Accueil Base de données Études de cas Soutien à la détresse liée au changement climatique en Finlande — «L’esprit de l’éco-anxiété»

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
The European Climate and Health Observatory is undergoing reconstruction until June 2024 to improve its performance. We apologise for any possible disturbance to the content and functionality of the platform.
Études de cas

Soutien à la détresse liée au changement climatique en Finlande — «L’esprit de l’éco-anxiété»

(Étude de cas développée pour l’Observatoire européen du climat et de la santé)

Même si le changement climatique influe considérablement sur la santé mentale et le bien-être, l’attention portée à cette question dans la science et la pratique a été limitée. L’anxiété climatique ou écologique sont des concepts émergents décrivant la détresse liée au changement environnemental et climatique. Les sentiments d’anxiété peuvent être causés par une peur chronique d’une catastrophe environnementale et des préoccupations pour l’humanité, en réaction au problème complexe en l’absence de solutions claires. Le projet «L’esprit de l’éco-anxiété» (Ympäristöahdistuksen mieli) a été mis en place par des professionnels concernés de la santé mentale et du travail social pour faire face à ces impacts négatifs sur la santé mentale des crises écologiques et climatiques en Finlande. Le nom du projet en finnois est un jeu de mots. Le mot finlandais «mieli» signifie à la fois «esprit» et «signifiant». Ainsi, le projet, à travers son titre, demande aux gens de réfléchir au sens de l’éco-anxiété. Il est également lié au nom finlandais de la plus ancienne organisation à but non lucratif du monde pour la protection de la santé mentale, Mental Health Finland, «MIELI», et naturellement à la dynamique de l’esprit.

Trois organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) ont conjointement mis en place l’initiative car elles ont reconnu le manque de soutien émotionnel adéquat pour ce problème de santé mentale de plus en plus répandu. Le projet a lancé une campagne avec toutes les organisations finlandaises de santé mentale pour sensibiliser la société à ce sujet et a développé diverses formes de soutien à la santé mentale pour les personnes touchées. En outre, des formations ont été offertes aux professionnels qui travaillent avec des personnes particulièrement touchées par l’anxiété climatique et écologique, comme les jeunes et les jeunes adultes.

Description de l'étude de cas

Défis

Le changement climatique affectera non seulement la santé physique, mais aura également des conséquences sur la santé mentale et le bien-être (Lawrance et al., 2021). Cependant, la recherche sur ses impacts psychologiques a été généralement limitée et, si elle est abordée, axée sur les impacts d’événements extrêmes plutôt que sur les effets à plus long terme et graduels sur la santémentale (Burenby et coll., 2021). Néanmoins, il existe un certain nombre de concepts émergents qui reconnaissent certains des impacts indirects sur la santé mentale, y compris ceux de l’anxiété écologique et de l’anxiété climatique (Wu et al. 2020). Comme ils se manifestent de plus en plus dans la société, en particulier chez les jeunes (parexemple, Wu et al., 2020

Objectifs

Les fondateurs du projet «esprit d’anxiété écologique» ont noté l’augmentation des problèmes de santé mentale liés au changement climatique en Finlande et ont entrepris de les résoudre en utilisant leur expertise en offrant un soutien en santé mentale. Par conséquent, le projet vise à:

  • Fournir aux personnes de tous âges les outils nécessaires pour gérer et réguler les émotions vécues sous forme d’anxiété écologique ou climatique, renforçant ainsi la résilience des participants. Bien que le projet soit ouvert à un public général, il s’adresse principalement aux personnes vulnérables à l’éco-anxiété émergente, y compris celles qui travaillent ou étudient les sciences de l’environnement; les personnes ayant une identité environnementale forte; les jeunes; et les individus ayant d’autres expériences de vie accablantes.
  • Sensibiliser les gens afin d’initier des conversations publiques, entre autres, pour favoriser la reconnaissance chez ceux qui éprouvent des symptômes, mais qui pourraient ne pas en connaître la cause ou les moyens de les traiter.
  • Plaider pour la reconnaissance de l’éco-anxiété et des éco-émotions (émotions liées à l’environnement) comme un phénomène sociétal plus large au lieu d’un diagnostic psychiatrique ou d’un problème individuel.
  • Initier des actions entre différentes organisations et autres acteurs de la société pour intégrer les connaissances sur les éco-émotions dans leur travail avec différents groupes de personnes à travers la société.

 En outre, le projet vise à promouvoir l’importance du bien-être mental global.

Solutions

Pour atteindre ses objectifs, le projet utilise les compétences et l’expertise existantes des travailleurs de la santé sociale et mentale pour traiter d’autres problèmes de santé mentale. Leur savoir-faire des solutions déjà largement utilisées dans les soins de santé sociale et mentale est transféré dans un nouveau domaine de travail, c’est-à-dire traiter des émotions environnementales, principalement le changement climatique. Les activités du projet comprennent trois piliers (tous gratuits pour les participants):

  • Prise de conscience: campagnes de sensibilisation à l’éco-anxiété.
  • Soutien: aide directe en santé mentale à un large public.
  • Éducation: pour les professionnels qui travaillent avec ceux qui vivent déjà ou sont susceptibles d’éprouver des émotions difficiles en relation avec les changements environnementaux.

Prise de conscience: La campagne «Parlons d’éco-émotions» a été lancée en mars 2021, y compris un appel à l’urgence environnementale approuvé par toutes les organisations nationales travaillant sur la santé mentale. En outre, l’«esprit d’éco-anxiété» a organisé un certain nombre de webinaires sur le sujet en 2021 à l’intention du secteur social et des soins de santé, des ONG, ainsi que des acteurs publics et privés. Le site Ympäristöahdistus.fi a été lancé en février 2021 afin de recueillir et de fournir des informations et des ressources à jour sur le sujet, ainsi que de fournir de nouveaux documents et dossiers d’information. Il s’agissait notamment de références à des articles scientifiques; une vue d’ensemble des différentes approches de psychothérapie pour traiter la question; et de courts articles d’information publiés en collaboration avec des experts. En outre, plusieurs activités de mobilisation du public ont été menées, notamment:

  • Production de plusieurs épisodes de podcasts, dont l’un s’adresse aux jeunes qui hésitent à avoir des enfants en raison des changements environnementaux mondiaux.
  • Organisation de discussions de groupe pour atteindre spécifiquement les agriculteurs et les populations rurales. Les moyens de subsistance de ces communautés sont directement touchés par le changement climatique, mais leurs voix ne sont pas entendues dans les débats publics.

Les campagnes de sensibilisation ont permis d’obtenir environ 3 570 000 vues par différents canaux. En 2022, le projet prévoit de se concentrer davantage sur les organisations de jeunesse et le secteur de l’éducation.

Soutien: Pour un soutien direct en santé mentale pour les personnes touchées par l’éco-anxiété, le projet a développé un modèle de groupe pour traiter les sentiments environnementaux, qui mettait l’accent sur:

  • Reconnaître les éco-émotions et les traiter avec eux.
  • Apprendre les compétences d’adaptation.
  • Bâtir une communauté de soutien.
  • Renforcer les perspectives d’avenir.

Des groupes de soutien ont été prévus, ciblant principalement les jeunes, bien que des personnes de tous âges puissent y participer. Le concept prévoyait 3 à 5 séances de soutien, qui comprenaient idéalement 10 à 15 participants et un animateur de l’équipe de projet, habituellement ayant une formation en travail social et/ou en soins de santé mentale. Alors que les sessions incluaient initialement des informations générales sur l’anxiété climatique, elles se sont ensuite concentrées sur les outils et les compétences disponibles pour faire face aux «émotions environnementales» afin de donner plus de place aux expériences et aux perceptions des participants. L’accent était mis sur la formation de groupe et la dynamique du groupe pour faciliter le partage des sentiments et le soutien des pairs. Le projet a formé un certain nombre de bénévoles à l’automne 2021, qui pourront ensuite diriger eux-mêmes des sessions de groupe et ainsi étendre les activités dans tout le pays. Une autre session de formation est prévue pour avril 2022. Toutefois, des groupes dirigés par des bénévoles n’ont pas encore été mis en œuvre dans la pratique.

Le projet a également offert des ateliers sur la façon de traiter l’anxiété écologique/climatique, en transmettant des outils et des activités qui peuvent améliorer le bien-être mental et aider à exprimer les émotions vécues.

Les exercices de pleine conscience ont également été intégrés et l’importance de l’empathie, à la fois envers les autres et envers eux-mêmes, a été soulignée. Les participants ont été aidés à trouver et à suivre le sens et leurs valeurs les plus importantes, et comment cela peut favoriser le bien-être mental et la capacité de devenir actif de manière appropriée.

Au début de 2022, environ 360 participants (principalement dans le groupe d’âge de 20 à 30 ans) ont participé à 30 ateliers d’éco-émotions et groupes de soutien.

Éducation: Enfin, l’esprit d’éco-anxiété a organisé des activités orientées vers les professionnels de l’éducation, de la santé et du travail social, afin de les former à la manière de traiter les personnes souffrant d’anxiété liée aux changements environnementaux. Les formations de trois heures ont fourni des outils pour faciliter les discussions et découvrir les compétences émotionnelles et psychosociales préexistantes, et pour reconnaître et traiter les éco-émotions et l’éco-anxiété au sein de leurs groupes cibles (et eux-mêmes) plus spécifiquement. Des webinaires supplémentaires de deux heures avec un contenu similaire et des conférenciers invités ont également été organisés pour s’adresser à un public plus général. À l’appui de l’activité, un «Small Guide to Environmental Anxiety — Information Pack for Teachers and Educators» a été complété. Le matériel a également été traduit en suédois pour étendre sa portée.

Pour attirer les participants, l’initiative s’est adressée aux organisations de conservation de la nature, aux groupes d’activistes ainsi qu’aux universités. Comme ce dernier a présenté un groupe cible particulier, le projet a organisé des conférences participatives à l’intention du personnel et des ateliers à l’intention des étudiants de l’Université d’Helsinki pour discuter du modèle de soutien en santé mentale qu’ils aimeraient adopter et du type de soutien émotionnel qui serait utile.

Environ 1160 professionnels (principalement des femmes) ont participé à une trentaine de formations et d’autres activités d’information.

Pertinence

Cas développé, mis en œuvre et partiellement financé en tant que mesure d'adaptation au changement climatique.

Détails supplémentaires

Participation des parties prenantes

L’idée du projet a été initiée par Tunne ry — une ONG qui a été fondée en 2018 pour aborder les problèmes de santé mentale liés au changement climatique et environnemental — en collaboration avec la chercheuse internationalement reconnue sur les émotions écologiques, le professeur associé Panu Pihkala de l’Université d’Helsinki. Il a ensuite été élaboré et mis en œuvre conjointement avec deux autres organisations finlandaises: Nyyti ry, une organisation qui promeut la santé mentale chez les étudiants en particulier, et MIELI Mental Health Finland, qui cherche à apporter un soutien aux crises et à prévenir les problèmes de santé mentale dans la société finlandaise, est la plus ancienne ONG au monde dédiée à la santé mentale. Le projet est financé par STEA, le Centre de financement pour les organisations de protection sociale et de santé en Finlande.

Une collaboration supplémentaire existe avec:

Au cours du processus de planification du projet, une évaluation des besoins a été réalisée au moyen d’un sondage auprès d’environ 500 participants du grand public. Des groupes pilotes et des ateliers ont également été mis en place pour tester l’approche du projet. Des réunions en personne étaient prévues, mais en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, les activités ont été transférées en ligne.

Facteurs de réussite et facteurs limitants

Le financement disponible pendant trois ans a contribué au succès de la mise en œuvre du projet, car il a permis l’accès gratuit des participants. Le projet a reçu des commentaires positifs de la part des participants (grand intérêt pour l’acquisition de connaissances sur l’éco-anxiété et les éco-émotions, l’amélioration du bien-être et le sens de la compréhension commune), encourageant la poursuite du projet. Un grand intérêt médiatique a donné lieu à plusieurs invitations à divers événements. L’implication d’une personnalité publique (l’ homme criant) a contribué au succès de l’initiative, en étendant sa portée.

L’un des principaux défis rencontrés par le projet est le fait que toutes les activités ont dû être transférées en ligne en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19. Cela a affecté la capacité du projet à atteindre les gens et à se connecter avec eux de manière plus significative. Des formats d’ateliers en ligne plus courts et moins approfondis ont été préparés afin de soutenir l’intérêt des participants et d’encourager leur participation active.

Un autre défi était la participation limitée aux discussions organisées spécifiquement pour les communautés rurales et les agriculteurs et la participation limitée de personnes ayant déjà une forte identité environnementale (par exemple, des groupes d’activistes) aux activités du projet. Par conséquent, une meilleure intégration du soutien émotionnel au sein des communautés d’activités climatiques devrait être encouragée, au lieu d’impliquer des organisations externes de santé mentale.

Coûts et bénéfices

STEA, le Centre de financement des organisations de protection sociale et de santé en Finlande, a fourni au projet 640 000 EUR pour une période de trois ans (2020-2022).

Cela a permis à quatre employés (deux à temps plein, deux à temps partiel) de consacrer toute leur attention au projet et à la prestation gratuite d’un soutien en santé mentale aux participants. À son tour, cela a profité aux nombreux participants et en profitera probablement de manière indirecte en raison des formations destinées aux professionnels, de la mise à disposition de ressources sur le site Web du projet, des concepts pratiques nouvellement développés et de la sensibilisation sur le sujet. En outre, la promotion de la santé mentale dans le contexte du changement climatique peut être un moteur important pour encourager des actions efficaces en faveur du climat.

Le projet était une initiative ascendante qui n’a donné suite à aucune loi spécifique. Toutefois, la Finlande a reconnu les effets potentiels du changement climatique sur la santé mentale dans son plan d’adaptation au changement climatique du ministère des affaires sociales et de la santé (2021), y compris l’anxiété environnementale ou climatique.

Temps de mise en œuvre

L’idée d’aborder les questions de santé mentale liées au changement environnemental et climatique s’est concrétisée dans la fondation de Tunne ry en 2018, avec une proposition de projet présentée par tous les acteurs concernés à la mi-2019. La mise en œuvre du projet a commencé au début de 2020 pour se poursuivre jusqu’à la fin de 2022, dans le cadre de la période de financement actuelle. Il est prévu de poursuivre les activités au-delà de cette période si des ressources supplémentaires deviennent disponibles, en ajustant éventuellement la portée et le format en fonction des enseignements tirés du projet en cours, et éventuellement en faisant appel à de nouveaux partenaires.

Durée de vie

En raison des caractéristiques du projet, la durée de vie de «l’esprit d’éco-anxiété» correspond à son temps de mise en œuvre (3 ans). Cependant, les effets positifs de l’amélioration des connaissances, de la sensibilisation et des compétences d’adaptation devraient durer plus longtemps que la durée du projet lui-même, créant les conditions pour des actions réelles en faveur du climat.

Informations de référence

Contacter

Hanna Rintala,

specialist in environmental emotions and support,  Nyyti ry

hanna.rintala@nyyti.fi

Référence

Burenby, L., Partonen, T., Carter, T. R., Ruuhela, R., Halonen, J. (2021). Climate Change and Mental Health. Discussion Paper 32/2021. Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare.  

Clayton, S. (2020). Climate anxiety: Psychological responses to climate change. Journal of Anxiety Disorders, 74, 102263. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.janxdis.2020.102263

Hickman, C., Marks, E., Pihkala, P., Clayton, S., Lewandowski, E., Mayall, E., Wray, B., Mellor, C., van Susteren, L. (2021). Climate anxiety in children and young people and their beliefs about government responses to climate change: a global survey. The Lancet Planetary Health, 5(12), E863-E873. https://doi.org/10.1016/S2542-5196(21)00278-3

Lawrance, E., Thompson, R., Fontana, G., Jennings, N. (2021). The impact of climate change on mental health and emotional wellbeing: current evidence and implications for policy and practice. Grantham Institute, Briefing Paper No 36, Imperial College London.  https://doi.org/10.25561/88568 

Pihkala, P. (2020a). Anxiety and the Ecological Crisis: An Analysis of Eco-Anxiety and Climate Anxiety. Sustainability, 12(19), 7836. https://doi.org/10.3390/su12197836

Pihkala, P. (2020b). Eco-Anxiety and Environmental Education. Sustainability, 12(23), 10149. https://doi.org/10.3390/su122310149

Wu, J., Snell, G., Samji, H. (2020). Climate anxiety in young people: a call to action. The Lancet, 4(10), pp E435-E436. https://doi.org/10.1016/S2542-5196(20)30223-0

Publié dans Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Dernière modification dans Climate-ADAPT Mar 05 2024


Veuillez nous contacter pour toute autre enquête sur cette étude de cas ou pour partager une nouvelle étude de cas (email climat.adapt@eea.europa.eu a >)

Actions sur le document

Home Database Case studies Support for distress associated with climate change in Finland – “The mind of eco-anxiety”
Case studies

Support for distress associated with climate change in Finland – “The mind of eco-anxiety”

(Case study developed for the European Climate and Health Observatory)

Even though climate change substantially influences mental health and well-being, attention to this issue in science and practice has been limited. Climate- or eco-anxiety are emerging concepts describing the distress linked to environmental and climate change. Feelings of anxiety can be caused by a chronic fear of environmental disaster and concerns for the humanity, as a reaction to the complex problem in absence of clear solutions. “The mind of eco-anxiety” (Ympäristöahdistuksen mieli) project has been established by concerned mental health and social work professionals to address these negative mental health impacts of the ecological and climate crises in Finland. The name of the project in Finnish is a play on words. The Finnish word "mieli" means both "mind" and "meaning". Thus the project, through its title, asks people  to think about the meaning of eco-anxiety. It also links with the Finnish name of the World’s oldest non-profit organization for the protection of mental health, Mental Health Finland, ‘MIELI’, and naturally with the dynamics of the mind.

Three non-governmental organisations (NGOs) jointly established the initiative as they acknowledged a lack of adequate emotional support for this increasingly widespread mental health problem. The project launched a campaign with all Finnish mental health organisations to raise awareness for the topic in society, and it developed various forms of mental health support for people affected. In addition, training has been offered for professionals who work with those particularly affected by climate- and eco-anxiety, such as youth and young adults.

Case Study Description

Challenges

Climate change will not only affect physical health, but also has consequences for mental health and well-being (Lawrance et al., 2021). However, research on its psychological impacts has generally been limited and if addressed, focused on impacts of extreme events rather than the more long-term and gradual effects on mental health (Burenby et al., 2021). Nevertheless, a number of emergent concepts exist that recognise some of the indirect mental health impacts, including those of eco-anxiety and climate anxiety (Wu et al. 2020). As they increasingly manifest in society, especially among young people (e.g. Wu et al., 2020; Hickman et al., 2021), they are widely addressed in the media and a growing body of research (Pihkala, 2020a, 2020b). Eco-anxiety is the anxiety and distress about the ecological crisis (Pihkala, 2020b), while climate anxiety acknowledges such consequences from climate change specifically (Clayton, 2020). They can manifest in various and complex forms; some symptoms have been found to include general fear and worry, grief, guilt, hopelessness, obsessive thinking, panic attacks, insomnia, and others (see e.g. Pihkala, 2020a, 2020b; Wu et al., 2020).

Researchers have called for action to acknowledge and address climate anxiety in practice, especially for youths (Wu et al., 2020; Hickman et al., 2021). However, a recent EEA analysis found that only few EEA member and collaborating countries have considered possible mental health effects of climate change in their national adaptation and public health policies. Finland is among the few countries that did address climate anxiety to some extent, but preventative measures and specific measures to address climate change impacts on mental health need to be implemented within the social affairs and health services (Burenby et al., 2021).

Objectives

Founders of the “mind of eco-anxiety” project noted increasing mental health challenges linked to climate change in Finland and set out to address them by making use of their expertise in offering mental health support. Therefore, the project aims at:

  • Providing people across all ages with the tools to deal with and regulate emotions experienced in the form of eco- or climate anxiety, thus building participants’ resilience. While the project is open for a general audience, it is mainly targeted at people who are vulnerable to emerging eco-anxiety, including those working with, or studying, environmental sciences; people with a strong environmental identity; young people; and individuals with other burdening life experiences.
  • Raising awareness to initiate public conversations, among other things, to foster recognition among those who experience symptoms but might be unaware of its cause or ways to deal with them.
  • Advocating for the recognition of eco-anxiety and eco-emotions (emotions related to the environment) as a larger societal phenomenon instead of a psychiatric diagnosis or individual problem.
  • Initiating action among different organisations and other societal actors to incorporate knowledge on eco-emotions in their work with different groups of people throughout society.

 In addition, the project seeks to promote the importance of overall mental well-being.

Solutions

To achieve its goals, the project makes use of the existing skills and expertise of the social and mental health workers in dealing with other mental health issues. Their know-how of solutions already widely used in social and mental health care are transferred to a new area of work, i.e. dealing with environmental emotions, mainly climate change. The activities of the project include three pillars (all free of charge to the participants):

  • Awareness: campaigns to raise awareness about eco-anxiety.
  • Support: direct mental health support to a broad audience.
  • Education: for professionals who work with those who already experience or are likely to experience difficult emotions in relation to environmental changes.

Awareness: The campaign “Let’s talk about eco-emotions” was launched in March 2021, including a call for environmental emergency endorsed by all national organisations working on mental health. Furthermore, the “mind of eco-anxiety” organised a number of webinars on the topic in 2021 targeting the social and health care sector, NGOs, as well as public and private actors. The Ympäristöahdistus.fi website was launched in February 2021 to collect and provide up-to-date information and resources on the topic, as well as provide new materials and information packages. These included references to scientific articles; an overview of different psychotherapy approaches to dealing with the issue; and short informational articles published in collaboration with experts. In addition, several public engagement activities were conducted, including:

  • Production of several podcast episodes, one of them being directed at young people hesitant to have children due to global environmental changes.
  • Organisation of group conversation chats to specifically reach out to farmers and rural populations. These communities’ livelihoods are directly impacted by climate change but their voices are not heard in the public debates.

The awareness-raising campaigns reached about 3,570,000 views via various channels. In 2022, the project plans to focus more on youth organisations and the educational sector.

Support: For direct mental health support for those affected by eco-anxiety, the project has developed a group-based model for dealing with environmental feelings, which focused on:

  • Recognising eco-emotions and dealing with them.
  • Learning coping skills.
  • Building supportive community.
  • Strengthening future perspectives.

Support groups were planned, mainly targeting young people, although people of all ages can participate. The concept envisioned 3-5 support sessions, which ideally included 10-15 participants and one facilitator from the project team, usually with a background in social work and/or mental health care. While sessions initially included general information on climate anxiety, they later focused on the tools and skills available to deal with ‘environmental emotions’ to give more room to participants’ own experiences and perceptions. The focus was on group formation and group dynamics to facilitate the sharing of feelings and peer support. The project has trained a number of volunteers in Autumn 2021, who will later on be able to lead group sessions themselves and thereby extend the activities all over the country. Another training session is planned for April 2022. However, volunteer-led groups have yet to be implemented in practice.

The project additionally offered workshops on how to address eco-/climate anxiety, by conveying tools and activities that can enhance mental well-being and help in expressing the emotions experienced.

Mindfulness exercises were also integrated and the importance of empathy, both towards others and themselves, was emphasised. Participants were supported in helping to find and follow meaningfulness and their most important values, and how this can promote mental well-being and the ability to become active in appropriate ways.

By early 2022, about 360 participants (mainly within the age group of 20 to 30 years old) took part in 30 eco-emotions workshops and support groups.

Education: Lastly, the “mind of eco-anxiety” organised activities geared towards professionals working in education, health and social work, to train them on how to deal with people suffering anxiety related to environmental changes. The three-hour trainings conveyed tools to facilitate discussions and discover pre-existing emotional and psychosocial skills, and to recognise and process eco-emotions and eco-anxiety within their target groups (and themselves) more specifically. Some additional two-hour webinars with similar content and guest speakers were held to address a more general audience as well. To support the activity, a “Small Guide to Environmental Anxiety - Information Pack for Teachers and Educators” was completed. The material has also been translated into Swedish to extend its reach.

To attract participants, the initiative reached out to nature conservation organisations, activist groups as well as universities. As the latter presented a particular target group, the project held participatory lectures for staff and workshops for students at the University of Helsinki to discuss which model of mental health support they would like to adopt and what kind of emotional support would be of use.

About 1160 professionals (mainly women) attended around 30 training and other informational events.

Relevance

Case developed and implemented and partially funded as a CCA measure.

Additional Details

Stakeholder Participation

The idea for the project was initiated by Tunne ry - an NGO that was specifically founded in 2018 to address issues of mental health relating to climate and environmental change - together with the internationally recognised researcher of ecological emotions, Associate Professor Panu Pihkala from Helsinki University. It was then developed and jointly implemented with two other Finnish organisations: Nyyti ry, an organisation that promotes mental health among students specifically, and MIELI Mental Health Finland, which seeks to provide crisis support and prevent mental health issues in Finnish society and is the world’s oldest NGO dedicated to mental health. The project is funded by STEA, the Funding Centre for Social Welfare and Health Organisations in Finland.

Additional collaboration exists with the:

During the project planning process, a needs assessment was conducted through a survey with around 500 participants from the general public. Pilot groups and workshops were additionally set up to test the project’s approach. In-person meetings were foreseen, but due to the Covid-19 pandemic activities were moved online.

Success and Limiting Factors

The funding available for three years contributed to the success of the project implementation as it enabled the  free of charge access for the participants. The project received positive feedback from participants (high interest in gaining knowledge about eco-anxiety and eco-emotions, improved wellbeing and sense of common understanding), encouraging continuation of the project. Large media interest resulted in several invitations to various events. The involvement of a public personas (the Shouting Man) contributed to the success of the initiative, extending its reach.

One of the main challenges faced by the project arose from the fact that all activities had to be transferred online due to the Covid-19 pandemic. This affected the project’s ability to reach out to people and connect with them more meaningfully. Shorter, less in-depth online workshop formats were prepared to support the interest of the participants and to encourage their active participation.

Another challenge was the limited participation in the chats organised specifically for rural communities and farmers and the limited participation of people already having strong environmental identities (e.g. activist groups) in the project activities. Therefore, better integration of emotional support within the climate activity communities should be encouraged, instead of external mental health organisations becoming involved.

Costs and Benefits

STEA, the Funding Centre for Social Welfare and Health Organisations in Finland, provided the project with 640,000 € for a period of three years (2020-2022).

This enabled four employees (two full-time, two part-time) to dedicate their full attention to the project and the provision of mental health support free of charge to the participants. In turn, this has benefitted the numerous participants, and will likely benefit many more in an indirect manner due to trainings for professionals, the provision of resources on the project-website, newly developed practical concepts, and raised awareness around the topic. Furthermore, the promotion of mental health in the context of climate change can be an important driver for fostering effective climate actions.

The project was a bottom-up initiative that did not act upon any specific legislation. However, Finland has acknowledged potential mental health impacts of climate change in its climate change adaptation plan of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health (2021), including environmental or climate anxiety.

Implementation Time

The idea to address mental health issues related to environmental and climate change materialised in Tunne ry’s foundation in 2018, with a project proposal by all involved actors submitted in mid-2019. Project implementation started in early 2020 to continue until the end of 2022, under the current funding period. Plans exist to continue the activities beyond this timeframe if additional resources become available, potentially adjusting the scope and format based on lessons learned from the current project, and possibly engaging new partners.

Life Time

Due to the project features, the lifetime of “mind of eco-anxiety” corresponds to its implementation time (3 years). However, the positive effects of improving knowledge, awareness and coping skills are expected to last longer than the project duration itself, creating the conditions for actual climate actions.

Reference Information

Contact

Hanna Rintala,

specialist in environmental emotions and support,  Nyyti ry

hanna.rintala@nyyti.fi

Reference

Burenby, L., Partonen, T., Carter, T. R., Ruuhela, R., Halonen, J. (2021). Climate Change and Mental Health. Discussion Paper 32/2021. Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare.  

Clayton, S. (2020). Climate anxiety: Psychological responses to climate change. Journal of Anxiety Disorders, 74, 102263. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.janxdis.2020.102263

Hickman, C., Marks, E., Pihkala, P., Clayton, S., Lewandowski, E., Mayall, E., Wray, B., Mellor, C., van Susteren, L. (2021). Climate anxiety in children and young people and their beliefs about government responses to climate change: a global survey. The Lancet Planetary Health, 5(12), E863-E873. https://doi.org/10.1016/S2542-5196(21)00278-3

Lawrance, E., Thompson, R., Fontana, G., Jennings, N. (2021). The impact of climate change on mental health and emotional wellbeing: current evidence and implications for policy and practice. Grantham Institute, Briefing Paper No 36, Imperial College London.  https://doi.org/10.25561/88568 

Pihkala, P. (2020a). Anxiety and the Ecological Crisis: An Analysis of Eco-Anxiety and Climate Anxiety. Sustainability, 12(19), 7836. https://doi.org/10.3390/su12197836

Pihkala, P. (2020b). Eco-Anxiety and Environmental Education. Sustainability, 12(23), 10149. https://doi.org/10.3390/su122310149

Wu, J., Snell, G., Samji, H. (2020). Climate anxiety in young people: a call to action. The Lancet, 4(10), pp E435-E436. https://doi.org/10.1016/S2542-5196(20)30223-0

Published in Climate-ADAPT Apr 01 2022   -   Last Modified in Climate-ADAPT May 25 2022


Please contact us for any other enquiry on this Case Study or to share a new Case Study (email climate.adapt@eea.europa.eu)

Document Actions