Startseite Datenbank Fallstudien Raum für den Fluss Waal – Schutz der Stadt Nijmegen

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
We are currently facing a technical issue with the website which affects the display of data. The full functionality will be restored as soon as possible. We appreciate your understanding. If you have any questions or issues, please contact EEA Helpdesk (helpdesk@eea.europa.eu).
Fallstudien

Raum für den Fluss Waal – Schutz der Stadt Nijmegen

Raum für den Fluss Waal – Schutz der Stadt Nijmegen

Bei Nijmegen biegt sich der Waal scharf und verengt sich. Dadurch entsteht ein Engpass, der häufig zu Überschwemmungen des historischen Stadtzentrums von Nijmegen am Südufer der Mauer führte. Nach den Überschwemmungen von 1993 und 1995 und einem erhöhten Hochwasserrisiko aufgrund des Klimawandels beschloss die Stadt Nijmegen, dem Waal mehr Raum zu geben, gleichzeitig die nahe gelegenen natürlichen Lebensräume zu schützen und Freizeiträume zu schaffen. Im Jahr 2012 begann die Stadt mit der Anpassung des Flusses und seiner Ufer den wichtigsten bestehenden Deich (vor der Fastenzeit, einem Dorfteil der Gemeinde Nijmegen am nördlichen Ufer des Waal) 350 m landeinwärts zu bewegen und einen umfangreichen neuen Flusskanal parallel zum Original zu graben. Mit seiner Fertigstellung im Jahr 2016 gelang es dem Projekt, eine Verringerung der Flusswasserhöhe um 35 cm zu erreichen (ein größeres Ziel der ersten 27 cm). Bei hohen Flussflüssen wird ein Drittel der gesamten Wassermenge über den neuen Nebenkanal abgeführt. Die umgesetzten Maßnahmen schufen auch eine Insel, die heute als einzigartiger städtischer Flusspark im Herzen von Nijmegen genutzt wird, mit Platz für Wohnen, Freizeitaktivitäten, Kultur, Wasser und Natur.

Beschreibung der Fallstudien

Herausforderungen

Der Waal ist der größte Fluss in den Niederlanden. Es ist ein Flachland, der am Pannerdenskanal beginnt, wo sich der Rhein in den Niederrhein und den Waal spaltet. Seine Breite beträgt durchschnittlich 350-400 m. Der erste Teil, bis zur Stadt Nijmegen, zeichnet sich durch breite Mäander und ein breites Winterbett bis zu 2 km breit aus. Der zweite Teil ist schmaler und nur geringfügig mäandernd und die damit verbundenen Auen sind ebenfalls schmaler. Nijmegen liegt am Südufer dieses zweiten Teils des Flusses und beherbergt eine Uferpromenade mit Landeplätzen für Schiffe. Auf der anderen Seite des Flusses befindet sich ein Deich, der das Dorf Fasten vor Überschwemmungen schützt. Hier war der Fluss am engsten. In Zeiten hoher Flussströme war Nijmegen Gefahr, überflutet zu werden.

Die Niederlande sind besonders anfällig für eine Reihe von Auswirkungen des Klimawandels. Es wird erwartet, dass der Klimawandel in Bezug auf höhere Temperaturen, extremere Regenfälle in kürzeren Zeiträumen und längere Dürreperioden auftreten wird. Größere Flussflüsse in niederländischen Flüssen werden auch in Zukunft aufgrund des Klimawandels, insbesondere im Winter aufgrund der zunehmenden Niederschläge im Einzugsgebiet, erwartet.

Ziele

Ziel des Projekts war es, den Schutz der Stadt Nijmegen und des Dorfes Fasten vor Überschwemmungen zu verbessern, indem mehr Raum für den Fluss geschaffen wurde.

Lösungen

Das Projekt „Raum für den Fluss Waal“ war Teil des2007 von der niederländischen Regierung genehmigten „Raum fürden Flussplan“. Die Hauptziele dieses umfassenderen Projekts sind es, höhere Wasserströme in den niederländischen Flüssen zu verwalten, indem die Höhe der Hochwasserebenen gesenkt, Wasserpuffer geschaffen, Deiche verlegt, die Tiefe der Seitenkanäle erhöht und Hochwasserumgehungen errichtet werden. Innerhalb des Raumes für das Waal-Projekt:

  • der bestehende Deich, der sich vor dem Dorf Lent am nördlichen Ufer der Mauer befindet, wurde 350 m ins Landesinnere verlegt, um Raum für einen Nebenflusskanal zu schaffen;
  • ein Nebenkanal mit einer Breite von 150-200 m und einer Länge von 3 km wurde vor der Fastenzeit ausgegraben, um bei Überschwemmungen mehr Platz für Wasser zu bieten. Der Kanal hat einen natürlichen Aspekt und wird für Freizeitzwecke wie Rudern und Segeln verwendet;
  • der neu gebaute Kanal schuf eine neue Insel, die jetzt als einzigartiger städtischer Flusspark im Herzen von Nijmegen genutzt wurde, mit Platz für Leben, Erholung, Kultur, Wasser und Natur;
  • um den Fluss zu überqueren und Zugang zum Inselstadtpark zu ermöglichen, wurde die bestehende Mauerbrücke erweitert und neue Brücken gebaut.
Relevanz

Case developed and implemented and partially funded as a Climate Change Adaptation measure.

Zusätzliche Details

Stakeholderbeteiligung

Im Rahmen des Projekts „Room for the Waal River“ wurden Stakeholder und die lokale Gemeinschaft in Form von Newslettern, Informationstreffen und interaktiven Workshops engagiert. In den interaktiven Workshops wurde das Projekt vorgestellt, in dem die Teilnehmer aufgefordert wurden, ihre Beiträge zu liefern. Darüber hinaus wurde das gesamte Projekt den Verfahren der Strategischen Umweltprüfung (SEI) und der Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung (UVP) unterzogen, einschließlich der erforderlichen öffentlichen Beteiligung. Durch die breite Einbeziehung der Interessenträger und detaillierte Antworten auf ihre Beiträge wurden die Zweifel und die Opposition der Interessenträger weitgehend angegangen.

Erfolgsfaktoren und Hemmnisse

Ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor war, dass der gesamte „Raum für den Flussplan“ koordiniert und weitgehend von der nationalen Regierung finanziert wurde. Es war eine koordinierte Anstrengung, die sich nicht nur auf einen Standort konzentrierte, sondern das Gesamtproblem auf eine Reihe von Maßnahmen an verschiedenen Standorten verteilte. Jede Maßnahme trug zu einem Teil der Lösung bei. Darüber hinaus wurde das Programm als koordiniertes Programm entwickelt, an dem eine große Anzahl von Partnern beteiligt war, darunter die nationale Regierung, Provinzen, Gemeinden und Wasserämter. Darüber hinaus wurden die spezifischen Projekte unter umfassender Einbeziehung der Interessengruppen und der lokalen Gemeinschaft durchgeführt.

Ein wichtiger Grenzfaktor des „Raums für den Flussplan“ war die Begrenzung des Budgets. Dies wurde teilweise durch die Sicherung zusätzlicher Mittel aus den Provinzen, Wasserämtern und Gemeinden überwunden. Zusätzlich zu den verfügbaren Mitteln war die Notwendigkeit der Enteignung von Flächen und Ausgleichsregelungen für periodische Überschwemmungen von Flächen, die Teil der ergriffenen Maßnahmen sind, begrenzt.

Kosten und Nutzen

Die Gesamtkosten des Projekts werden auf 351 Millionen Euro geschätzt, die hauptsächlich aus dem nationalen Haushalt bereitgestellt werden. Eine Umweltprüfung und eine Sozial-Nutzen-Analyse wurden für dieses Projekt durchgeführt, was auf einen positiven Effekt von mehr als 295 Millionen US-Dollar hindeutet. Der Hauptvorteil des Projekts Room for the Waal River ist der erhöhte Schutz vor Überschwemmungen der Stadt Nijmegen und des Dorfes Fasten. Abgesehen von diesem Hauptziel verbesserte das Projekt die Flusslandschaft und bot Raum für Freizeitmöglichkeiten. Aus einer breiteren Perspektive trug das Waal-Projekt zum allgemeinen „Raum für den Flussplan“ bei, der darauf abzielte, das Hochwasserrisiko in größerem Umfang zu verringern.

In den Jahren 1993 und 1995 führte die Ableitung von Hochflüssen in den Niederlanden zu einer Änderung der Politik. Wo die bisherige Politik darauf basierte, überschüssiges Wasser so schnell wie möglich ins Meer zu entladen, wurde die neue Politik, zuerst Wasser zurückzuhalten, dann das Wasser zu speichern und schließlich das überschüssige Wasser abzuleiten. Die neue Wasserpolitik war später mit der Entwicklung und Umsetzung der EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie verbunden, da sie zur Verbesserung der Morphologie der niederländischen Flüsse beiträgt. Dieser Ansatz wurde auch im Fall des Projekts Room of the Waal River angewendet.

Umsetzungszeitraum

Das Projekt wurde 2012 ins Leben gerufen. Die Verlagerung des Deichs, der Bau des Nebenkanals und die Schaffung des neuen wurden bis 2016 abgeschlossen. Nach 2016 wurde das Gebiet weiterentwickelt, um Erholung, Wohnen und andere städtische Funktionen zu ermöglichen.

Lebensdauer

Die Laufzeit des realisierten Projekts beträgt mindestens 100 Jahre.

Referenzinformationen

Kontakt

Ruimte voor de Rivier
afdeling Communicatie
Griffioenlaan 2
3526 LA Utrecht
Postbus 24103
3502 MC Utrecht
Telephone: 088 7972900
E-mail: info@ruimtevoorderivier.nl

Referenz

Room for the Waal River project

Veröffentlicht in Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Zuletzt aktualisiert in Climate-ADAPT Jul 13 2023


Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns für eine weitere Fragen zu dieser Fallstudie oder um eine neue Fallstudie zu einzureichen (E -Mail Climate.adapt@eea.europa.eu ))

Artikelaktionen

Home Database Case studies Room for the River Waal – protecting the city of Nijmegen
Case studies

Room for the River Waal – protecting the city of Nijmegen

Room for the River Waal – protecting the city of Nijmegen

At Nijmegen, the Waal River bends sharply and narrows. This creates a bottleneck, which often caused flooding of the historic city centre of Nijmegen, located on the south bank of the Wall. After the floods of 1993 and 1995 and faced with increased risk of flooding due to climate change, the city of Nijmegen decided to give more room to the Waal River, at the same time protecting nearby natural habitats and providing recreational space. In 2012, the city began adapting the river and its shores moving the main existing dike (in front of Lent, a village part of Nijmegen municipality located on the norther shore of the Waal River) 350 m inland, and digging an extensive new river channel parallel to the original. By its completion in 2016, the project succeeded in achieving a 35 cm river water height reduction (a greater target of the 27 cm initial one). During high river flows, one-third of the total amount of water is discharged through the new ancillary channel. The implemented measures also created an island that is now used as a unique urban river park in the heart of Nijmegen with room for living, recreational activities, culture, water and nature.

Case Study Description

Challenges

The Waal River is the largest river in The Netherlands. It is a lowland river starting at the Pannerdens Canal, where the Rhine splits into the Lower Rhine and the Waal. Its width is 350-400 m on average. The first part, until the city of Nijmegen, is characterised by broad meanders and a broad winter bed up to 2 km wide. The second part is narrower and only slightly meandering and the associated floodplains are also narrower. Nijmegen is located along the southern shore of this second section of the river and hosts a waterfront with landing places for ships. On the other side of the river, there is a dike that protects the village of Lent against flooding. Here, the river was at its narrowest. During periods of high river flows, Nijmegen was at risk of being flooded.

The Netherlands is particularly susceptible to a range of climate change impacts. Climate change is expected to occur in terms of higher temperatures, more extreme rainfall events in shorter periods of time, and longer periods of drought. Larger river flows in Dutch rivers are also expected in the future because of climate change, in particular in winter due to increased precipitation in the catchment area.

Objectives

The objective of the project was to improve the protection of the city of Nijmegen and the village of Lent from flooding by creating more room for the river.

Solutions

The Room for the Waal River project was part of the wider ‘Room for the River Plan’ approved by the Dutch Government in 2007. The main goals of this wider project are to manage higher water flows levels in the Dutch rivers by lowering the elevation of flood plains, creating water buffers, relocating levees, increasing the depth of side channels, and constructing flood bypasses. Within the Room for the Waal project:

  • the existing dike, located in front of the village of Lent along the norther shore of the Wall, was moved 350 m inland to create room for an ancillary river channel;
  • an ancillary channel with a width of 150-200 m and a length of 3 km was dug in front of Lent to provide more space for water during floods. The channel has a natural aspect and is used for recreational purposes such as rowing and sailing;
  • the newly built channel created a new island now used as a unique urban river park in the heart of Nijmegen with space for living, recreation, culture, water and nature;
  • to cross the river and provide access to the island urban park the existing Wall bridge was extended and new bridges where built.
Relevance

Case developed and implemented and partially funded as a CCA measure.

Additional Details

Stakeholder Participation

Within the Room for the Waal River project, stakeholders and the local community were engaged through newsletters, information meetings and interactive workshops. In the interactive workshops, the project was presented asking the participants to provide their inputs. Moreover, the whole project was subject to the Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEI) and Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) procedures, including the required public participation. Through the broad involvement of stakeholders and detailed responses to their inputs, the stakeholders’ doubts and opposition were largely addressed.

Success and Limiting Factors

An important success factor was that the overall ‘Room for the River Plan’ was coordinated and largely funded by the national government. It was a coordinated effort that not only focused on one location, but spread the overall problem over a range of measures at different locations. Each measure contributed a part of the solution. In addition, the programme was developed as a coordinated programme involving a large number of partners, including the national government, provinces, municipalities and water boards. The specific projects, moreover, were conducted with broad involvement of stakeholders and the local community.

An important limiting factor of the ‘Room for the River Plan’ was the limitation of the budget. This was partly overcome through securing additional funding from the provinces, water boards and municipalities. In addition to available funding, a limiting factor was the need for expropriation of land and compensation schemes for periodic flooding of lands included as part of the measures adopted.

Costs and Benefits

Total costs of the project are estimated in 351 million euro, mainly provided through the national budget. An environmental assessment and a social cost-benefit analysis have been made for this project, indicating a more than $295 million positive effect. The main benefit of the Room for the Waal River project is the increased protection from flooding of the city of Nijmegen and the village of Lent. Apart from this key objective, the project improved the river natural landscape and provided space for recreational opportunities. In a wider perspective, the Waal project contributed to the overall ‘Room for the River Plan’ aimed at reducing river flooding risk at a larger scale.

High river discharge situations in 1993 and 1995 in the Netherlands led to a change in policy. Where the previous policy was based on discharging surplus water to the sea as quickly as possible, the new policy became to first retain water, then store the water and finally discharge the excess water. The new water policy was later linked to nature development and implementation of the EU Water Framework Directive as it contributes to the improvement of the morphology of the Dutch rivers. This approach has been also used in the case of the Room of the Waal River project.

Implementation Time

The project was initiated in 2012. Relocation of the dike, construction of the ancillary channel and creation of the new were completed by 2016. After 2016, the area was further developed to allow for recreation, housing and other urban functions.

Life Time

Lifetime of the implemented project is considered of at least 100 years.

Reference Information

Contact

Ruimte voor de Rivier
afdeling Communicatie
Griffioenlaan 2
3526 LA Utrecht
Postbus 24103
3502 MC Utrecht
Telephone: 088 7972900
E-mail: info@ruimtevoorderivier.nl

Reference

Room for the Waal River project

Published in Climate-ADAPT Jun 07 2016   -   Last Modified in Climate-ADAPT Mar 11 2021


Please contact us for any other enquiry on this Case Study or to share a new Case Study (email climate.adapt@eea.europa.eu)

Document Actions