You are here: Home / Database / Organisations / European Environment Agency (EEA)
Original page


European Environment Agency (EEA)


The European Environment Agency (EEA) is an agency of the European Union. Its task is to provide sound, independent information on the environment. It is a major information source for those involved in developing, adopting, implementing and evaluating environmental policy, and also the general public. Currently, the EEA has 32 member countries. The EEA regularly publishes reports related to climate change impacts and adaptation in Europe. It maintains a set of environmental indicators for various environmental issues, including climate change. It manages this Clearinghouse.

More information on the EEA role and activities regarding climate change adaptation can be found in the Climate Services September 2017 article “The European Environment Agency: Supporting the development and implementation of climate policies in Europe through targeted information on climate change and its impacts”

Reference information

European Environment Agency


environmental indicators, pan-European assessments

Climate impacts

Droughts, Extreme Temperatures, Flooding, Ice and Snow, Sea Level Rise, Storms, Water Scarcity


Adaptation Measures and Actions, Observations and Scenarios, Vulnerability Assessment


Agriculture, Biodiversity, Coastal areas, Forestry, Urban, Water management

Geographic characterisation


Document Actions