Startseite Datenbank Fallstudien EUA-Zuschüsse zur Unterstützung der Stadt Bratislava bei der Umsetzung von Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
We are currently facing a technical issue with the website which affects the display of data. The full functionality will be restored as soon as possible. We appreciate your understanding. If you have any questions or issues, please contact EEA Helpdesk (helpdesk@eea.europa.eu).
Fallstudien

EUA-Zuschüsse zur Unterstützung der Stadt Bratislava bei der Umsetzung von Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel

EUA-Zuschüsse zur Unterstützung der Stadt Bratislava bei der Umsetzung von Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel

Bratislava hat Mittel aus „EEA Grants and Norway Grants“ (im Folgenden „EWR Grants“) für ein städtisches Klimaanpassungsprojekt erhalten. Das Projekt „Bratislava bereitet sich auf den Klimawandel vor“ implementiert Maßnahmen zur Stärkung der Widerstandsfähigkeit der Stadt Bratislava gegenüber den nachteiligen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels, insbesondere bei starken Regenfällen und Hitze. Zu diesen Maßnahmen gehören die Baumpflanzung, Begrünung von Dächern und Regenwasserrückhalteeinrichtungen. Die Vorteile gelten in erster Linie für die am stärksten gefährdeten Einwohner Bratislavas: ältere Menschen und Kinder. Das Projekt in Höhe von 3,3 Mio. EUR wird zu 85 % aus EWR-Zuschüssen finanziert. Die restlichen 15 % stammen aus dem Stadtbüro und zwei teilnehmenden Stadtbezirken. Die wichtigsten Projektpartner sind das Büro der Stadt Bratislava, die Stadtbezirke Nové Mesto und Petržalka sowie der norwegische Partner COWI. Aber auch andere Akteure und Wissenspartner (NGOs, Comenius-Universität) sind beteiligt, um den Wissensaustausch und die Koordinierung von Maßnahmen sicherzustellen.

Beschreibung der Fallstudien

Herausforderungen

In Bratislava (Slowakei) wird der Klimawandel vor allem durch den erwarteten Anstieg der Durchschnittstemperatur, mehr Hitzewellen und lange Dürreperioden einerseits und extremere Niederschläge, die zu einem erhöhten Risiko lokaler Überschwemmungen führen, zu spüren sein.

Ziele

Die Stadt Bratislava hat eine Strategie zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel ausgearbeitet und gebilligt und einen Anpassungsaktionsplan ausgearbeitet. Dieser Plan fördert die Umsetzung der Anpassung an den Klimawandel durch verschiedene Arten von Anpassungsmaßnahmen (mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf Wärme- und Regenwassermanagement) und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Entscheidungsträgern, Planern, dem Privatsektor und lokalen Gemeinschaften. Die wichtigsten Zielgruppen sind die Einwohner der Stadt Bratislava, insbesondere die schutzbedürftigen Gruppen (ältere Menschen und Kinder). Das Projekt „Bratislava bereitet sich auf den Klimawandel vor“ trägt praktisch zur Umsetzung der Strategie bei und realisiert mehrere Lösungen, um Hitzestress und Probleme bei der Regenwassereinleitung abzubauen.

Lösungen

Die „EWR Grants and Norway Grants“ stellen den Beitrag Islands, Liechtensteins und Norwegens zur Verringerung der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Ungleichheiten und zur Stärkung der bilateralen Beziehungen zu 16 EU-Ländern in Mittel- und Südeuropa und dem Baltikum dar. Island, Liechtenstein und Norwegen sind nicht Mitglied der EU, sondern Mitglieder des Abkommens über den Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum (EWR). Diese Art von EWR-Finanzhilfe wird 4 Mio. EUR auf Projekte verteilen, die durch eine Vielzahl von Maßnahmen wirtschaftlich effiziente und ökologisch nachhaltige Anpassungsmaßnahmen an die Risiken des Klimawandels finden sollen. Der Mindestzuschussbetrag beläuft sich auf 1 Mio. EUR. Beihilfefähig sind Städte oder Stadtteile mit mehr als 20.000 Einwohnern und einer Gemeindefläche von mindestens 300 Hektar. Bratislava hat erfolgreich Fördermittel für sein Projekt „Bratislava bereitet sich auf den Klimawandel“ zur Finanzierung von Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel beantragt.

Anpassungsmaßnahmen zielen auf die Schaffung von mehr Grünflächen und durchlässigen Flächen in einer Reihe verschiedener Teilprojekte in der ganzen Stadt ab. Für alle Teilprojekte organisierte die Stadt Bratislava den Umsetzungsprozess (Planung, Verhandlungen mit der Förderorganisation, Gestaltung). Die Teilprojekte sind teilweise noch im Gange und sollten 2017 abgeschlossen werden. Die Teilprojekte sind:

  • Sanierung eines Platzes (Námestie Hraničiarov) im Stadtbezirk Petržalka der Stadt Bratislava. Auf einem Platz von etwa 1 ha wird der Bürgersteig durch Grasflächen, Bäume und Blumenbeete ersetzt. Ein Wasserfang- und Bewässerungssystem gewährleistet die Widerstandsfähigkeit gegenüber Trockenheit. Das Projekt wird vom Stadtbezirk Petržalka durchgeführt, der – mit 100.000 Einwohnern – einer der größeren und am dichtesten besiedelten Bezirke Bratislavas ist.
  • Ein begrüntes Dach von 1.000 Quadratmetern Größe auf einem Pflegeheim für ältere Menschen im Besitz der Stadt Bratislava. Die Hauptfunktion besteht darin, die Einleitung von überschüssigem Regenwasser zu puffern.
  • Auf zwei wichtigen Plätzen im Stadtzentrum – im historischen Zentrum des Hauptplatzes und in der größeren Altstadt der Námestie Slobody (die von Gebäuden der Slowakischen Technischen Universität und Regierungsgebäuden begrenzt wird) wurden Bäume gepflanzt, um an heißen Tagen Schatten zu spenden. Dieses sehr sichtbare Ergebnis ist nach sehr langen Verhandlungen mit vielen Abteilungen in der Stadt realisiert worden, die Argumente über den historischen Charakter der Plätze, archäologische Fragen usw. zu überwinden.
  • Zwei von Bäumen gesäumte Alleen wurden realisiert, die kühle Korridore bieten, die wichtige große Straßen in der Altstadt verbinden. Einer besteht aus 15, der andere aus 45 großen Bäumen. Das Projekt wurde von der Stadt umgesetzt.
  • In der Svoradova Straße, in einem Gebiet ohne grüne öffentliche Plätze, wird ein ca. 1.000 Quadratmeter großer Park realisiert. Es wird eine Vielzahl von Wasserrückhaltemaßnahmen (nachhaltige Entwässerungssysteme und unterirdische Regenwasserspeicher) enthalten, die von der Altstadt durchgeführt werden.
  • Nové Mesto Bezirk war historisch ein industrialisiertes Gebiet mit Lebensmittelverarbeitungsfabriken und chemischer Industrie. Heute werden die Brachflächen in Mehrfamilienhäuser umgewandelt. Das ehemalige Velodrom (ca. 3 ha) wird revitalisiert und in ein multifunktionales Freizeitgebiet umgewandelt und eine neue Grünfläche für die Bewohner (auf einer ehemaligen Kastanienplantage) geschaffen. Die neu entwickelten Gebiete werden verschiedene Freizeitelemente für die Bewohner und ihre Kinder enthalten, darunter Spielplätze und sichtbare Wasserflüsse. Der Bezirk Nové Mesto wird die Teilprojekte umsetzen.
  • Im Bratislavaer Waldpark – einem angelegten Landschaftspark aus dem 19. Jahrhundert – werden bestehende Wasserreservoirs eines der wenigen verbleibenden Bäche aus dem Male Karpaty-Gebirge revitalisiert. Diese sind aus Sicht des Brandschutzes der Wälder und Umgebung wichtig, unterstützen aber auch die lokale Artenvielfalt und können überschüssiges Regenwasser in Zeiten starker Regenfälle aufnehmen, die sonst in die Stadt fließen würden.

Das Projekt „Bratislava bereitet sich auf den Klimawandel vor“ umfasst auch ein Förderprogramm für kleine Projekte zur Unterstützung nachhaltiger Entwässerungssysteme. Insgesamt werden 50 000 EUR für kleine Projekte bis zu maximal 1,000 EUR pro Projekt zur Verfügung gestellt. Förderfähige Antragsteller sind private Hausbesitzer, NGOs und Unternehmen. Die Finanzhilfe deckt höchstens 50 % der Gesamtkosten für die Durchführung kleiner Projekte ab. Es wird erwartet, dass diese für Wasserreservoirs, Regenwassergärten, kleine Gründächer, Anpassung von Gehwegen, Verwendung von durchlässigen Materialien usw. verwendet werden. Die Anträge werden vom Lenkungsausschuss des Projekts bewertet, bestehend aus dem Büro des Chefarchitekten, dem Department of Strategies and Projects und dem Department of Environment.

Relevanz

Case developed and implemented as a Climate Change Adaptation Measure.

Zusätzliche Details

Stakeholderbeteiligung

Bratislava besteht aus 17 unabhängigen Stadtbezirken, und das Stadtbüro Bratislava bietet die Gesamtkoordinierung. Die Stadtverwaltung Bratislava hat die Stadtbezirke gefragt, ob und wie sie beteiligt werden möchten und welche Teilprojekte in diesen Bezirken relevant wären. Neben den Stadtbezirken wurde eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Regionalen Naturschutzverband Bratislava, der Wassergesellschaft Bratislava, dem Stadtkomitee der Slowakischen Naturschutzunion, dem Stadtwald in Bratislava, der Comenius-Universität in Bratislava und der Fakultät für Naturwissenschaften gesucht, um sie in die Pläne einzubeziehen. Der norwegische Partner COWI war aufgrund seiner Erfahrung auf diesem Gebiet beteiligt und betonte den Geist der EWR-Finanzhilfen in Bezug auf die internationale Zusammenarbeit.

Einige Interessenträger sind direkt finanziell beteiligt (wie weiter unten beschrieben), da sie Haushaltsmittel aus dem Zuschuss erhalten und einige eigene Investitionen einbringen (in Höhe von 15 % des Gesamtbudgets). Andere Interessenträger sind daran beteiligt, Wissen zu vermitteln und durchgängige Anpassungsmaßnahmen in umfassendere Pläne umzusetzen, z. B. in den Bereichen Wasser- und Naturmanagement.

Akteure, die direkt finanziell beteiligt sind

  • Stadtbüro Bratislava. Bietet das Gesamtmanagement und die Publizität des Projekts. Die Koordination des Projekts „Bratislava bereitet sich auf den Klimawandel“ wird von einem Lenkungsausschuss durchgeführt, der aus einem Vorsitzenden (dem Hauptarchitekten der Stadt) und einer Reihe von Mitgliedern besteht, die Vertreter verschiedener Abteilungen des Rathauses von Bratislava sind, d. h. Strategieprojektmanagement und finanzielle Ressourcen, Umwelt, Koordinierung der territorialen Systeme, Soziales, Verkehr, Infrastruktur usw. Dem Ausschuss gehören auch Vertreter von wissenschaftlichen Organisationen (d. h. Geographisches Institut der Slowakischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Comenius-Universität in Bratislava) und Nichtregierungsorganisationen an. Je nach Bedarf des in Entwicklung befindlichen Teilprojekts treffen sich die zuständigen Mitglieder des Lenkungsausschusses. Der Lenkungsausschuss entscheidet auch über die Finanzhilfeanträge für private nachhaltige Entwässerungssysteme.
  • Stadtbezirk Bratislava – Nové Mesto ‚Neustadt‘ und Stadtteil Bratislava – Petržalka. Beide Stadtbezirke sind für die Analyse von Lösungsmöglichkeiten in ihrem Katastergebiet verantwortlich und setzen geplante Maßnahmen in ihrem Bezirk direkt um. Sie sind auch für die Kommunikation der erzielten Ergebnisse verantwortlich. Während der Entwicklung der Strategie und des Aktionsplans wurden die bereits bestehenden Beziehungen und die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Interessenträgern weiter gestärkt. Das Projekt wird über die Webseite der Stadtbezirke gefördert.
  • COWI. Es ist eine Beratungsgruppe mit mehr als 80 Jahren Erfahrung im Umweltschutzbereich. Ihre Erfahrung und ihr Wissen waren ein wertvolles Gut in der Projektdurchführung, vor allem in der Engineering-Phase, der Umsetzung von Maßnahmen, der Kommunikation und dem Erfahrungsaustausch sowie der Verbreitung von Projektergebnissen. COWI hat Mittel für Reisen erhalten, um die Zusammenarbeit mit Bratislava zu ermöglichen, und hat Unterstützung bei der Problemlösung und der Einrichtung einer künftigen Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Sektoren in Norwegen geleistet.

Interessenträger ohne finanziellen Beitrag

  • Bratislava Regional Conservation Association (BROZ). Es ist eine NGO, die sich auf Natur-, Landschafts- und Umweltschutz konzentriert. Als Projektpartner trägt dieser Verein zur nachhaltigen Bewirtschaftung des Stadtwaldgebiets und zur Entwicklung eines lokalen Systems ökologischer Stabilität bei.
  • Bratislava Wassergesellschaft (BVS, a.s.). Es ist eine Aktiengesellschaft, darunter auch Bratislava City unter ihren Aktionären. Sie leistet professionelle Dienstleistungen und technische Hilfe bei der Durchführung von Teilprojekten.
  • Slowakische Naturschutz- und Landschaftsschutzunion (SZOPK). Es ist eine Dachorganisation, die sich auf Natur-, Landschafts- und Umweltschutz konzentriert. Seine Niederlassung in Bratislava City beteiligt sich als juristische Person am Projekt. Es fördert die Kommunikation mit der Öffentlichkeit und lokalen Gemeinschaften und trägt dazu bei, die Öffentlichkeit für das Projekt zu sensibilisieren.
  • Stadtwaldgesellschaft in Bratislava. Diese Gesellschaft ist in das Statut des Bratislavaer Waldparks eingetragen. Einige vorgeschlagene Maßnahmen werden im Waldpark Bratislava umgesetzt, so dass die Stadtwaldgesellschaft in das Projekt einbezogen werden muss.
  • Naturwissenschaften Fakultät der Comenius Universität in Bratislava. Die Universität ist eine Bildungs- und wissenschaftliche Einrichtung. Es bietet professionelle Beratung und methodische Unterstützung für den Anpassungsaktionsplan.
Erfolgsfaktoren und Hemmnisse

Im Rahmen des Projekts „EU Cities Adapt“ – einem Projekt der Europäischen Kommission, das 2012-2013 durchgeführt wurde und auf den Kapazitätsaufbau für Anpassungsstrategien für europäische Städte abzielt – war die Stadt Bratislava eine der ausgewählten Städte für die Ausbildungsphase. Im Rahmen dieses Projektes gründete Bratislava eine Arbeitsgruppe, an der der Stadthauptarchitekt und alle relevanten Abteilungen der Stadt teilnahmen. Diese Arbeitsgruppe identifizierte die Klimarisiken der Stadt, engagierte externe Akteure und erarbeitete einen Entwurf einer Anpassungsstrategie. Diese Arbeit bildete die Grundlage des Vorschlags, EWR-Finanzhilfen zu beantragen. In der Zwischenzeit wurde die Anpassungsstrategie zu einem Entwurf eines Aktionsplans zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel entwickelt. Dieses Vorgängerprojekt half der Stadt, ihre Klimarisiken und entsprechenden Anpassungsbedürfnisse zu überprüfen und bildete die grundlegende Projektidee und -ziele. Daher war es einer der beiden entscheidenden Erfolgsfaktoren bei der Erlangung der Förderung.

Andererseits erleichterten die gute Unterstützung des Regierungsbüros der Slowakischen Republik, das über eine EWR-Finanzhilfeabteilung verfügt, und das benutzerfreundliche Antragsverfahren des EWR-Zuschusses das Verfahren zur Beantragung der erforderlichen Projektfinanzierung. Das Stadtbüro Bratislava beantragte eine Finanzierung im Rahmen einer offenen Ausschreibung für EWR-Finanzhilfen, um eine Reihe von Maßnahmen umzusetzen, die bei der Ausarbeitung des Aktionsplans zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel ermittelt wurden. Der Zeitplan für die Aufforderung entsprach perfekt dem Entwicklungsstadium des Aktionsplans, der derzeit abgeschlossen ist.

Zwei einschränkende Faktoren, die zu einigen Verzögerungen beitragen, können wie folgt hervorgehoben werden:

  • Ein begrenzender Faktor waren zum einen die komplexen Verfahren für die Durchführung von Maßnahmen in Bezug auf Genehmigungen und Pflichten für öffentliche Arbeiten, zeitaufwändige Vergabeverfahren und archäologische Aspekte, die in einer historischen Stadt zu berücksichtigen sind.
  • Ein weiterer begrenzender Faktor ist, dass die Bezirke Bratislava selbst über eine unabhängige Verwaltungsstruktur verfügen, was es für das Stadtbüro Bratislava schwieriger macht, Prozesse zu koordinieren.
Kosten und Nutzen

Die Gesamtprojektkosten für das gesamte Projekt „Bratislava bereitet sich auf den Klimawandel vor“ belaufen sich auf 3 337 640 EUR, wovon 2,411445 EUR aus den EWR-Zuschüssen stammen (Anpassung an den Klimawandel – Hochwasser- und Dürreprävention, Schwerpunktbereich Klimawandel). Die restlichen 926 195 EUR stammen aus dem Büro der Stadt Bratislava und den Stadtbezirken Nové Mesto und Petržalka. Das Budget wurde je nach Beitrag zu Teilprojekten und Projektmanagementaufgaben auf die Partner aufgeteilt.

Der Stipendiat des Projekts ist das Büro der Stadt Bratislava. Es bietet Management: Projektkoordinator, Buchhalter, Verantwortliche für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und besondere Aktivitäten. Das Projekt wird durch regelmäßige Berichterstattung an den EWR-Zuschussgeber überwacht.

Die Kosten des Gesamtprojekts sind Verwaltungskosten, Publizität, kleine Zuschüsse und Bautätigkeiten. Die Vorteile des Projekts und der damit verbundenen Teilprojekte lassen sich nur schwer direkt in Form von Geld ausdrücken. Finanzielle Vorteile beziehen sich beispielsweise auf weniger Schäden, die durch Überschwemmungen bei erwarteten starken Regenfällen verursacht werden, und bessere Gesundheitsbedingungen, die zu weniger medizinischen und gesellschaftlichen Kosten für gefährdete Menschen während Hitzewellen führen, indem sie Gebieten mit Schatten versorgen. Neben den Aspekten des Klimawandels tragen Grünflächen im Allgemeinen zum Wohlbefinden bei. Darüber hinaus wird die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Projektpartnern und der Austausch von Erfahrungen und Wissen, die während dieses Projekts aufgebaut werden, den Weg für künftige Projekte zur Umsetzung des Anpassungsaktionsplans ebnen.

Lokale Vorschriften beschränken die Anwendung einiger Anpassungsmöglichkeiten. Zum Beispiel hat Bratislava eine Verordnung zur Verhinderung der Bodenverschmutzung von Parkplätzen, die besagt, dass sie eine undurchlässige Oberfläche und einen Raum zum Sammeln von öligem Wasser haben sollten. Dies schließt den Einsatz von durchlässigen Pflastern auf Parkplätzen aus, die sonst perfekt geeignet wären, die Infiltration von Regenwasser zu erhöhen. Die lokale Situation, mit vielen Tiefgaragen, schließt das Pflanzen von Bäumen an vielen Orten aus. Auf der anderen Seite erfordert der Masterplan von Bratislava 10-60 % der neu entwickelten Grundstücke, um grün zu sein; der Prozentsatz hängt von dem Bezirk und der Art des Gebäudes ab. Diese Anforderung ist jedoch wenig überwacht. Die endgültige Fassung des Anpassungsaktionsplans selbst muss noch vom Stadtvorstand genehmigt werden, der aus dem Stadtbürgermeister, allen Bürgermeistern des Stadtbezirks und den stellvertretenden Bürgermeistern und anderen Mitgliedern bis zu einer Anzahl von 10 besteht, die vom Stadtrat gewählt werden.

Umsetzungszeitraum

Das gesamte Projekt wurde 2014 gestartet und soll 2017 abgeschlossen werden. Aufgrund zeitaufwändiger Verfahren für Genehmigungen und öffentliche Aufträge wird erwartet, dass die Umsetzungszeit über das offizielle Enddatum des Projekts hinausgeht.

Lebensdauer

Der Zuschuss beinhaltet die Realisierung mehrerer Teilprojekte mit unterschiedlicher Lebensdauer: 20 Jahre für grüne Dächer, 40 Jahre für Bäume auf einem Platz, Jahrhunderte für einen Park und ein paar Jahrzehnte für Regenwasserrückhalteanlagen. Alle Grünflächen müssen aber auch regelmäßig gewartet werden.

Referenzinformationen

Kontakt

Róbert Blaško
Climate change mitigation and adaptation expert
Slovak Environmental Agency
robert.blasko@sazp.sk

 

Referenz

EEA funded ‘Bratislava is preparing for Climate Change’ project

Veröffentlicht in Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Zuletzt aktualisiert in Climate-ADAPT Jan 31 2024


Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns für eine weitere Fragen zu dieser Fallstudie oder um eine neue Fallstudie zu einzureichen (E -Mail Climate.adapt@eea.europa.eu ))

Artikelaktionen

You are here: Home / Database / Case studies / EEA grants supporting the city of Bratislava to implement climate adaptation measures
Original page

Case studies

EEA grants supporting the city of Bratislava to implement climate adaptation measures

EEA grants supporting the city of Bratislava to implement climate adaptation measures (2016)

Bratislava has received funding from “EEA Grants and Norway Grants” (hereafter called EEA Grants) for an urban climate adaptation project. The project entitled ‘Bratislava is preparing for climate change’ implements measures to enhance the resilience of Bratislava city to the adverse impacts of climate change, in particular intense rainfall and heat. These measures include tree planting, green roofs and rainwater retention facilities. The benefits are primarily for the most vulnerable inhabitants of Bratislava: elderly people and children. The € 3.3 million project is for 85% funded by EEA Grants. The remaining 15% comes from the city office and two participating city districts. The main project partners are the city of Bratislava Office, the city districts of Nové Mesto and Petržalka, and the Norwegian partner COWI. But also other stakeholders and knowledge partners (NGOs, Comenius University) are involved to secure exchange of knowledge and coordination of measures.

Case Study Description

Challenges

In Bratislava (Slovakia) climate change will be felt particularly in the expected rise in average temperature, more heat waves, and long periods of drought on the one hand, and more extreme rainfall, resulting in an increased risk of local floods.

Objectives

The City of Bratislava has prepared and approved a strategy on adaptation to climate change and is preparing an Adaptation Action Plan. This plan promotes delivery of climate change adaptation through different types of adaptation measures (with special focus on heat and rainwater management) and cooperation among decision-makers, planners, the private sector and local communities. The main target groups are the inhabitants of Bratislava city, especially the vulnerable groups (elderly people and children). The project ‘Bratislava is preparing for climate change’ practically contributes to the strategy’s implementation and realizes several solutions to relieve heat stress and problems with rainwater discharge.

Solutions

The “EEA Grants and Norway Grants” represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway to reducing economic and social disparities and to strengthening bilateral relations with 16 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics. Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are not EU members but are members to the European Economic Area (EEA) Agreement. This type of EEA Grant will distribute € 4 million between projects aiming to find economically efficient and environmentally sustainable adaptation measures to climate change risks through a variety of measures. The minimum grant amount is € 1 million. Cities or city districts with more than 20,000 inhabitants and a municipal area of at least 300 hectares are eligible. Bratislava has successfully applied for funding for its project ‘Bratislava is preparing for climate change’ to finance climate change adaptation measures.

Adaptation measures address the creation of more green spaces and permeable surfaces in a number of different sub-projects throughout the city. For all of the sub-projects the city of Bratislava organized the process towards implementation (planning, negotiating with the funding organization, design). The sub-projects are partially still in progress and should be finalized in 2017. The sub-projects are:

  • Rehabilitation of a square (Námestie hraničiarov) in the city district of Petržalka of the city of Bratislava. On a square of about 1 ha the pavement will be replaced by grass areas, trees, and flower beds. A water capturing and irrigation system ensures resilience to drought. The project is implemented by the city district of Petržalka, which is - with 100,000 inhabitants - one of the larger and most densely populated districts of Bratislava.
  • A green roof of 1,000 square meters size on a care home for elderly people owned by the city of Bratislava. The main function is buffering the discharge of excess rainwater.
  • On two important squares in the city centre – in the historic centre the main square and in the greater Old town the Námestie Slobody (which is bordered by buildings of the Slovak University of Technology and governmental office buildings) - trees have been planted to provide shade on hot days. This very visible result has been realized after very long negotiations with many departments in the city, overcoming arguments on the historic character of the squares, archaeological issues, etc. The project was implemented by the city.
  • Two tree-lined avenues have been realized, providing cool corridors that connect important big roads in the old town. One consists of 15, the other of 45 large trees. The project was implemented by the city.
  • In Svoradova street, in an area with previously no green public spaces, a ca. 1,000 square meters park will be realized. It will contain a variety of water retention measures (sustainable drainage systems and underground rain water storage tanks) implemented by the Old town district.
  • Nové Mesto district was historically an industrialized area with food processing factories and chemical industry. Today the brownfields are being transformed into apartment houses. The former velodrome (about 3 ha) will be revitalized and transformed into a multifunctional leisure area and a new green space for the inhabitants (on a former chestnut plantation) will be created. The newly developed areas will contain various recreational elements for the inhabitants and their children, including playgrounds and visible water flows. The district of Nové Mesto will implement the sub-projects.
  • In the Bratislava Forest Park - a 19th century designed landscape park – existing water reservoirs of one of the very few remaining streams flowing down from the Male Karpaty mountain range will be revitalized. These are important from the point of view of fire protection of the forests and surrounding areas, but they also support local biodiversity and can take-up excess rain water in times of heavy rainfall which would otherwise flow into the city.

The project ‘Bratislava is preparing for climate change’ also includes a small projects grant scheme for support of sustainable drainage systems. A total amount of € 50,000 will be made available for small projects up to maximum € 1,000 per project. Eligible applicants are private home owners, NGOs and businesses. The grant covers a maximum of 50% of total costs for the small project implementation. It is expected that these will be used for water reservoirs, rainwater gardens, small green roofs, adjustment of pavements, use of permeable materials, etc.  The grant scheme comes with consultancy for applicants and dissemination activities. The applications are assessed by the steering committee of the project, consisting of the Office of the Chief Architect, Department of Strategies and Projects and Department of Environment.

Relevance

Case developed and implemented as a CCA (Climate Change Adaptation) Measure.

Additional Details

Stakeholder Participation

Bratislava consists of 17 independent city districts, and the Bratislava City Office provides overall coordination. Bratislava City Office has asked the city districts whether and how they would like to be involved and which sub-projects would be relevant within these districts. Apart from the city districts, cooperation was sought with the Bratislava Regional Conservation Association, Bratislava Water Company, City Committee of Slovak Nature and Landscape Conservation Union, City Forest in Bratislava, Comenius University in Bratislava, Nature Sciences Faculty to involve them in the plans. The Norwegian partner COWI was involved because of its experience in the field and to underline the spirit of the EEA Grants regarding international cooperation.

Some stakeholders are directly financially involved (as further described below) as they get budget from the grant and bring in some own investment (amounting to 15% of total budget). Other stakeholders are involved to transfer knowledge and to be able to implement mainstream adaptation measures into wider plans, such as on water and nature management.

Stakeholders that are directly financially involved

  • Bratislava City Office. Provides overall management and publicity of the project. The coordination of the ‘Bratislava is preparing for Climate Change’ project is done by a Steering Committee which consists of a chairman (the chief architect of the City) and a number of members, who are representatives of different departments of the Bratislava City Hall, i.e. departments of: strategy project management and financial resources, en-vironment, territorial system coordination, social affairs, transport, infrastructure etc.. The Committee also includes representatives of scientific organizations (i.e. Geograph-ical Institute of the Slovak Academy of Sciences and Comenius University in Bratislava) and non-governmental organizations. Depending on the needs of the sub-project under development, the relevant members of the steering committee meet. The steering committee also decides on the grant applications for private sustainable drainage systems.
  • City district Bratislava - Nové Mesto ‘New Town’ and City district Bratislava – Petržalka. Both city districts are responsible for analysing options to solve problems in their cadastral area and directly implement planned measures in their district. They are also responsible for the communication of the results achieved. During the strategy and action plan development, already existing relations and cooperation with other stakeholders have been further strengthened. The project is promoted through the city districts’ web page.
  • COWI. It is a consulting group which has more than 80 years of experience in the environmental protection sector. Their experience and knowledge has been a valuable asset in the project implementation, mainly in the engineering phase, the implementation of measures, communication and the exchange of experiences and the dissemination of project results. COWI has received budget for travelling to enable the cooperation with Bratislava and has provided assistance in problem solving and the establishment of future cooperation with other sectors in Norway.

Stakeholders without financial contribution

  • Bratislava Regional Conservation Association (BROZ). It is an NGO focused on nature, landscape and environment conservation. As a project partner, this association contributes to the sustainable management of city forest area and to the development of a local system of ecological stability.
  • Bratislava Water Company (BVS, a.s.). It is a joint stock company including also Bratislava City among its share-holders. It provides its professional services and technical assistance during sub- projects implementation.
  • Slovak Nature and Landscape Conservation Union (SZOPK). It is an umbrella NGO focused on nature, landscape and environment conservation. Its branch office located in Bratislava City participates in the project as legal entity. It promotes communication with the general public, local communities and it helps increase public awareness about the project.
  • City Forest Company in Bratislava. This company is incorporated in the Statute of Bratislava Forest Park. Some proposed measures are implemented in Bratislava Forest Park so the City Forest Company needs to be involved in the project.
  • Nature Sciences Faculty of Comenius University in Bratislava. The university is an educational and scientific institution. It provides professional advice and methodical assistance for the Adaptation Action Plan.
Success and Limiting Factors

In the ‘EU Cities Adapt project’ - a project of the European Commission run during 2012-2013 and aimed at capacity building for adaptation strategies for European cities - the city of Bratislava was one of the selected cities for the training phase. Within this project Bratislava established a working group in which the City Chief Architect and all relevant departments within the city participated. This working group identified the climate risks of the city, engaged external stakeholders and developed a draft adaptation strategy. This work formed the basis of the proposal to apply for EEA Grants. In the meantime the adaption strategy was developed into a draft climate adaptation action plan. This predecessor project helped the city review its climate risks and corresponding adaptation needs and formed the basic project idea and objectives. Therefore it was one of the two key success factors in obtaining the funding.

On the other hand, the good support from the Government Office of the Slovak Republic, which has an EEA Grants Department, and the user-friendly application procedure of the EEA grant facilitated the process of applying for the necessary project funding. Bratislava City Office applied for funding under an EEA Grants open call in order to implement a number of measures that were identified during the development of the climate adaptation action plan. The timing of the call fitted perfectly with the stage of development of the action plan which is currently being finalised.

Two limiting factors contributing to some delays can be highlighted as follows:

  • First, a limiting factor have been the complex procedures for the implementation of measures in terms of permits and obligations for public works, time consuming public procurement procedures, and archaeological aspects that have to be taken into account in a historical city.
  • Another limiting factor is that the Bratislava districts themselves have their independent governance structure which makes it more difficult for Bratislava City Office to coordinate processes.
Costs and Benefits

Total project costs for the whole ‘Bratislava is preparing for Climate Change’ project are € 3,337,640, of which € 2,411,445 come from EEA Grants (Adaptation to Climate Change - Flood and Drought Prevention, priority sector Climate Change). The remaining € 926,195 comes from the Bratislava City office and the City Districts of Nové Mesto and Petržalka. The budget was divided over the partners according to their contribution to sub-projects and project management tasks.

The grant holder of the project is the Bratislava City Office. It provides management: project coordinator, accountant, managers for publicity and particular activities. The project is monitored through regular reporting to the EEA Grants provider.

Costs of the total project are management costs, publicity, small grants, and construction activities. The benefits of the project and related sub-projects are difficult to directly express in terms of money. Financial benefits are for example related to less damage caused by flooding during expected intense rainfalls, and better health conditions leading to less medical and societal costs for vulnerable people during heat-waves by providing areas with shade. Apart from climate change aspects, green spaces in general contribute to well-being. In addition, the cooperation among project partners and exchange of experience and knowledge that are built up during this project will pave the way for future projects to implement the Adaptation Action Plan.

Legal Aspects

Local regulations limit the application of some of the adaptation options. For example, Bratislava has a regulation to prevent soil pollution from parking places, stating that they should have an impermeable surface and a space to collect oily water. This precludes the use of permeable pavement on parking places, which otherwise would be perfectly suited for increasing the infiltration of rainwater. The local situation, with lots of underground parking garages, precludes planting of trees in many places. On the other hand, the Masterplan of Bratislava requires 10-60% of newly developed plots to be green; the percentage depending on the district and the type of building. This requirement is little overseen, however. The final version of the Adaptation Action Plan itself still has to be approved by the City Executive Board which consists of the City Mayor, all city district mayors and the deputy mayors and other members up to a count of 10, who are elected by the City Council.

Implementation Time

The whole project started in 2014 and is scheduled to finish in 2017. Due to time-consuming procedures for permits and public procurement the implementation time is expected to extend beyond the official end date of the project.

Life Time

The grant involves the realization of several sub-projects with different lifetimes: 20 years for green roofs, 40 years for trees on a square, centuries for a park and a few decades for rain water retention facilities. All green areas however also need regular maintenance.

Reference Information

Contact

Tamara Rehackova
Bratislava City
Office of the Chief City Architect
Primaciálne nám.1.
814 99 Bratislava
Slovakia
Tel.: +421 259 356279
E-mail: architekt@bratislava.sk

Source
EEA funded ‘Bratislava is preparing for Climate Change’ project

Keywords

Children, EEA grants, elderly people, surface permeability, urban green space

Sectors

Urban, Water management

Climate impacts

Droughts, Extreme Temperatures, Flooding

Governance level

Local (e.g. city or municipal level)

Geographic characterization

Europe

Document Actions