Startseite Datenbank Fallstudien Umsetzung des Aktionsplans „Heat-Health“ Nordmazedoniens

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
The European Climate and Health Observatory is undergoing reconstruction until June 2024 to improve its performance. We apologise for any possible disturbance to the content and functionality of the platform.
Fallstudien

Umsetzung des Aktionsplans „Heat-Health“ Nordmazedoniens

Umsetzung des Aktionsplans „Heat-Health“ Nordmazedoniens

Der National Heat-Health Action Plan (HHAP) Nordmazedoniens wurde 2011 entwickelt und 2012 im Anschluss an die Nationale Strategie und den Aktionsplan zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel angenommen. Das HHAP zielt darauf ab, Morbidität und Mortalität im Zusammenhang mit extremen Temperaturen und Hitzewellen zu verringern. Er sieht die Einführung eines derzeit bestehenden Warnsystems für die Hitzegesundheit sowie eine Reihe von Maßnahmen vor, die darauf abzielen, den Gesundheitsschutz in andere einschlägige Politikbereiche einzubeziehen, die Bürger und Arbeitnehmer im Gesundheitswesen für die Folgen des Klimawandels zu sensibilisieren und die Ressourcen für die Bewältigung der Hitzeauswirkungen auf die Gesundheit zu mobilisieren.

 

 

 

Beschreibung der Fallstudien

Herausforderungen

Die Republik Nordmazedonien ist ein kleines (25,713 km2) Binnenland, das sich mitten auf der Balkanhalbinsel in Südeuropa befindet. Trotz seiner relativ kleinen Fläche hat das Land ein vielfältiges Klima mit acht Klimaregionen. In den letzten 25 Jahren wurden Veränderungen im globalen Klima beobachtet. Die Analyse der mehrjährigen Variation der mittleren Temperatur zeigt, dass in den 1950er Jahren relativ höhere Lufttemperaturen in allen meteorologischen Stationen auf dem gesamten Gebiet Nordmazedoniens gemessen wurden. Nach diesem Zeitraum gab es einen relativ kälteren Zeitraum von 20 Jahren (1971-1993), während die durchschnittliche Jahrestemperatur in den folgenden Jahren konstant höher war als der mehrjährige Durchschnitt (USAID, 2018).

Wie in der dritten nationalen Mitteilung über den Klimawandel (2014) berichtet, liegen die Unterschiede bei der durchschnittlichen jährlichen Lufttemperatur für den Zeitraum 1981-2010 im Vergleich zum betrachteten Bezugszeitraum (1961-1990) zwischen 0,2 °C und 0,5 °C (je nach Standort). Gemäß den Klimaszenarien (basierend auf dem IPCC-Sonderbericht über Emissionsszenarien) beträgt der erwartete Anstieg der Durchschnittstemperatur für die Mitte des Jahrhunderts (im Vergleich zum Bezugszeitraum 1986-2005) 1 °C, 2 °C bzw. 2,5 °C für niedrige, mittlere und hohe Szenarios. Für die nahe Zukunft (Zeitraum 2016-2035) betrachten alle drei Emissionsszenarien einen Anstieg der Durchschnittstemperatur von etwa 1 °C gegenüber der Temperatur im Bezugszeitraum (1986-2005).

Ziele

Das HHAP zielt darauf ab, die derzeitige und zukünftige Morbidität und Mortalität im Zusammenhang mit extremen Temperaturen und Hitzewellen zu reduzieren. Insbesondere konzentriert sich der Plan und das damit verbundene Warnsystem auf die am stärksten gefährdeten Bevölkerungsgruppen: ältere Menschen, Säuglinge und Kinder bis zu fünf Jahren, chronisch kranke Menschen, Übergewichtige, Outdoor-Arbeiter und Menschen, deren sozioökonomischer Status sie anfälliger für die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels macht (z. B. Obdachlose). Das Gesundheitssystem des Landes spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Anpassungs-, Präventions- und Reaktionsmaßnahmen zur Bewältigung der Gesundheitsrisiken im Zusammenhang mit dem Klimawandel, indem es

  • Stärkung der bestehenden Kapazitäten im Bereich der öffentlichen Gesundheit zur Früherkennung und angemessenen Reaktion;
  • Die Folgen neu auftretender Krankheiten, die möglicherweise mit dem Klimawandel in Verbindung stehen, antizipieren;
  • Sensibilisierung der Bevölkerung für mögliche Zusammenhänge zwischen Klimawandel und Gesundheit.
Lösungen

Der Aktionsplan für Wärmegesundheit (HHAP) wurde 2011 fertiggestellt und 2012 von der mazedonischen Regierung angenommen. Im Rahmen der Umsetzung des Plans wurde ein Warnsystem für die Hitzegesundheit eingeführt. Das System ist noch aktiv und funktioniert in der Zeit vom 01. Mai bis 30. September. Es handelt sich um folgende Einrichtungen:

  • eine regierungsübergreifende Einrichtung (bestehend aus dem Gesundheitsministerium, dem Institut für öffentliche Gesundheit, dem Institut für Arbeitsmedizin und anderen relevanten nationalen Interessenträgern), die für die Aktivierung der damit verbundenen grünen (Vigilanz), Gelb (Alarm/Vorbereitung), Orange (Wärmewelle) und Rot (Notfall) verantwortlich ist. Sie koordiniert auch die Maßnahmen, die umgesetzt werden sollen, mit lokalen Akteuren.
  • eine meteorologische Agentur, die das Gesundheitsministerium über Hinweise auf Alarmstufen informiert und die 24-48-Stunden-Wärmewellenwarnung operativ kommuniziert, und
  • eine Behörde für öffentliche Gesundheit, die die Auswirkungen von Hitzewellen anhand definierter Indikatoren gemäß dem nationalen Wärmewellenplan bewertet (SCORCH, 2020).

Das Warnsystem ist Teil des breiter angelegten Ansatzes der HHAP und umfasst:

  • Empfehlungen zur Verringerung der Wärmeexposition in Gesundheits- und Sozialeinrichtungen (und spezielle Schutzpläne für die am stärksten gefährdeten Bevölkerungsgruppen);
  • Eine Kommunikationsstrategie, die Bürger und Menschen im Gesundheits- und Sozialbereich über Schutzmaßnahmen bei Hitzewellen informiert. Insbesondere bezieht sich die Strategie auf die oben genannten Empfehlungen;
  • Langfristige Planung für die Vorsorge der Gesundheits- und Sozialsysteme, einschließlich: Planung und Schulung des Personals, kontinuierliche Verbesserung des Gesundheitsschutzes und Schaffung neuer Grünflächen;
  • Überwachung und Bewertung des Plans: eine aktuelle Umfrage (2020) wurde gemeinsam mit der Université Catholique de Louvain (Belgien) entwickelt.
  • Eine Anwendung für Android-Handys, um Hitze- und Gesundheitswarnungen rechtzeitig und damit zusammenhängende Empfehlungen an die Nutzer zu liefern.
Relevanz

Der Fall wurde als Maßnahme zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel entwickelt, umgesetzt und teilweise finanziert.

Zusätzliche Details

Stakeholderbeteiligung

Die Einrichtung, die für die Umsetzung des Aktionsplans für Wärme-Gesundheit zuständig ist, ist das Gesundheitsministerium. Im Gesundheitsministerium ist die Kommission für die Überwachung der Folgen der Wärmegesundheit seit Juli 2007 tätig, während die Kommission für Klimawandel und Gesundheit im Juni 2009 eingerichtet wurde. Beide Kommissionen nahmen an der Vorbereitung der HHAP teil und arbeiten bei der Umsetzung, Überwachung und Bewertung des Plans zusammen. Die Kommission für Klimawandel und Gesundheit fungiert als Koordinierungsstelle und ist für die Beteiligung anderer Institutionen bei der Durchführung der im Plan beschriebenen Tätigkeiten zuständig. Die Kommission für die Überwachung der Folgen der Wärmegesundheit überwacht die praktische Durchführung der Maßnahmen, insbesondere der Maßnahmen im Zusammenhang mit der rechtzeitigen Unterrichtung der Bürger und der Beschäftigten im Gesundheitswesen. Es wird empfohlen, bei Bedarf Personen aus anderen einschlägigen Institutionen an dieser Kommission und an der Umsetzung des Plans zu beteiligen. In diesem Zusammenhang umfassen die einschlägigen Institutionen und andere Akteure: das Institut für öffentliche Gesundheit und öffentliche Gesundheitszentren, das Institut für betriebliche Gesundheit, das Krisenmanagementzentrum, das Hydrometeologische Institut, die Direktion für Schutz und Rettung, die Abteilungen zur Verbesserung der Lebensumwelt in den Gemeinden, das Ministerium für Verkehr und Kommunikation, das Ministerium für Arbeit und Sozialpolitik, das Ministerium für Bildung und Wissenschaft, das mazedonische Rote Kreuz, die Medien und schließlich die nichtstaatlichen Sektoren.

In der aktuellen Umsetzungsphase hat sich dieser kollaborative Ansatz als effizient erwiesen. Um beispielsweise die Vorbereitung auf Krisensituationen und Notfälle im Zusammenhang mit dem Klimawandel zu stärken, fand am 21. November 2018 in Kumanovo die letzte Simulationsübung statt. Die wichtigsten beteiligten Institutionen waren das Gesundheitsministerium, das Strumica General Hospital (ein wichtiges regionales Krankenhauszentrum), die Notfallmedizin, das Krisenmanagementzentrum, das Rote Kreuz, die Brandrettungseinheiten, das Innenministerium, das Verteidigungsministerium und die Weltgesundheitsorganisation. Vor der Simulationsübung wurden einige Vorbereitungssitzungen abgehalten, um die Parameter der Übung wie erwartete Opfer, Triggerindikatoren für die Aktivierung des Notfalleinsatzplans, Triage- und Patientenverkehrsströme sowie die Verantwortlichkeiten des Krankenhaus- und Notfallpersonals festzulegen. Die Simulation ermöglichte es den Behörden, die allgemeine Bereitschaft zu testen.

Erfolgsfaktoren und Hemmnisse

Die in der Pilotphase der HHAP (2009-2011) gewonnenen Erkenntnisse wiesen darauf hin, dass

  • Informationen über die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die Gesundheit müssen aus dem Bereich der wissenschaftlichen Forschung in Sprachen und Zeitskalen übersetzt werden, die für politische Entscheidungsträger relevant sind.
  • die Verfügbarkeit nationaler Daten über Klimaveränderungen und damit zusammenhängende Auswirkungen ist sehr wichtig und das Verständnis der großen Lücken bei der menschlichen Leistungsfähigkeit;
  • alle relevanten Interessenträger müssen einbezogen werden und ihr Informationsbedarf kann variieren.

Nach den Erfahrungen der nordmazedonischen HHAP würde die Stärkung der Gesundheit auf wärmebedingte Auswirkungen Folgendes erfordern:

  • Maximierung von Synergien mit bestehenden Instrumenten und Institutionen;
  • Vorbereitung der Arbeitskräfte im Gesundheits- und Sozialbereich, um auf gesundheitsbezogene Folgen des Klimawandels zu reagieren, und Stärkung der Gesundheitsdienste, um klimabedingte Ereignisse rechtzeitig zu bewältigen;
  • Förderung der Berücksichtigung von Gesundheitsproblemen und damit zusammenhängender Maßnahmen in anderen Sektoren;
  • Aufbau von Kapazitäten im Gesundheits- und Sozialsektor. In diesem Zusammenhang wurde das Gesetz über Sicherheit und Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz (Regierungsanzeiger der ehemaligen jugoslawischen Republik Mazedonien Nr. 92/07) durchgesetzt, um die Umsetzung von Maßnahmen im nationalen Hitzewellenplan zum Schutz der Gesundheit der Arbeitnehmer während einer Hitzewelle zu ermöglichen.
Kosten und Nutzen

Nordmazedonien nahm an einem zweijährigen WHO-Projekt mit dem Titel „Schutz der Gesundheit vor dem Klimawandel“ teil. Dies war eine 7-Länder-Initiative (Albanien, Kasachstan, Kirgisistan, die Russische Föderation, Tadschikistan, Nordmazedonien und Usbekistan), die von der Internationalen Klimaschutzinitiative des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit gefördert wurde. Das übergeordnete Ziel des Projekts war es, die Fähigkeit zum Verständnis und zur Reaktion auf die Gesundheitsrisiken des Klimawandels zu stärken und den Aktionsplan für Wärme-Gesundheit zu entwickeln. Im Rahmen des Projekts zeigte eine WHO-Studie im Land, dass es möglich ist, die Schadenskosten der Zunahme von Krankheitsfällen und Todesfällen, die nicht auf die Kosten der Anpassung abgewendet wurden, zu vergleichen. Die jährlichen Kosten für Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an die Wärmegesundheit wurden auf 12 Millionen lokale Währungseinheiten (LCU) geschätzt, verglichen mit den Kosten für Gesundheitsschäden (aufgrund des Anstiegs von Krankheitsfällen und Todesfällen) von 170 Millionen LCU pro Jahr (WHO, 2013).

Der Nationale Heat-Health-Aktionsplan wurde 2011 von der nordmazedonischen Regierung gebilligt. Es ist formal mit der Strategie zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel (2011) verknüpft.

Umsetzungszeitraum

Der Aktionsplan „Wärme-Gesundheit“ wurde 2011 von der Regierung angenommen, nachdem im Sommer 2010 bestimmte Wärmeschutzmaßnahmen erfolgreich erprobt wurden. Im Rahmen der Planungsimplementierung wurde ein Hitzewarnsystem eingerichtet und ist noch in Betrieb.

Lebensdauer

Es gibt keine Pläne, die HHAP zu diesem Zeitpunkt zu überarbeiten. Das Hitzewarnsystem läuft jedes Jahr vom 1. Mai bis zum 30. September. Es wird erwartet, dass es weiter funktioniert und aktualisiert wird.

Referenzinformationen

Kontakt

Mihail Kochubovski
Head of Sector of Environmental Health Institute of Public Health of the Republic of North Macedonia
Str. 50 Divizija No.6 1000
Skopje
Republic of North Macedonia
E-mail: kocubov58@yahoo.com 

Referenz

The Heat-Health Action Plan of North Macedonia, the Environmental Health Institute of Public Health of the Republic of North Macedonia and WHO Regional Office for Europe

Veröffentlicht in Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Zuletzt aktualisiert in Climate-ADAPT Apr 04 2024


Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns für eine weitere Fragen zu dieser Fallstudie oder um eine neue Fallstudie zu einzureichen (E -Mail Climate.adapt@eea.europa.eu ))

Artikelaktionen

Home Database Case studies Implementation of the Heat-Health Action Plan of North Macedonia
Case studies

Implementation of the Heat-Health Action Plan of North Macedonia

Implementation of the Heat-Health Action Plan of North Macedonia

The National Heat-Health Action Plan (HHAP) of North Macedonia was developed in 2011 and approved in 2012, following the National Climate Change Health Adaptation Strategy and Action Plan. The HHAP aims to decrease morbidity and mortality connected with extreme temperatures and heatwaves. It foresees the implementation of a heat health warning system, currently in place, as well as a series of actions aiming at mainstreaming health protection in other relevant policies, raising the citizens and health sector workers’ awareness about consequences of climate change and mobilizing the resources for managing the heat effects on health.

 

 

 

Case Study Description

Challenges

The Republic of North Macedonia is a small (25.713km2) landlocked country that is located in the middle of the Balkan Peninsula in Southern Europe. In spite of its relatively small area, the country has a diverse climate, with eight climatic regions. In the last 25 years, changes in the global climate have been observed. Analysis of the multi-year variation of the mean temperature shows that in the 1950s, relatively higher air temperatures were measured in all meteorological stations on the whole territory of North Macedonia. After this period, there was a relatively colder 20-year period (1971-1993), while in the following years the mean annual temperature was constantly higher than the multi-year average (USAID, 2018).

As reported in the third national communication on climate change (2014), differences in the average annual air temperature for the period 1981-2010 in comparison with the considered reference period (1961-1990), range from 0.2°C to 0.5°C (depending on the location). According to the climate scenarios (based on IPCC Special Report on Emission Scenarios), the expected increases in the average temperature for the middle of the century (with respect to the reference period 1986-2005) are 1ºC, 2ºC and 2.5ºC for low, mid and high scenario respectively. For the near future (period 2016-2035), all the three emission scenarios consider an increase of the average temperature of about 1ºC, compared to temperature in the reference period (1986-2005).

Objectives

The HHAP aims to reduce current and future morbidity and mortality related to extreme temperatures and heatwaves. In particular the plan, and the related warning system, focuses on the most vulnerable groups of the population: elderly, infants and children up to five years old, chronically ill persons, people who are overweight, outdoor workers and people whose socioeconomic status makes them more vulnerable to climate change effects (e.g. the homeless). The health care system in the country has an important role in developing and implementing adaptation, prevention and response measures to address the health risks related to climate change, by:

  • Strengthening existing public health capacities for early detection and adequate response;
  • Anticipating the consequences of emerging diseases potentially related to climate change;
  • Raising awareness among the population about the possible links between climate change and health.
Solutions

The Heat Health Action Plan (HHAP) was finalized in 2011 and adopted by the Government of Macedonia in 2012. As part of the plan implementation, a heat health warning system was put in place. The system is still active and works in the period 01 May – 30 September. Its operation involves the following bodies:

  • a cross-government body (consisting of the Ministry of Health, the Institute of Public Health, the Institute of Occupational Medicine and other national relevant stakeholders) coordinating heatwave alert which is responsible for the activation of the related green (vigilance), yellow (alert/preparedness), orange (heatwave) and red (emergency) phases. It also coordinates with local stakeholders on measures to be implemented.
  • a meteorological agency, which informs the Ministry of Health about an evidence of alert levels and operationally communicates the 24–48-hour heatwave warning, and
  • a public health agency, which evaluates the effects of heatwaves in terms of defined indicators as stated in the national heatwave plan (SCORCH, 2020).

The warning system is part of the broader approach designed by the HHAP and it includes:

  • Recommendations for reducing exposure to heat inside health and social institutions (and special protection plans for the most vulnerable groups of the population);
  • A communication strategy informing citizens and people involved in the health and social sectors about protection measures to be taken during heatwaves. In particular the strategy refers to the above-mentioned recommendations;
  • Long term planning for preparedness of the health and social care systems, including: planning and training of personnel, continuous improvement of health protection and creation of new green areas;
  • Monitoring and evaluation of the plan: a recent survey (2020) was developed together with the Université Catholique de Louvain (Belgium).
  • An application for Android mobile phones in order to provide heat and health warnings in a timely manner and related recommendations to the users.
Relevance

Case developed and implemented and partially funded as a CCA measure.

Additional Details

Stakeholder Participation

The institution with overall responsibility for implementing the Heat-Health Action Plan is the Ministry of Health. Within the Ministry of Health, the Commission for Monitoring Heat-Health Consequences has been operational since July 2007, while the Climate Change and Health Commission was established in June 2009. Both commissions participated in the preparation of the HHAP and they cooperate in the implementation, monitoring and evaluation of the Plan. The Climate Change and Health Commission functions as coordinating body and it is responsible for the involvement of other institutions during the implementation of the activities outlined in the Plan. The Commission for Monitoring Heat-Health Consequences oversees practical implementation of the activities, especially those connected with the provision of timely information to the citizens and health workers. It is recommended that when necessary, people from other relevant institutions participate in this Commission and in the Plan implementation. To this regard, relevant institutions and other actors include: the Public Health Institute and Public Health Centres, the Occupational Health Institute, the Crisis Management Centre, the Hydro meteorological Institute, the Directorate for Protection and Rescue, the Departments for improving the living environment within the municipalities, the Ministry of Transport and Communications, the Ministry of Labour and Social Policy, the Ministry of Education and Science, the Macedonian Red Cross, the Media and, finally, the non-governmental sectors.

In the current implementation phase this collaborative approach has proven to work efficiently. For instance, in order to strengthen preparedness for crisis situations and climate change related emergencies, the last simulation exercise took place on 21th November 2018, in Kumanovo. The key involved institutions were the Ministry of Health, the Strumica General Hospital (an important regional hospital centre), the Emergency Medical Services, the Crisis Management Centre, the Red Cross, fire-rescue units, the Ministry of the Interior, the Ministry of Defence and the World Health Organisation. Prior to the simulation exercise some preparatory meetings were held to establish the parameters of the exercise such as expected casualties, trigger indicators for activating the emergency response plan, triage and patient traffic flow as well as the responsibilities of hospital and emergency medical services staff. The simulation allowed the authorities to test general preparedness.

Success and Limiting Factors

Lessons learned during the pilot phase of the HHAP (2009-2011) pointed out that:

  • information on climate change impacts on health needs to be translated from the scientific research domain into language and time scales relevant for policy makers
  • availability of national data on climate changes and related impacts is very important, as well as understanding major gaps in human capacity;
  • all relevant stakeholders need to be involved and that their information needs may vary.

More broadly, according to the experience of North Macedonia HHAP, strengthening health to heat-related impacts would require:

  • Maximizing synergies with existing instruments and institutions;
  • Preparing health and social care sector workforce to respond to health-related consequences of climate change and strengthening of health services to address climate-related events in a timely manner;
  • Promoting consideration of the health issues and related responses within other sectors;
  • Building capacity in the health and social care sector workforce. In this context, the Safety and Health at Work Act (Government Gazette of the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia No. 92/07) was enforced to provide the implementation of measures in the national heatwave plan to protect the health of workers during a heatwave.
Costs and Benefits

North Macedonia took part in a two-year (2009-2011) WHO project called “Protecting health from climate change”. This was a 7-countries initiative (Albania, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, the Russian Federation, Tajikistan, North Macedonia and Uzbekistan) funded by the International Climate Initiative of the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety. The overall goal of the project was to strengthen capacity in understanding and responding to the health risks of climate change as well as to develop the Heat-Health Action Plan. Within the project, a WHO study in the country showed that it is possible to compare the damage costs of the increase in disease cases and deaths that were not averted to the costs of adaptation. The annualized costs of heat-health adaptation measures were estimated at 12 million local currency units (LCU) compared to health damage costs (due to the increase in disease cases and deaths) of 170 million LCU per year (WHO, 2013).

The National Heat-Health Action Plan was endorsed by the North Macedonian Government in 2011. It is formally linked to the Climate Change Health Adaptation Strategy (2011).

Implementation Time

The Heat-Health Action Plan was adopted by the Government in 2011, following the successful piloting of specific heat-protection actions in summer 2010. As part of the plan implementation, a heat heath warning system was put in place and is still operational.

Life Time

There are no plans to revise the HHAP at this time. The heat health warning system runs every year from 1 May to 30 September. It is expected to continue operating and being updated.

Reference Information

Contact

Mihail Kochubovski
Head of Sector of Environmental Health Institute of Public Health of the Republic of North Macedonia
Str. 50 Divizija No.6 1000
Skopje
Republic of North Macedonia
E-mail: kocubov58@yahoo.com 

Reference

The Heat-Health Action Plan of North Macedonia, the Environmental Health Institute of Public Health of the Republic of North Macedonia and WHO Regional Office for Europe

Published in Climate-ADAPT Jun 07 2016   -   Last Modified in Climate-ADAPT Jun 04 2021


Please contact us for any other enquiry on this Case Study or to share a new Case Study (email climate.adapt@eea.europa.eu)

Document Actions