Accueil Base de données Études de cas Une zone transfrontalière dépolée pour la protection contre les inondations et la nature: Hedwige et Prosper Polders

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
The European Climate and Health Observatory is undergoing reconstruction until June 2024 to improve its performance. We apologise for any possible disturbance to the content and functionality of the platform.
Études de cas

Une zone transfrontalière dépolée pour la protection contre les inondations et la nature: Hedwige et Prosper Polders

Une zone transfrontalière dépolée pour la protection contre les inondations et la nature: Hedwige et Prosper Polders

Le projet Hedwige-Prosper polders s’inscrit dans le cadre du plan Sigma belge: ce plan intégré renforce les digues et les murs des quais et ouvre les zones d’inondation pour protéger les terres le long de l’estuaire de l’Escaut et du bassin en amont contre les inondations. Dans ce projet spécifique, les défenses extérieures de l’Hertogin-Hedwige (ci-après dénommée Hedwige) et des polders Prosper — zones basses de terres récupérées sont en train d’être retirées, ce qui les rouvre aux marées. Ce processus (qui peut être appelé «dépoldering») implique de déplacer la protection des digues à l’intérieur des terres. Cela permettra de laisser place à l’eau pendant les poussées de marées, réduisant ainsi le risque d’inondations et de rétablir une aire naturelle estuarienne. Alors que presque tous les projets Sigma Plan ont lieu sur le territoire belge, il s’agit d’une exception car le polder Hedwige se trouve sur le territoire néerlandais. Les travaux devraient être achevés en 2023.

 

Description de l'étude de cas

Défis

L’apparition d’ondes de tempête en mer du Nord a considérablement augmenté depuis les années 1950, et l’élévation du niveau de la mer devrait encore augmenter cette menace dans les décennies à venir. Les ondes de tempête menacent notamment Anvers (Belgique) alors que l’estuaire de l’Escaut se rétrécit considérablement à ce stade, ce qui augmente les niveaux d’eau élevés. Les polders Hedwige et Prosper sont situés juste avant que l’Escaut atteigne Anvers. L’ouverture de ces deux polders permettra de stocker les eaux pluviales, de réduire le niveau d’eau à Anvers et en amont et d’améliorer ainsi la sécurité dans cette zone urbaine et industrielle.

Objectifs

L’objectif principal du projet de polders Hedwige-Prosper est d’améliorer la protection contre les inondations dans le cadre du plan global Sigma, en fournissant à l’Escaut un espace supplémentaire pour les inondations. Une nouvelle zone intertidale estuarine est également créée, offrant un espace pour la nature marémotrice.

Solutions

Le projet Hedwige-Prosper polders fait partie d’une série de projets entrepris le long de l’Escaut et de ses affluents dans le cadre du plan Sigma. Il crée une nouvelle zone naturelle estuarienne et contribue à la protection contre les inondations. Les nouveaux habitats naturels et la protection accrue des inondations sont obtenus en déplaçant la protection des digues à l’intérieur des terres, exposant ainsi les polders actuellement protégés à l’influence des marées de la rivière Scheldt. La nouvelle digue construite à l’intérieur des terres (une digue à anneaux) protège la zone résidentielle basse de l’arrière-pays, ainsi que le canal annulaire qui collecte l’eau des petits cours d’eau et une station de pompage adaptée aux poissons activée en cas de fortes pluies pour décharger l’excès d’eau vers l’Escaut. La nouvelle digue a une hauteur à 10,2 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer (mesurée par Normaal Amsterdams Peil, Standard Amsterdam Level, NAP) sur la majeure partie de sa longueur. Ce type de projet est appelé «dépoldering» et peut être considéré comme faisant partie de l’approche du «réalignement géré».

Au total, une superficie naturelle de 465 hectares est en cours de développement dans les deux anciens polders, dont 295 hectares sont sur le territoire néerlandais et 170 hectares en territoire belge. Ces 465 hectares se combineront avec la zone humide adjacente de Saeftinghe pour créer une superficie intertidale saumâtre d’environ 4 100 hectares au total. Cependant, les polders Hedwige-Prosper ne seront pas directement reliés à Saeftinghe, car une digue contenant des pipelines sépare les deux zones et restera en place. La création de nouveaux espaces naturels estuariens s’inscrit dans le cadre des accords de l’Escaut entre les Pays-Bas et la Flandre: les travaux de Hedwige polder contribuent à la réalisation de l’engagement néerlandais de créer 600 hectares de telles zones. Les zones de nature intertidale qui en résultent feront partie des travaux que les Pays-Bas et la Belgique entreprendront pour respecter les obligations découlant de la directive «Habitats» de l’UE. Il s’agit d’une compensation pour les zones naturelles prises sur le port d’Anvers ainsi que pour le dragage de l’Escaut.

Pour favoriser la création de l’espace naturel souhaité, un système de criques sera creusé dans les polders. Les travaux d’accompagnement comprennent le remplissage du système de drainage existant et l’enlèvement d’autres infrastructures liées au drainage, l’enlèvement des infrastructures dures telles que les routes, et l’enlèvement de la végétation existante et, au besoin, de certains marais existants. Suite à ces modifications, les processus naturels seront autorisés à façonner la zone en conditions de plus en plus naturelles. Ces marais contribueront à la capacité d’autonettoyage de l’estuaire; en outre, les zones humides sont une source importante de silice pour les algues diatomées qui sont à la base de la chaîne alimentaire. La création de la nouvelle zone naturelle intertidale devrait donner lieu à de nouvelles possibilités de loisirs. La conception proposée comprend la construction d’un pavillon de la nature et d’éco-lodges, ainsi qu’un certain nombre de sentiers pédestres et cyclables, des points de vue, des panneaux d’information, des bancs et des places de stationnement pour les visiteurs. Un certain nombre d’îles reproductrices sont également envisagées par le projet, car la zone est d’une grande valeur écologique et l’un des rares habitats de reproduction appropriés pour les avocettes très vulnérables et d’autres espèces d’oiseaux. Les îlots de reproduction temporaires construits jusqu’à présent dans le polder ont déjà prouvé leur valeur, accueillant pas moins de 75 couples d’avocats, comme détecté à l’été 2020.

Fin 2014, les digues extérieures avaient été enlevées au polder belge Prosper, ouvrant cette zone à la marée. La nouvelle digue intérieure a été achevée en 2015. Le permis de construire pour la nouvelle digue intérieure de la partie néerlandaise — Hedwige polder — a été accordé. La construction est en cours et devrait être achevée en 2021.

Pertinence

Cas développé, mis en œuvre et partiellement financé en tant que mesure d'adaptation au changement climatique.

Détails supplémentaires

Participation des parties prenantes

Le projet a rencontré une opposition à la fois en Belgique (Prosper polder) et aux Pays-Bas (Hedwige polder), en particulier dans la province de Zélande où il est situé. L’opposition a été menée par les propriétaires belges de terres agricoles dans les deux polders. En Belgique, l’opposition juridique au dépouillement du polder Prosper s’est terminée en 2011. Une opposition plus forte s’est produite dans le polder de Hedwige aux Pays-Bas, où les agriculteurs et les résidents ont rejoint les manifestations. Parmi leurs préoccupations figuraient la perte de terres agricoles, la résistance au dépollution en général et la crainte que des projets plus dépolluants ne soient entrepris en Zélande. Cette opposition a conduit le projet à être reporté par le gouvernement national néerlandais, qui a demandé des études d’alternatives, y compris différents sites et travaux alternatifs dans la zone du projet. L’analyse n’a pas identifié une alternative acceptable et le gouvernement néerlandais a décidé en 2012 de poursuivre les travaux de Hedwige polder.

Des documents de planification ont ensuite été élaborés et mis à la disposition du public en septembre 2013 pour une période de commentaires de six semaines. Environ 2 000 personnes et organisations ont présenté des commentaires au sujet du plan. Une réunion a également eu lieu à la mairie locale en septembre 2013. Le 12 novembre 2014, le Conseil d’État néerlandais a jugé toute opposition juridique au projet non fondée.

Facteurs de réussite et facteurs limitants

Pour l’ensemble du plan Sigma, l’analyse économique a montré qu’une combinaison de projets, y compris le projet de polder Hedwige-Prosper, serait plus rentable pour protéger les zones urbaines et les activités économiques que la construction d’une grande barrière d’onde de tempête.

Hedwige et Prosper polder travaillent comme un laboratoire vivant dans le cadre du projet Interreg Polder2C, offrant un espace où différents partenaires et organisations se réunissent pour concevoir, exécuter et évaluer une série d’expériences sur la performance des digues et les interventions d’urgence. Il offre également un espace d’échange de connaissances et d’éducation, accueillant des événements dédiés aux étudiants et aux jeunes professionnels.

Les zones naturelles estuariennes qui seront créées par le projet de dépoldération devront être maintenues au fil du temps. Des préoccupations ont été exprimées quant au fait que les taux de sédimentation dans la zone du projet pourraient être trop élevés, ce qui n’est pas compatible avec les objectifs naturels ou de protection contre les inondations du projet. L’opposition, en particulier aux Pays-Bas, a été un facteur retardateur.

Coûts et bénéfices

Une analyse coûts-avantages pour le gouvernement néerlandais a étudié plusieurs options de projet et a indiqué que l’option de projet sélectionnée pour dépolder le polder Hedwige aux Pays-Bas coûterait entre 40,0 et 49,3 millions d’euros (les coûts de dépollution du polder Prosper en Belgique étaient estimés à 25,8 millions d’euros).

Les coûts du projet pour les polders Hedwige et Prosper sont principalement couverts par le plan Sigma belge. Cela est dû à l’importance du projet pour les objectifs belges de gestion intégrée de l’eau, y compris le maintien de l’accessibilité du transport maritime au sein de l’Escaut et la protection contre les inondations. Ainsi, une grande partie des coûts du polder Hedwige aux Pays-Bas sont pris en charge par le gouvernement flamand. Le gouvernement flamand prend en charge les coûts de préparation et de développement liés au développement de l’aire naturelle estuarienne, y compris les coûts de déplacement des terres de protection des digues vers l’intérieur. La Flandre remboursera également aux Pays-Bas les frais d’expropriation des terres. Les Pays-Bas sont responsables d’autres coûts, tels que le soutien à l’agriculture à la suite du projet, l’amélioration d’un barrage interne et les coûts liés à l’analyse des alternatives au projet.

Les avantages du projet pris en compte dans l’analyse coûts-avantages comprennent: amélioration de la qualité de l’eau, augmentation de l’espace naturel, offre de nouvelles possibilités de loisirs, amélioration de la qualité de l’air due à une réduction des poussières fines provenant des champs labourés (réduction de 30 tonnes par an de PM10), réduction de l’utilisation des pesticides et réduction du niveau de l’eau lors des ondes de tempête. Le bénéfice de la protection contre les inondations se fera principalement sur le territoire belge, bien que d’autres avantages soient ressentis du côté belge et néerlandais de la frontière.

Les pertes qui ont été identifiées comprennent la réduction d’une partie du paysage culturel (agriculture) et la suppression des possibilités récréatives actuelles, de l’espace de vie et des terres agricoles.

Le dépouillement du polder Hedwige a été convenu en 2005 dans le traité entre la région de Flandre et le gouvernement national néerlandais concernant le développement de l’Estuaire de l’Escaut 2010. Dans cet accord, les Pays-Bas ont convenu de développer au moins 600 hectares d’espaces naturels estuariens sur le territoire néerlandais. La Flandre a accepté de développer 1 100 hectares de zones humides sur le territoire belge. Les Pays-Bas se sont également engagés à commencer à dépolder le polder de Hedwige au plus tard en 2007 et à créer au moins 440 hectares d’espaces naturels intertidales à cet endroit. À la suite de cet accord, cependant, l’opposition aux Pays-Bas a entraîné des retards. La Commission européenne a engagé une procédure juridique à l’encontre des Pays-Bas en ce qui concerne ses obligations en matière de protection de la nature. À la suite d’un examen des solutions de remplacement, le gouvernement néerlandais a décidé en 2012 que le polder Hedwige serait dépoldé comme prévu.

Le projet lui-même contribue aux obligations internationales des Pays-Bas et de la Belgique en matière de conservation des habitats estuariens (H1130, H1330) en vertu de la directive «Habitats». Le site deviendra un site Natura 2000 qui borde le site Natura 2000 déjà existant Westerschelde & Saeftinghe.

À l’avenir, le projet Hedwige Prosper, associé au polder Doel, fera partie du parc frontalier Groot-Saeftinghe (en partie financé par le projet Grenspark Groot Saeftinghe Interreg), la plus grande zone marémotrice d’Europe occidentale, couvrant une superficie de 4 500 hectares.

Temps de mise en œuvre

L’achèvement final des travaux, après l’optimisation du système de canal à l’intérieur du polder pour permettre à l’Escaut de s’écouler correctement à l’intérieur, devrait être achevé en 2023.

Durée de vie

La durée de vie du projet n’a pas été indiquée; avec l’entretien et l’entretien réguliers, il devrait rester en place pendant de nombreuses décennies. Comme indiqué ci-dessus, la sédimentation pourrait affecter sa nature et ses fonctions de protection contre les inondations.

Informations de référence

Contacter

Dorien Verstraete
Waterwegen en Zeekanaal NV – Department Sea Scheldt
Anna Bijnsgebouw - Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 44 - 2018 Antwerpen
Email: Dorien.Verstraete@WenZ.be

Generic e-mail: Zeeschelde@wenz.be

General contact for the SIGMA plan: https://www.sigmaplan.be/en/contact-us

Référence

The SIGMA Plan

Publié dans Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Dernière modification dans Climate-ADAPT Apr 04 2024


Veuillez nous contacter pour toute autre enquête sur cette étude de cas ou pour partager une nouvelle étude de cas (email climat.adapt@eea.europa.eu a >)

Actions sur le document

Home Database Case studies A transboundary depoldered area for flood protection and nature: Hedwige and Prosper Polders
Case studies

A transboundary depoldered area for flood protection and nature: Hedwige and Prosper Polders

A transboundary depoldered area for flood protection and nature: Hedwige and Prosper Polders

The Hedwige-Prosper polders project is part of the Belgian Sigma Plan: this integrated plan is reinforcing dikes and quay walls and opening flood areas to protect land along the Scheldt Estuary and the upstream basin against floods. In this specific project, the outer defences of the Hertogin-Hedwige (hereinafter referred to as Hedwige) and the Prosper polders – low lying areas of reclaimed land are being removed, reopening these areas to the tides. This process (which can be called ‘depoldering’) involves moving dike protection inland. Doing so will provide room for water during tidal surges, thereby reducing the risk of floods, and re-establishing an estuarine natural area. While nearly all Sigma Plan projects take place on Belgian territory, this is an exception as the Hedwige polder lies on Dutch territory. Works are expected to be completed in 2023.

 

Case Study Description

Challenges

The occurrence of storm surges in the North Sea has increased significantly since the 1950s, and sea-level rise is projected to further raise this threat in coming decades. Storm surges threaten Antwerp (Belgium) in particular as the Scheldt estuary narrows considerably at this point, thereby boosting high water levels. The Hedwige and Prosper polders are crucially located just before the Scheldt reaches Antwerp. Opening these two polders will provide ‘storage’ for storm surge waters, reducing the water level at Antwerp and upstream and thereby improving safety in this urban and industrial area.

Objectives

The main objective of the Hedwige-Prosper polders project is to improve flood protection as part of the overall Sigma Plan, providing the Scheldt river with extra space for flooding. New estuarine intertidal area are also created, providing space for tidal nature.

Solutions

The Hedwige-Prosper polders project is one of a series of projects being undertaken along the Scheldt and its tributaries as part of the Sigma Plan. It creates a new estuarine nature area and contributes to flood protection. The new natural habitats and increased flood protection is achieved by moving dike protection inland, thereby exposing the currently protected polders to the tidal influence of the Scheldt River. The new dike constructed inland (a ring levee) protects the low-lying residential area in the hinterland, together with the ring canal collecting the water from small watercourses and a fish-friendly pumping station activated in case of heavy rainfall to discharge the excess water to the Scheldt. The new dike has a height at 10.2 meters above sea level (measured by Normaal Amsterdams Peil, Standard Amsterdam Level, NAP) across most of its length. This type of project is called ‘depoldering’ and can be considered as part of the ‘managed realignment’ approach.

In total, a natural area of 465 hectares is being developed in the two former polders, of which 295 hectares are on Dutch territory and 170 hectares in Belgian territory. These 465 hectares will combine with the adjacent Saeftinghe wetlands area to create a brackish intertidal area of approximately 4,100 hectares in total. The Hedwige-Prosper polders will not be directly connected with Saeftinghe, however, as a dike containing pipelines separates the two areas and will remain in place. The creation of new estuarine nature areas is part of the Scheldt Agreements between the Netherlands and Flanders: the work at Hedwige polder is contributing to fulfilling the Dutch commitment to create 600 hectares of such areas. The resulting intertidal nature areas will be part of the work that the Netherlands and Belgium will undertake to meet obligations under the EU Habitats Directive. It is a compensation for natural areas taken over the Port of Antwerp as well as dredging of the Scheldt.

To promote the creation of the desired natural area, a system of creeks will be dug in the polders. Accompanying works include filling in the existing drainage system and removing other drainage related infrastructure, removing hard infrastructure such as roads, and removing existing vegetation and where necessary some existing marshland. Following these modifications, natural processes will be allowed to shape the area into increasingly natural conditions. These marshlands will contribute to the self-cleaning capacity of the estuary; moreover, the wetlands are an important source of silica for diatom algae which are at the basis of the food web. The creation of the new intertidal nature area is expected to result in new recreational opportunities. The proposed design includes the construction of a nature pavilion and eco-lodges, as well as a number of walking and biking paths, viewpoints, information signs, benches and parking places for visitors. A number of breeding islands are also envisaged by the project, since the area is of great ecological value and one of the few suitable breeding habitats for the very vulnerable avocet and other bird species. Temporary breeding islands built so far in the polder have already proved their value, hosting no fewer than 75 couples of avocets, as detected in summer 2020.

As of late 2014, the outer dikes had been removed at the Belgian Prosper polder, opening this area to the tide. The new inland dike was completed in 2015. The building permit for the new inland dike on the Dutch part – Hedwige polder - has been granted. Construction is underway and is expected to be completed in 2021.

Relevance

Case developed and implemented and partially funded as a CCA measure.

Additional Details

Stakeholder Participation

The project encountered opposition both in Belgium (Prosper polder) and in the Netherlands (Hedwige polder), especially in the province of Zeeland where it is located. Opposition was led by Belgian owners of agricultural land in both polders. In Belgium, legal opposition to the depoldering of the Prosper polder ended in 2011. A stronger opposition occurred in the Hedwige polder in the Netherlands, where farmers and residents joined the protests. Their concerns included the loss of agricultural land, resistance to depoldering in general and a fear that more depoldering projects might be undertaken in Zeeland. This opposition led the project to be postponed by the Dutch national government, which requested studies of alternatives, including different sites and alternative work in the project area. The analysis did not identify an acceptable alternative and the Dutch government in 2012 decided to go ahead with the works at Hedwige polder.

Planning documents were then drawn up and made available to the public in September 2013 for a six-week comment period. Approximately 2,000 individuals and organizations submitted comments regarding the plan. There was also a meeting at the local town hall on September 2013. The Dutch Council of State on 12 November 2014 ruled all legal opposition to the project unfounded.

Success and Limiting Factors

For the Sigma plan overall, economic analysis showed that a combination of projects, including the Hedwige-Prosper polder project, would be more cost-effective in protecting urban areas and economic activities than building a large storm surge barrier.

Hedwige and Prosper polder is working as a living lab within the Interreg Polder2C’s Project, offering a space where different partners and organisations come together to design, execute and evaluate a series of experiments on levee performance and emergency response. It also offers a space for  knowledge exchange and education, hosting events dedicated to students and young professionals.

The estuarine natural areas that will be created by the depoldering project will need to be maintained over time. Concerns have been expressed that the sedimentation rates in the project area could be too high, resulting in areas not compatible with the natural or flood protection objectives of the project. Opposition, especially in the Netherlands, was a delaying factor.

Costs and Benefits

A cost-benefit analysis for the Dutch government studied several project alternatives and indicated that the selected project option for depoldering the Hedwige polder in the Netherlands would cost between 40.0 to 49.3 million Euros (The costs for depoldering the Prosper polder in Belgium was estimated at 25.8 million Euros).

The project costs for both the Hedwige and Prosper polders are covered mainly by the Belgian Sigma Plan. This is due to the importance of the project for Belgian integrated water management objectives, including maintaining shipping accessibility within the Scheldt and flood protection. Thus, a large portion of the costs for Hedwige polder in the Netherlands are paid for by the Flemish government. The Flemish government covers the preparation and development costs related to the development of the estuarine natural area, including the costs of moving dike protection land inwards. Flanders will also reimburse the Netherlands for the costs of expropriating the land. The Netherlands is responsible for other costs, such as support for agriculture following the project, the improvement of an internal dam and costs related to the analysis of alternatives to the project.

Benefits from the project taken into account in the cost-benefit analysis include: improvement of water quality, increase in natural area, provision of new recreational opportunities, improvement of air quality due to a reduction in fine dust originating from ploughed fields (reduction of 30 tonnes per year PM10), reduction in pesticide use and reduction in water level during storm surges. The flood protection benefit will be experienced mainly on Belgian territory, though other benefits will be experienced on both Belgian and Dutch sides of the border.

Losses that were identified include the reduction of part of the cultural (farming) landscape and removal of current recreational opportunities, living space and agricultural land.

The depoldering of the Hedwige polder was agreed in 2005 in the treaty between the region of Flanders and the Dutch national government regarding the development of the Scheldt Estuary Outline 2010. In this agreement, the Netherlands agreed to develop at least 600 hectares of estuarine natural areas on Dutch territory. Flanders agreed to develop 1,100 hectares of wetlands on Belgian territory. The Netherlands also committed to starting the depoldering of the Hedwige polder at the latest by 2007 and to create at least 440 hectares of intertidal natural areas in this location. Following this agreement, however, opposition in the Netherlands led to delays. The European Commission started a legal procedure against the Netherlands with regard to its nature protection obligations. Following a review of alternatives, in 2012 the Dutch Government decided that Hedwige polder would be depoldered as planned.

The project itself contributes to the international obligations of the Netherlands and Belgium to conserve estuarine habitats (H1130, H1330) under the Habitats Directive. The site will become a Natura 2000 site that borders the already existing Natura 2000 site Westerschelde & Saeftinghe.

In the future, the Hedwige Prosper Project together to the Doel polder will become part of the Groot-Saeftinghe Border Park (partly funded by the Grenspark Groot Saeftinghe Interreg project), the largest tidal area in Western Europe, covering a surface area of 4,500 hectares.

Implementation Time

Final completion of the works, after the optimization of the channel system within the polder to allow Scheldt to properly flow inside, is expected to be completed in 2023.

Life Time

The lifetime of the project has not been indicated; with regular upkeep and maintenance, it is expected to remain in place for many decades. As noted above, sedimentation could affect its nature and flood protection functions.

Reference Information

Contact

Dorien Verstraete
Waterwegen en Zeekanaal NV – Department Sea Scheldt
Anna Bijnsgebouw - Lange Kievitstraat 111-113 bus 44 - 2018 Antwerpen
Email: Dorien.Verstraete@WenZ.be

Generic e-mail: Zeeschelde@wenz.be

General contact for the SIGMA plan: https://www.sigmaplan.be/en/contact-us

Reference

The SIGMA Plan

Published in Climate-ADAPT Jun 07 2016   -   Last Modified in Climate-ADAPT Feb 16 2021


Please contact us for any other enquiry on this Case Study or to share a new Case Study (email climate.adapt@eea.europa.eu)

Document Actions