de la sécurité publiques, conservation de la biodiversité, objectifs environnementaux en matière de qualité de l’eau, protection des sols, des paysages et du patrimoine culturel, et prospérité économique.

Solutions

La solution adoptée pour réduire les risques d’inondation et améliorer la protection contre les inondations dans la région de Sandomierz est une approche hybride et intégrée des mesures d’infrastructure verte et grise, y compris certaines mesures institutionnelles. Ces solutions ont été conçues dans le cadre des plans de bassin de gestion de la rivière Vistula, qui font partie de la mise en œuvre de la directive-cadre européenne sur l’eau et de la directive européenne sur les inondations.

La renaturalisation des réservoirs et la restauration des zones humides sont considérées comme des mesures vertes pour réduire l’exposition des personnes aux inondations. Ces mesures d’adaptation sont mises en œuvre dans 15 localités le long de la rivière Haute-Vistule et visent à accroître la capacité de rétention d’eau contrôlée de la région. En effet, les réservoirs naturalisés et les zones humides restaurées servent à capter l’excédent d’eau fluviale et donc à réduire le risque d’inondation. Ces mesures vertes sont combinées avec des mesures grises: L’expansion, la reconstruction et la modernisation des quais fluviaux visaient spécifiquement à protéger davantage les zones urbanisées contre les inondations, ce qui réduisait le risque de débordement d’eau. La zone embankisée existante est agrandie pour inclure l’ensemble de la zone qui peut être inondée pendant les niveaux d’eau élevés. En outre, les remblais sont relevés jusqu’à une altitude maximale de 1,4 m, ce qui garantit que les couronnes de remblais le long des deux rives de la rivière sont adaptées au même niveau de sécurité. L’intervention de modernisation comprend également la (re)construction de stations de pompes à eau et de canaux de rejet d’eau, qui aident à décharger l’eau en excès.

Pertinence

Cas principalement développé et mis en œuvre en raison d’autres objectifs politiques, mais avec une prise en compte significative des aspects d’adaptation au changement climatique

Détails supplémentaires

Participation des parties prenantes

La conception des mesures d’adaptation relève de la compétence des organisations centrales agissant dans le bassin hydrographique de la Haute Vistule: les autorités régionales de gestion de l’eau de Cracovie, de Kielce et de Rzeszow. Ces autorités ont travaillé en étroite collaboration avec les autorités locales. Les mesures d’adaptation en vert et en gris ont été conçues dans le cadre des plans de gestion des bassins hydrographiques élaborés conformément à la DCE et à la directive sur les inondations et ont donc fait partie du processus de consultation des parties prenantes. Les parties prenantes ont été associées par l’intermédiaire du Comité informel de participation du public du Conseil de gestion de l’eau. Les 20 membres de ce Comité sont des représentants élus de divers groupes d’intérêt, tels que les collectivités locales, l’agriculture, la pêche, d’autres secteurs économiques et organisations écologiques, ainsi que les usagers de l’eau et les gestionnaires de l’eau. Ce comité informel a diffusé des informations sur le PGDH aux organisations participantes et aux autres parties intéressées, qui ont eu l’occasion d’exprimer des avis sur les projets de plans. Les parties prenantes et les citoyens pourraient apporter leur contribution au moyen d’un premier questionnaire afin d’identifier les principaux problèmes liés aux inondations caractérisant la zone. Un deuxième questionnaire visait à recueillir des commentaires sur les solutions potentielles. En outre, des séminaires et des réunions publiques ont été organisés au cours de la période 2008-2009.

Facteurs de réussite et facteurs limitants

L’un des principaux moteurs de la mise en œuvre des mesures de protection contre les inondations a été l’expérience directe des communautés locales touchées par les récentes inondations (2010 et 2011). Cela a contribué à accroître le sentiment d’urgence pour la mise en œuvre de mesures contribuant à faire face aux défis liés aux inondations. Le cadre de l’UE sur l’eau et les directives sur les inondations ont également joué un rôle important dans le lancement du processus intégré visant à réduire le risque d’inondation. Au lieu des mesures traditionnelles, ces directives ont également été pertinentes pour promouvoir des mesures vertes visant à accroître la capacité de rétention de la zone tout en respectant leurs valeurs naturelles.

Pendant la construction, la valeur naturelle de la zone a dû être maintenue. Par conséquent, l’impact sur les habitats naturels et les habitats d’espèces d’intérêt communautaire, selon les politiques Natura 2000, a dû faire l’objet d’un suivi. Un autre facteur affectant la mise en œuvre de la mesure est l’évolution des droits fonciers qui devaient être organisés afin d’élargir les remblais.

Coûts et bénéfices

Le coût total des mesures d’adaptation mises en œuvre dans la région de Sandomierz s’élève à environ 217 millions d’euros. Cela comprend les coûts de mise en œuvre de l’agrandissement, de la reconstruction et de la modernisation des digues fluviales (mesures grises), ainsi que la renaturalisation des réservoirs et la restauration des zones humides (mesures vertes), y compris les achats de terres nécessaires. Des fonds pour la mise en œuvre de ces mesures ont été demandés et reçus de la Banque mondiale.

Les dégâts évités par les inondations dans les bâtiments (5 632 bâtiments au total) ont été estimés à environ 445 millions d’euros en valeur constante. Compte tenu uniquement de cette estimation, et ne tenant donc pas compte des incidences sur les personnes, le ratio avantages-coûts est de 2,05, ce qui signifie que les avantages escomptés sont au moins deux fois plus élevés que les coûts (DHI Polska, 2013, Raport z opracowania programu działań dla Regionu Wodnego Górnej Wisły, rapport KZGW/DPISE-op/POPT/1/2013, DHI Polska, Varsovie, Pologne; AEE, 2017).

Les mesures d’adaptation ont été mises en œuvre dans le cadre du cadre de l’UE sur l’eau et des directives sur les inondations, qui sont toutes deux transposées dans la législation nationale sur l’eau. La mise en œuvre des mesures d’adaptation a nécessité l’application des procédures requises pour l’évaluation des incidences sur l’environnement. La formulation de mesures d’atténuation pour prévenir les impacts environnementaux et sociaux est particulièrement importante dans le cadre du financement de la construction reçu par la Banque mondiale.

Temps de mise en œuvre

La conception du plan date de 2011, au cours du processus d’élaboration du plan de gestion dupremier bassin hydrographique. Le plan, y compris les mesures, a été finalisé en 2015. La mise en œuvre des mesures décrites est actuellement en cours et devrait être achevée d’ici 2019.

Durée de vie

Les infrastructures vertes et grises devraient être permanentes si un entretien adéquat est assuré.

Informations de référence

Contacter

Sandomierz Municipal Administration
pl. Poniatowskiego 3, 27-600 Sandomierz
Tel. +48 815 41 00
E-mail: um@um.sandomierz.pl 

Świętokrzyskie Province
al. IX Wieków Kielc 3, 25-516 Kielce
Tel. +48 (41) 342 15 30
E-mail: kancelaria@sejmik.kielce.pl 

Référence

EEA 2017 Green Infrastructure and Flood Management. Promoting cost-efficient flood risk reduction via green infrastructure solutions Report No. 14, 2017. ISSN 1977-8449

Publié dans Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Dernière modification dans Climate-ADAPT Apr 04 2024


Veuillez nous contacter pour toute autre enquête sur cette étude de cas ou pour partager une nouvelle étude de cas (email climat.adapt@eea.europa.eu a >)

Actions sur le document

You are here: Home / Database / Case studies / Flood protection in the Upper Vistula river basin: grey and green measures implemented in the Sandomierz area
Original page

Case studies

Flood protection in the Upper Vistula river basin: grey and green measures implemented in the Sandomierz area
© Andrew Menage

Flood protection in the Upper Vistula river basin: grey and green measures implemented in the Sandomierz area (2018)

The Vistula River is a 1,046 km long river which springs in southern Poland and ends in the Baltic Sea. The Upper Vistula extends over the three Polish provinces of Małopolskie, Podkarpackie and Swietokrzyskie. The Upper Vistula region covers an area of 43,000 km2, including the cities of Krakow, Tarnow, Kielce, Nowy Sacz, Rzeszow, Przemysl and Krosno. The area is also known for its extraordinary natural values. The region is prone to flood risk both in winter and in summer. This includes different types of flooding like freshets, flash floods, pluvial floods, snow-melt floods and floods caused by ice dams on rivers.

This case study focuses on a specific part of the Upper Vistula areas, namely the area near the town of Sandomierz, in the province of Swietokrzyskie. The area is characterized by several significant tributaries, including San Rive, the largest Carpathian tributary of the Vistula River. In this area, the 2010 devastating floods resulted in 3,000 evacuated people and 4 casualties. Consequently, new initiatives were launched to increase flood protection and the retention capacity of the river basin. These initiatives include a hybrid approach of green and grey infrastructure measures like renaturalisation of reservoirs and wetland restauration; expansion reconstruction and modernization of river embankments; restoration of dike functionalities; and reconstruction of water pump stations and water discharge channels.

Case Study Description

Challenges

The main challenge in the Upper Vistula region is the high occurrence of floods. Precipitation and run-off in the area are respectively 15% and 50% greater than Poland’s average. Other elements determining high flood vulnerability are: a dense hydrographic network, steep slopes, the oval shape of the catchment area, high road intensity and high population density in the catchment area. Floods are of diverse origin: flash floods caused by intense and short-lived downpours, freshets caused by melting snow, and flood caused by ice dams.

Several areas of the Upper Vistula region are vulnerable to floods. The highest flood risk is located on the right bank of the Vistula, upstream the town of Sandomierz which is home to about 24,700 people. The floods of May and June 2010 were caused by heavy rainfall and have resulted in collapsed levees in the neighboring area of Sandomierz, affecting this town and the neighboring towns of Tarnobrzeg and Gorzyce. In Sandomierz, an area of 1,154 ha was flooded, corresponding to 40% of its total extension. The area was flooded for about two weeks and the region had a standstill of several months. The flood losses were estimated at approximately EUR 100 million, while 3,000 people were evacuated and 4 died. Then, in July 2011, heavy rainfall caused another flood event, damaging the old town in Sandomierz, road infrastructure, the sewerage network and recreational areas. Total losses amounted to almost EUR 2 million.

Although current flood risk is already high, climate change models indicated that this risk will increase tremendously. In the region of Upper Vistula, the additional area prone to flooding can extend up to 1,751 km2 in case of a 1 in 100 year return period flood by 2050, including an additional urban area of 89 km2.

Objectives

The main objective of the adaptation measures implemented in the Sandomierz area is to increase the retention capacity and to reduce flood risk in and around this town, also in light of future climate change. Other objectives that were considered in the design of the solutions are: protection of public health and safety, biodiversity conservation, environmental objectives with regard to water quality, protection of soil, landscape and cultural heritage protection, and economic prosperity.

Solutions

The adopted solution to reduce flood risk and to improve flood protection in the area of Sandomierz is a hybrid and integrated approach of green and grey infrastructure measures, including some institutional measures as well. These solutions were designed within the scope of the Vistula River Management Basin Plans, which are part of the implementation of the European Water Framework Directive and the European Flood Directive.

Renaturalization of reservoirs and wetland restauration are considered green measures to reduce exposure of people to flooding. These adaptation measures are implemented in 15 locations along the Upper Vistula River and aim to increase the controlled water retention capacity of the area. Indeed, naturalized reservoirs and restored wetlands are used to capture the surplus of river water and therefore to reduce the risk of flooding. These green measures are combined with grey ones: expansion, reconstruction and modernization of river embankments, specifically aimed to further protect urbanized areas from flooding reducing the risk of water overflow. The existing embanked area is enlarged to include the entire area that can be flooded during high water levels. Moreover embankments are raised up to a maximum elevation of 1.4 m, ensuring that embankment crowns along both river banks are adapted to the same safety level. Modernization intervention includes also the (re)construction of water pump stations and water discharge channels, that help to discharge the water in excess.

Relevance

Case mainly developed and implemented because of other policy objectives, but with significant consideration of CCA aspects

Additional Details

Stakeholder Participation

The design of the adaptation measures is under the competence of the core organisations acting within the river basin of the Upper Vistula: the Regional Water Management authorities of Krakow, Kielce and Rzeszow. These authorities worked closely together with local ones. The green and grey adaptation measures were designed within the scope of the River Basin Management Plans (RBMP) elaborated according to the WFD and the Flood Directive and therefore have been part of the related stakeholder consultation process. Stakeholders have been involved via the informal Public Participation Committee of the Water Management Council. The 20 members of this Committee are elected representatives of various interest groups, like local government authorities, agriculture, fisheries, other economic sectors and ecological organizations as well as water users and water managers. This informal Committee disseminated information about the RBMP to the participating organisations and other interested parties, which had the opportunity to express opinions on draft plans. Stakeholders and citizens could provide input via a first questionnaire to identify the main issues related to flooding characterizing the area. A second questionnaire was aimed to gather input on potential solutions. In addition, seminars and public meetings were organised in the period 2008 – 2009.

Success and Limiting Factors

One of the major drivers for the implementation of the flood protection measures was the direct experience of local communities being affected by recent floods (2010 and 2011). This has contributed to increase the sense of urgency for the implementation of measures contributing to cope with the flooding challenges. The EU Water Framework and the Flood Directives also played an important role in initiating the integrated process aiming to reduce the flood risk. As alternative to traditional measures, these Directives have been also relevant in promoting green measures aiming to increase the retention capacity of the area while respecting their natural values.

During construction the natural value of the area had to be maintained. Therefore, the impact on natural habitats and habitats of species for community interest, according to Natura 2000 policies, had to be monitored. Another factor affecting the measure implementation is changes in land entitlement that had to be organised in order to expand the embankments.

Costs and Benefits

The total cost of the adaptation measures implemented in the Sandomierz area is about EUR 217 million. This includes costs incurred to implement the expansion, reconstruction and modernisation of the river embankments (grey measures) as well as the renaturalisation of reservoirs and wetland restauration (green measures), including the needed land purchases. Funds for implementing these measures were requested and received from the World Bank.

The avoided flood damage to buildings (5,632 buildings in total) was estimated to be about EUR 445 million in constant values. Taking into account only this estimate, and therefore not considering impacts on people, the benefit-cost ratio is 2.05, implying that expected benefits are at least approximately twice larger than costs (DHI Polska, 2013, Raport z opracowania programu działań dla Regionu Wodnego Górnej Wisły, Report KZGW/ DpiZE-op/POPT/1/2013, DHI Polska, Warsaw, Poland; EEA, 2017).

Legal Aspects

The adaptation measures have been implemented within the scope of the EU Water Framework and Flood Directives that are both transposed into the national Water Law. The implementation of the adaptation measures required the application of the due procedures of environmental impact assessment. The formulation of mitigating measures to prevent environmental and social impacts is in particular important within the scope of the received World Bank funding for construction.

Implementation Time

The design of the plan originates from 2011, during the process of elaboration of the 1st River Basin Management Plan. The plan, including the measures was finalized in 2015. Implementation of the described measures is currently taking place and is expected to be completed by 2019.

Life Time

The green and grey infrastructures are expected to be permanent if proper maintenance is provided.

Reference Information

Contact

Sandomierz Municipal Administration
pl. Poniatowskiego 3, 27-600 Sandomierz
Tel. +48 815 41 00
E-mail: um@um.sandomierz.pl 

Świętokrzyskie Province
al. IX Wieków Kielc 3, 25-516 Kielce
Tel. +48 (41) 342 15 30
E-mail: kancelaria@sejmik.kielce.pl 

Source
EEA 2017 Green Infrastructure and Flood Management. Promoting cost-efficient flood risk reduction via green infrastructure solutions Report No. 14, 2017. ISSN 1977-8449

Keywords

Green measure, Sandomierz, Vistula, embankment, renaturalisation, reservoir, water pump

Sectors

Disaster Risk Reduction, Urban, Water management

Climate impacts

Flooding

Governance level

Sub National Regions

Geographic characterization

Europe

Document Actions