Accueil Base de données Études de cas Programme Paris-Oasis scolaire, France

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
The European Climate and Health Observatory is undergoing reconstruction until June 2024 to improve its performance. We apologise for any possible disturbance to the content and functionality of the platform.
Études de cas

Programme Paris-Oasis scolaire, France

Programme Paris-Oasis scolaire, France

Après les vagues de chaleur dévastatrices de 2003 et 2017 et à la lumière de projections qui prédisent l’augmentation de la fréquence et de la durée des vagues de chaleur à l’avenir, la Ville de Paris s’est lancée dans le développement d’une série d’initiatives pour faire face à cette menace en reconnaissant que les différents groupes sociaux et les différents quartiers de la ville présentent des vulnérabilités inégales. Après avoir identifié le niveau élevé d’imperméabilisation des sols et le manque d’accès aux espaces verts frais comme quelques-uns des principaux facteurs spatiaux à l’origine d’une vulnérabilité accrue aux vagues de chaleur, Paris a développé le programme de verdissement des cours d’école «OASIS — Openness, Adaptation, Sensibilisation, Innovation et Social Ties», un exemple d’initiative d’adaptation juste qui s’adresse aux populations les plus vulnérables. Le programme vise à transformer les cours d’écoles à Paris en oasis vertes accessibles à la fois aux écoliers et aux communautés locales. De cette façon, un endroit frais pour la plupart des groupes vulnérables aux vagues de chaleur est fourni, à savoir les enfants, mais aussi les personnes âgées, les personnes en mauvaise santé ou les mères avec des bébés. Les cours d’école, qui dans la Ville de Paris sont généralement des espaces fermés, ont été choisies comme espaces verts potentiels en raison de leur présence et de leur répartition égale dans tous les quartiers et de la proximité des communautés potentiellement vulnérables. Dans le cadre du projet OASIS (Urban Innovative Actions) OASIS, dix cours pilotes à Paris ont été transformées en oasis vertes, et des recommandations ont été fournies pour guider la transformation d’autres cours d’école. Le programme de verdissement de la cour d’école OASIS vise à améliorer cette approche à d’autres cours scolaires, en capitalisant sur les résultats et les recommandations de la phase pilote. La co-conception de solutions avec les étudiants, les enseignants et le personnel scolaire, ainsi que la coordination institutionnelle entre les différents départements de la Ville ont contribué à atteindre des objectifs multiples et à répondre à des attentes différentes.

Description de l'étude de cas

Défis

Paris devrait faire face à une augmentation moyenne de la température de 2 °C à 4 °C dans les prochaines décennies en raison des impacts du changement climatique. En conséquence, la capitale doit se préparer à faire face à plusieurs risques, notamment les vagues de chaleur, les sécheresses, les tempêtes violentes, les inondations et la pression sur ses ressources en eau. La vague de chaleur de 2003 a causé environ 15 000 morts excédentaires en France dont près de 1 100 à Paris. Malgré les nombreux efforts des autorités, la vague de chaleur de juin 2017 a causé 580 morts supplémentaires. Pour la première fois en 2017, la vague de chaleur s’est produite en juin, pendant l’école, et ce type d’événement est susceptible d’augmenter en fréquence, durée et intensité (Stratégie de résilience de Paris, 2017). L’adaptation des infrastructures à de tels changements est essentielle. Les solutions doivent s’attaquer à l’effet des îlots de chaleur urbains, aux impacts de la chaleur sur l’environnement (en particulier sur la pollution de l’air) et aux effets des sécheresses extrêmes et de la rareté de l’eau à long terme. Dans ce contexte, les groupes les plus vulnérables sont une priorité: enfants, personnes âgées et sans-abri.

Actuellement, Paris est l’une des villes avec la plus forte densité de population et chaque résident du centre de Paris n’a en moyenne qu’environ 6 m2 d’espaces verts. En raison de la densité de construction de la ville, des matériaux de construction imperméables et des activités humaines, Paris est devenu un îlot de chaleur urbain (UHI) plus chaud que les zones rurales environnantes, ce qui amplifie l’effet des vagues de chaleur. Comme contre-mesure efficace, le projet OASIS s’est tourné vers les écoles de la capitale qui ont un total combiné de 73 hectares de surface asphaltée, pavée ou cimentée qui peut être transformée en espaces plus verts.

Objectifs

Le programme OASIS sur la cour d’école s’attaque au problème des vagues de chaleur en augmentant les espaces verts dans la ville. Les objectifs spécifiques du projet de cour d’école OASIS étaient les suivants:

  • réduire l’effet de l’îlot de chaleur local
  • fournir aux élèves un environnement d’apprentissage sain et stimulant
  • sensibiliser les résidents au risque de changement climatique
  • créer des lieux frais disponibles pour les populations les plus vulnérables et
  • créer de nombreux espaces de rencontre pour stimuler la convivialité et la solidarité
Solutions

En 2018, la Ville de Paris, aux côtés des acteurs locaux, a testé une première approche pour piloter le concept OASIS: transformer des cours d’école asphaltées, pavées ou cimentées en «oasis» vertes offrant des endroits frais et agréables où les personnes les plus vulnérables peuvent rester et se rencontrer.

À la suite des premiers projets pilotes et des enseignements préliminaires tirés, la Ville de Paris a demandé à bénéficier d’un financement du Fonds européen de développement régional — Initiative d’actions innovatrices urbaines (UIA) afin de former un consortium interdisciplinaire et d’assurer ainsi la faisabilité, l’applicabilité et l’efficacité de l’approche OASIS envisagée. Dans le cadre du projet UIA-OASIS, quatre jardins d’enfants, quatre écoles élémentaires et deux collèges ont été sélectionnés comme projets pilotes et transformés en cours d’école vertes grâce à des techniques innovantes, y compris des solutions fondées sur la nature. La sélection initiale de ces cours d’école reposait sur de multiples facteurs, y compris des critères sociaux, environnementaux et techniques. Plus précisément, le consortium comprenait: des critères sociaux pour s’assurer que les écoles sont également situées dans des zones plus vulnérables (par exemple, les ménages à faible revenu ou un pourcentage élevé de réfugiés); les critères environnementaux tenant compte de l’évaluation locale du microclimat, y compris l’effet des îlots de chaleur urbains;  et des critères techniques tels que l’urgence de reconstruire l’infrastructure et l’équipement des cours scolaires. L’un des facteurs les plus importants pour la sélection a été que les cours d’école doivent être directement accessibles depuis la rue pour permettre une ouverture au public vulnérable comme «île cool».

L’objectif de transformer les cours d’école en espaces plus verts et plus frais a été atteint:

  1. en augmentant les zones végétales dans les cours scolaires, c’est-à-dire par la plantation d’arbres, de pelouses, de vergers, de potagers
  2. en introduisant des éléments naturels ou de nouveaux produits et matériaux éco-innovants; g. utilisant des substrats à faible empreinte carbone de couleur claire avec une porosité modulaire pour les terrains des cours d’école qui devraient être beaucoup plus froids
  3. en utilisant l’eau de pluie pour mouiller le sol (renforcer l’effet de refroidissement du sol par évapotranspiration) ainsi que pour les jeux d’eau ou le jardinage scolaire
  4. en utilisant des installations artificielles supplémentaires pour refroidir les écoles et réduire leur consommation d’énergie comme la climatisation solaire.

Le projet OASIS comprenait une phase d’évaluation afin d’en évaluer l’impact et d’élaborer un cadre qui pourrait être étendu dans toute la ville. Une équipe de recherche de Sciences Po a évalué les impacts sociaux au moyen d’observations et d’enquêtes. Météo-France et l’Institut interdisciplinaire de recherche sur l’énergie de Paris ont mené une évaluation avant et après le climat sur la base des données recueillies par les stations météorologiques situées sur le terrain scolaire.

Suite à la transformation réussie des dix cours pilotes, un ensemble de recommandations et de plans ont été élaborés pour d’autres cours d’école. Jusqu’à présent (2022), 75 cours d’école ont déjà été transformées à Paris.  La ville s’engage à développer une méthodologie normalisée adaptable pour transformer les cours d’école recouvertes d’asphalte en espaces verts pour tous. Pour attirer l’attention sur les espaces verts nouvellement accessibles, un certain nombre d’événements tels que des activités de jardinage ont été organisés, où les familles locales et les résidents de tous âges ont été invités à participer ou simplement profiter de la cour verte nouvellement transformée. Pendant les heures d’ouverture, un garde de la ville supervise l’endroit pour assurer la sécurité. Dans le prolongement de cette phase pilote d’ouverture des cours scolaires au public, la ville s’emploie à obtenir les ressources humaines et financières nécessaires à la mise en place de ce programme à long terme et à le reproduire idéalement dans toutes les cours d’écoles publiques de la ville.

Pertinence

Cas développé et mis en œuvre en tant que mesure d’adaptation au changement climatique.

Détails supplémentaires

Participation des parties prenantes

Les cours pilotes de l’UIA — OASIS ont été transformées en espaces plus verts grâce à un processus de co-conception avec un large engagement des parties prenantes mené par CAUE 75 (Conseil de l’architecture, de l’urbanisme et de l’environnement de Paris). Le processus d’engagement des parties prenantes comprenait les étapes suivantes:

  1. Ateliers de sensibilisation et de co-conception avec les étudiants: Six ateliers sur mesure ont été organisés dans chaque école, abordant plusieurs sujets tels que le changement climatique, la biodiversité et la gestion de l’eau. Les différentes utilisations possibles des cours d’école ont également été discutées ainsi que l’état actuel de la cour d’école et la potentialité du projet OASIS dans la transformation des cours d’école en un espace plus vert. Les élèves ont été invités à partager leurs idées sur la façon de transformer les cours d’école.
  2. Consultation avec la communauté éducative: Sur la base du travail des enfants, 3 ateliers avec les enseignants, le personnel scolaire et post-scolaire ont été organisés dans le but de développer davantage le projet de transformation et de définir un plan de travail.
  3. Soutien de la Ville de Paris: Les départements de la Ville de Paris, en charge du programme OASIS, ont ensuite été invités à chaque école pour au moins trois sessions de travail dans le but de finaliser le projet visant à trouver un compromis entre les souhaits des écoles et les contraintes techniques. À la suite de ces séances de travail, des plans de projet détaillés ont été élaborés. Pour la transformation des cours scolaires, la Ville de Paris a réalisé une collaboration interministérielle: le Département de l’Environnement, le Département de la Santé et de l’assainissement ainsi que le Département de l’Education ont travaillé ensemble afin d’alimenter les projets tout au long du processus.
  4. Ateliers participatifs, guide d’entretien et plan de gestion: Même après la transformation des cours scolaires, le projet UIA-OASIS se poursuit puisque les cours sont «vivantes» et doivent être prises en charge. Des ateliers participatifs sont organisés pour permettre l’achèvement de l’aménagement paysager, pour continuer à planter avec les enfants et pour ancrer la propriété de l’école de la cour de l’école avec des actions concrètes. La Ville de Paris a élaboré un guide d’entretien proposant des conseils sur l’arrosage et l’entretien des installations afin que les écoles puissent s’occuper de leur cour d’école et l’utiliser comme outil éducatif pour leurs élèves. Un plan de gestion a également été fourni aux écoles.

Ce processus d’engagement donne la propriété à ceux qui connaissent et utilisent le plus ces lieux, tout en les éduquant et en sensibilisant les gens aux questions de durabilité et de respect de l’environnement. Les résidents locaux ont été invités à contribuer à la coordination des activités extrascolaires et à l’entretien des nouveaux espaces communautaires.

Pour l’ouverture des cours d’école au public, avec le soutien de l’ONG «Ligue de l’éducation», un effort particulier a été fait pour atteindre tous les habitants des quartiers, y compris les personnes socialement vulnérables, en distribuant des dépliants également dans des structures qui fournissent des services sociaux, pour inviter les gens à participer aux manifestations d’ouverture telles que les activités de jardinage.

Facteurs de réussite et facteurs limitants

Grâce à l’approche innovante et au succès initial des projets pilotes, le programme OASIS a élaboré un ensemble de recommandations et de plans pour d’autres cours scolaires dans le but d’étendre le programme dans toute la ville. La Ville de Paris s’est engagée à développer une méthodologie standardisée adaptable pour transformer les cours d’école recouverts d’asphalte en espaces verts, ludiques et accueillants pour tous.

La participation des élèves, des enseignants et du personnel scolaire à la conception conjointe des cours d’école a contribué au succès de l’initiative qui a été en mesure de répondre aux attentes de la plupart des communautés. La collaboration entre les différents départements de la ville (santé, environnement, éducation) a favorisé la mise en œuvre du projet en répondant à des objectifs multiples grâce à une approche intégrée qui a examiné conjointement les aspects environnementaux, la santé des personnes vulnérables et les besoins d’éducation communautaire.

Un facteur limitant qui peut entraver la mise en œuvre intégrale de l’initiative est la crainte d’attaques terroristes que la ville a subies au cours de la dernière décennie, ce qui entraîne de fortes exigences en matière de sécurité. Pendant toutes les heures d’ouverture, les gardes de la Ville de Paris sont présents dans les cours scolaires à un coût qu’il ne faut pas sous-estimer. En outre, certaines parties de la population voisine se sont également opposées à l’ouverture d’une partie de la cour d’école le week-end en raison du bruit causé par les enfants. Le nettoyage des cours d’école après leur utilisation doit être assuré, ce qui augmente encore le coût de l’initiative.

Coûts et bénéfices

Le programme de verdissement de la cour scolaire OASIS est cofinancé par différentes entités dont la Ville de Paris, l’État et l’Agence de gestion de l’eau Seine Normandie et s’élève à environ 9 millions d’euros chaque année pour la transformation d’environ 25 chantiers scolaires, y compris les coûts de surveillance et d’entretien. Les cours pilotes de l’UIA-OASIS (2018-2022) ont été financées par le Fonds européen de développement régional —Actions innovatrices urbaines (FEDER-UIA), un programme qui fournit des projets innovants avec des ressources pour relever les défis urbains d’aujourd’hui. La contribution FEDER-UIA s’élevait à 4 995 793,16 EUR.

Une cour d’école transformée dans des espaces plus verts accessibles aux élèves et au public offre aux personnes les plus vulnérables (par exemple les enfants, les personnes âgées) des endroits plus frais et agréables où séjourner, en particulier pendant les vagues de chaleur. Les cours d’école transformées aident à tempérer localement les vagues de chaleur et peuvent être utilisées comme «îles froides» lors de tels événements. Certaines des cours d’école ont déjà été rendues accessibles à la population, y compris aux groupes vulnérables.

Un effet secondaire positif du projet est que les cours plus vertes deviennent des lieux d’apprentissage en plein air pour les enfants qui contribuent à leur sensibilisation aux sujets environnementaux. En outre, le verdissement des cours d’école améliore la capacité d’infiltration locale du sol par rapport aux zones asphaltées qui peuvent avoir un effet de drainage positif lors de fortes pluies.

Le programme de verdissement de la cour d’école OASIS s’inscrit dans le cadre de la Stratégie de résilience de la Ville de Paris («Stratégie de Résilience de Paris») en tant qu’action 10 au titre de l’objectif A: «Une ville construite et développée pour relever les défis du XXIe siècle». En outre, la Ville de Paris a combiné le projet UIA-OASIS avec une autre initiative innovante, la «Ville à 15 minutes», un nouveau concept qui prévoit que les services urbains essentiels devraient être accessibles à 15 minutes à pied ou à vélo des maisons des résidents. Actuellement, cet effort conjoint a conduit à l’ouverture de l’accès à près de 50 cours d’école parascolaires, y compris la plupart des cours d’école de l’UIA-OASIS.

Temps de mise en œuvre

Le projet UIA-OASIS s’étend de 2019 à 2021. Le programme OASIS de verdissement des cours d’école sera progressivement mis en œuvre pour améliorer l’approche OASIS.

Durée de vie

Les solutions adoptées devraient avoir une durée de vie de plus de 50 ans avec une maintenance régulière.

Informations de référence

Contacter

Raphaëlle Thiollier, Project manager: raphaelle.thiollier@paris.fr

Maria Sitzoglou, UIA Expert: maria.sitzoglou@gmail.com

Référence
RichTextValue object. (Did you mean .raw or .output?)

Publié dans Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Dernière modification dans Climate-ADAPT Mar 07 2024


Veuillez nous contacter pour toute autre enquête sur cette étude de cas ou pour partager une nouvelle étude de cas (email climat.adapt@eea.europa.eu a >)

Actions sur le document

Home Database Case studies Paris Oasis Schoolyard Programme, France
Case studies

Paris Oasis Schoolyard Programme, France

Paris Oasis Schoolyard Programme, France

After the devastating 2003 and 2017 heatwaves and in light of projections that predict increasing frequency and duration of heatwaves in the future, the City of Paris embarked on developing a range of initiatives to address this threat recognising that different social groups and different areas of the city have unequal vulnerabilities. Having identified the high level of soil sealing and lack of access to green cool spaces as some of the key spatial factors behind increased vulnerability to heatwaves, Paris developed the “OASIS – Openness, Adaptation, Sensitisation, Innovation and Social Ties” schoolyard greening programme, an example of just adaptation initiative that addresses the most vulnerable population. The programme aims to transform schoolyards in Paris into green oases accessible to both the school pupils and local communities. This way, a cool place for most of the vulnerable groups to heatwaves is provided, namely children, but also the elderly, people in poor health or mothers with babies. Schoolyards, which in the City of Paris are typically sealed spaces, were chosen as potential green cool areas due to their presence and equal distribution in all neighbourhoods and the proximity to potentially vulnerable communities. Within the Urban Innovative Actions (UIA) OASIS project, ten pilot schoolyards in Paris have been transformed into green oases,  and recommendations were provided to guide the transformation of other schoolyards. The city’s OASIS schoolyard greening programme aims to upscale this approach to other schoolyards, capitalising on results and recommendations of the pilot phase. Co-design of solutions together with students, teachers and school staff, as well as the institutional coordination between different City departments contributed to achieve multiple purposes and meet different expectations.

Case Study Description

Challenges

Paris is expected to face an average temperature increase by 2°C to 4°C in the coming decades due to the impacts of climate change. As a result, the capital needs to prepare to face several risks including heat waves, droughts, violent storms, floods and pressure on its water resources. The heat wave in 2003 caused around 15,000 excess deaths in France including nearly 1,100 in Paris. Despite the numerous efforts of the authorities, the heat wave of June 2017 caused an additional 580 deaths. For the first time in 2017, the heat wave occurred in June, during school time, and this type of event is likely to increase in frequency, duration and intensity (Resilience Strategy of Paris, 2017). The adaptation of infrastructure to such changes is essential. The solutions need to address the urban heat island effect, the impacts of heat on the environment (in particular on air pollution) and the effects of extreme droughts and water scarcity in the long term. In this context, the most vulnerable groups are a priority: children, elderly and homeless people.

Currently, Paris is one of the cities with the highest population density and each resident of central Paris has averagely only around 6m2 of green space. Due the city’s building density, impervious building materials, and human activities, Paris has become a so-called urban heat island (UHI) that is hotter than the surrounding rural areas, which amplifies the effect of heatwaves. As an effective countermeasure, the OASIS project has turned to the capital’s schools which have a combined total of 73 hectares of asphalted, paved or cemented surface that can be turned into greener spaces.

Objectives

The OASIS schoolyard programme addresses the problem of heat waves by increasing green spaces in the city. The specific objectives of the OASIS schoolyard project were to:

  • reduce the local heat island effect
  • provide pupils with a healthy and stimulating learning environment
  • educate residents about the risk of climate change
  • create cool places available to the most vulnerable populations and
  • create numerous meeting spaces to spur conviviality and solidarity
Solutions

In 2018, the City of Paris alongside with local stakeholders, tested a first approach for piloting the OASIS concept: transforming asphalted, paved or cemented schoolyards into green “oasis” offering cool and pleasant places where especially most vulnerable people can stay and meet.

Following the first pilots and the preliminary lessons learnt, the City of Paris applied to receive funding from the European Regional Development Fund – Urban Innovative Actions Initiative (UIA) in order to form an interdisciplinary consortium and thus ensure the feasibility, applicability and effectiveness of the envisioned OASIS approach. Within the frame of the UIA-OASIS project, four kindergartens, four elementary schools and two middle schools were selected as pilot projects and transformed into green schoolyards through innovative techniques including nature-based solutions. The initial selection of these schoolyards was based on multiple factors including social, environmental and technical criteria. More specifically, the  consortium included: social criteria to make sure that schools are also located in areas with higher vulnerability (e.g. low income households or high percentage of refugees); environmental criteria considering local microclimate assessment including urban heat island effect;  and technical criteria such as the urgency for reconstructing the schoolyards’ infrastructure and equipment. One of the most important factors for the selection was that schoolyards must be directly accessible from the street to allow for an opening to the vulnerable public as “cool island”.

The goal to transform the schoolyards into greener and cooler spaces was achieved:

  1. by increasing the vegetated areas in the schoolyards i.e. through the planting of trees, lawns, orchards, vegetable gardens
  2. by introducing natural elements or new eco-innovative products and materials; g. using a light-coloured, low carbon footprint substrates with a modular porosity for the schoolyards grounds which are expected to be much cooler
  3. by using rainwater to wet the ground (enhancing the ground’s cooling effect via evapotranspiration) as well as for water games or school gardening)
  4. by using additional artificial installations to cool down schools and reducing their energy consumption such as solar air-conditioning.

Following the successfully transformation of the ten pilot schoolyards, a set of recommendations and plans have been produced for other schoolyards. So far (2022), 75 schoolyards have been already transformed in Paris.  The city is committed to develop a standardised adaptable methodology for transforming asphalt-covered schoolyards into green spaces for everyone. To attract attention to the newly accessible green spaces, a number of events such as gardening activities were organised, where local families and residents of all ages were invited to participate or simply enjoy the newly transformed green schoolyard. During the opening hours a guard from the city is supervising the place to ensure safety. Following up this pilot phase of opening the schoolyards to the public, the city is working on securing the human and financial resources for establishing this program in the long-term and ideally replicating it to all city’s public schoolyards.

Relevance

Case developed and implemented as a CCA (Climate Change Adaptation) Measure.

Additional Details

Stakeholder Participation

The UIA – OASIS pilot schoolyards were transformed into greener spaces through a co-design process with extensive stakeholder engagement which was led by CAUE 75 (Council of architecture, urbanism and environment of Paris). The stakeholder engagement process included the following steps:

  1. Awareness raising and co-design workshops with students: 6 tailored workshops were conducted in each school, addressing several topics such as climate change, biodiversity and water management. The different possible uses of schoolyards were also discussed as well as the current state of the schoolyard and the potentiality of the OASIS project in transforming schoolyards into a greener space. Students were invited to share their ideas about how to transform schoolyards.
  2. Consultation with the educational community: Based on the children's work, 3 workshops with teachers, school and after-school staff were performed with the scope of further developing the transformation project and defining a work plan.
  3. Support from the City of Paris: The departments of the City of Paris, in charge of the OASIS programme, were then invited to each school for at least three working sessions with the aim to finalise the project seeking a compromise between the schools wishes and the technical constraints. Following these working sessions, detailed project plans were developed. For the transformation of the schoolyards, the City of Paris achieved a cross-department collaboration were the Department of Environment, The Department of Health and sanitation as well as the Department of Education worked together in order to feed the projects throughout the process.
  4. Participatory workshops, maintenance guide and management plan: Even after the transformation of the schoolyards, the UIA-OASIS project continues since the schoolyards are “alive” and need to be taken care of. Participatory workshops are held to allow for the completion of the landscaping, to continue planting with the children and to anchor the school's ownership of the schoolyard with concrete actions. The City of Paris has produced a maintenance guide offering advice on watering and plant maintenance so that schools can take care of their schoolyard themselves and use it as an educational tool for their students. A management plan was also provided to the schools.

This engagement process gives ownership to those that know and use these places the most, while educating them and spreading awareness on matters of sustainability and environmental mindfulness. Local residents were invited to contribute to the coordination of after-school activities and to the maintenance of the new, communal spaces.

For the opening of the schoolyards to the public, with the support of the NGO “League of Education”, a special effort was made to reach all residents in the neighbourhoods, including socially vulnerable people, by handing out flyers also in structures that provide social services, to invite people to participate in the opening events such as gardening activities.

Success and Limiting Factors

Thanks to the innovative approach and initial success of the pilot projects, the OASIS schoolyard programme has produced a set of recommendations and plans for other schoolyards with the goal to scale up the programme across the city. The City of Paris has committed itself to developing a standardised adaptable methodology for transforming asphalt-covered schoolyards into green, playful and welcoming spaces for everyone.

The involvement of students, teachers and school-staff in the co-design of schoolyards contributed to the success of the initiative that was able to meet most community’s expectations. The collaboration between different city departments (health, environment, education) favoured the implementation of the project by meeting multiple purposes through an integrated approach that jointly considered the environmental aspects, the health of vulnerable people and the community education needs.

A limiting factor that can hinder the full implementation of the initiative is the fear of terror attacks that the city has been experiencing in the past decade that results in strong security requirements. During all opening hours, guards from the City of Paris are present in the schoolyards at a cost that should not be underestimated. Moreover, there have been also opposition from some parts of the neighbouring population to open some of the schoolyard at the weekend because of the noise made by children. Cleaning of schoolyards after their use must be ensured, further increasing the cost of the initiative.

Costs and Benefits

The OASIS Schoolyard greening programme is co-funded by different entities including the City of Paris, the State (“Plan de relance”) and the Water management Agency Seine Normandie and amounts to approximately 9 million euro each year for the transformation of around 25 schoolyards including costs for surveillance and maintenance. The UIA-OASIS pilot schoolyards (2018-2022) were funded through the European Regional Development Fund’s-Urban Innovative Actions (ERDF-UIA), a program that provides innovative projects with resources to address today’s urban challenges. The ERDF-UIA contribution amounted to EUR 4,995,793.16.

Transformed schoolyard in greener areas accessible by students and by the public provide the most vulnerable people (e.g. children, elderly people) with cooler and pleasant places where to stay especially during heat waves. The transformed schoolyards help to locally temper heat waves and can be used as “cool islands” during such events. Some of the schoolyards have already been made accessible to the population, including vulnerable groups.

A positive side effect of the project is that greener courtyards become places of outdoor learning for children that contribute to their awareness on environmental topics. In addition, the greening of the schoolyards improves the local infiltration capacity of the ground compared to the asphalted areas which can have a positive drainage effect during heavy rainfall events.

The OASIS schoolyard greening programme is part of the Resilience Strategy of the City of Paris (“Stratégie de Résilience de Paris”)  as action 10 under objective A: “A city built and developed to meet the challenges of the 21st century”. Moreover, the City of Paris  has combined the UIA-OASIS project with another innovative initiative, the “15 minutes City”, a new concept that foresees that essential urban services should be reachable in a 15 min walking or cycling distance from residents’ homes. Currently, this joint effort has led to the opening of access to almost 50 schoolyards after-school hours including most of the UIA-OASIS schoolyards.

Implementation Time

The UIA-OASIS project run from 2019 to 2021. The OASIS greening schoolyard programme will gradually be implemented to upscale the OASIS approach.

Life Time

The adopted solutions are expected to have an a lifetime of more than 50 years with regular maintenance.

Reference Information

Contact

Raphaëlle Thiollier, Project manager: raphaelle.thiollier@paris.fr

Maria Sitzoglou, UIA Expert: maria.sitzoglou@gmail.com

Reference

Flax, L., Altes, R. K., Kupers, R., & Mons, B. (2020). Greening schoolyards—An urban resilience perspective. Cities106, 1028-1090.

Paris resilience strategy (in French): https://cdn.paris.fr/paris/2020/02/26/f362e908e37eee5d2c3bd0a9fbf66935.ai

 

Published in Climate-ADAPT Jun 24 2022   -   Last Modified in Climate-ADAPT Jul 01 2022


Please contact us for any other enquiry on this Case Study or to share a new Case Study (email climate.adapt@eea.europa.eu)

Document Actions