You are here: Home / Database / Organisations / Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS) - Baltic 21
Original page


Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS) - Baltic 21


The Council of the Baltic Sea States is an overall political forum for regional inter-governmental cooperation. The Members of the Council are the eleven states of the Baltic Sea Region (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden) as well as the European Commission. It consists of the Ministers for Foreign Affairs from each Member State and a member of the European Commission. The role of the Council is to serve as a forum for guidance and overall coordination among the participating states.

The Council’s mission is to contribute actively towards advancing sustainable development in the Baltic Sea Region by coordinating goals and activities, and by serving as a forum for cooperation across borders and between stakeholder groups.

The Council has three long-term priorities– Regional Identity, Sustainable and Prosperous Region and Safe and Secure Region and endorsed Goals and Objectives for each. An objective of the Sustainable and Prosperous Region priority is to strengthen the region`s capacity to adapt to climate change and the resilience capacity of ecosystems and societies.

Reference information



Baltic, inter-governmental cooperation, political forum, sustainability

Climate impacts

Droughts, Extreme Temperatures, Flooding, Ice and Snow, Sea Level Rise, Storms, Water Scarcity


Adaptation Measures and Actions, Adaptation Plans and Strategies


Agriculture, Biodiversity, Buildings, Coastal areas, Disaster Risk Reduction, Energy, Financial, Forestry, Health, Marine and Fisheries, Transport, Urban, Water management

Geographic characterisation


Document Actions