Startseite Datenbank Fallstudien Die Renovierung des Gomeznarro-Parks in Madrid konzentrierte sich auf die Regenwasserrückhaltung.

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Fallstudien

Die Renovierung des Gomeznarro-Parks in Madrid konzentrierte sich auf die Regenwasserrückhaltung.

Die Renovierung des Gomeznarro-Parks in Madrid konzentrierte sich auf die Regenwasserrückhaltung.

Aufgrund der schrägen Topographie und der undurchlässigen Bodenoberfläche war der Gomeznarro-Park in Madrid bei starken Regenfällen von Erosion betroffen, und die umliegenden Wohngebiete litten unter Überschwemmungen. Als Reaktion auf diese Probleme wurden 2003 komplexe Arbeiten zur Verbesserung der natürlichen Entwässerung und der Regenwasserrückhaltung im Park durchgeführt. Dazu gehörten der Ersatz des undurchlässigen Pflasters durch durchlässige Oberflächen, die Wiederherstellung verdichteter Böden, die Revegetation der von Erosion bedrohten Gebiete und die Installation von unterirdischen Regenwassersammelsystemen und Speichertanks. Diese Maßnahmen reduzierten das Problem der Erosion und Blitzfluten im Gebiet erheblich, reduzierten den Druck auf das Abwassermanagementsystem und etablierten einen natürlicheren Wasserkreislauf in der Region. Ein weiterer Vorteil war die erhöhte Feuchtigkeit im Boden, die auch zur Abmilderung des städtischen Wärmeinseleffekts im und um den Park beiträgt.

Beschreibung der Fallstudien

Herausforderungen

Der Park zeichnet sich durch steile Hänge aus. Dies führte in Kombination mit verdichteten Böden und einem beträchtlichen Anteil versiegelter Oberflächen im Park zu einer geringen Infiltration von Wasser in den Boden und zu intensivem Wasserabfluss und Erosion bei Starkregenereignissen. Die Wohnungen in der Nähe waren regelmäßig von Überschwemmungen betroffen, und die Keller und Erdgeschosse litten unter Feuchtigkeit, was zu Unannehmlichkeiten und Gesundheitsgefahren für die Anwohner führte. Darüber hinaus trug der Abfluss eine beträchtliche Menge suspendierter Stoffe mit sich, die eine Belastung für das Abwassermanagementsystem in der Stadt darstellten. Niedrige Infiltrationsraten implizierten einen niedrigen Feuchtigkeitsgehalt im Boden. Infolgedessen hatte das Parkgebiet Schwierigkeiten bei der Unterstützung erheblicher Vegetation und sorgte daher bei heißem Wetter nicht für so viel Abkühlung wie möglich.

In Zukunft werden häufigere extreme Wetterbedingungen wie Hitzewellen und Starkregenereignisse erwartet. Im Rahmen des Hochemissionsszenarios (RCP 8.5) werden bis Ende des Jahrhunderts extreme Hitzewellen alle zwei Jahre projiziert, und in Südeuropa werden die stärksten Auswirkungen erwartet. Die durchschnittliche jährliche Niederschlagsmenge wird insbesondere in der Sommerzeit voraussichtlich sinken. Zusammen mit längeren Trockenperioden wird in den meisten Ländern Europas eine höhere Intensität von Starkniederschlägen erwartet. (EWR 2017).

Die beschlossene Lösung im Gomeznarro-Park hat zur Verbesserung der Widerstandsfähigkeit des Wohngebiets gegen starke Regenfälle und Dürreereignisse beigetragen. Darüber hinaus verbessern die erhöhte Infiltrationskapazität und die erhöhte Wasserverfügbarkeit für die Parkvegetation sowie eine reduzierte Oberflächenableitung das Mikroklima in der Umgebung, das besonders bei Hitzeperioden wichtig ist.

Ziele

Ziel dieser Initiative war es, den natürlichen Wasserkreislauf im urbanisierten Gebiet des Gomeznarro-Parks wiederherzustellen. Die spezifischen Ziele waren:

  • Regeneration der Parklandschaft;
  • Beseitigung oder erhebliche Verringerung der Abflussprozesse;
  • Verringerung des Wasservolumens mit hohem Gehalt an Schwebstoffen, von denen Menge und Qualität bei Starkregenereignissen das städtische Entwässerungssystem beeinflussten;
  • Demonstration der Effizienz neuer wasserempfindlicher Materialien und Techniken zur Regenwasserbewirtschaftung.
Lösungen

Das 10,000 große Gebiet des Gomeznarro Parks im südlichen Teil von Madrid, im Bezirk Hortaleza, wurde durch die Anwendung einer Kombination aus grauer und grüner Infrastruktur umgestaltet. Zu den im Park durchgeführten Interventionen gehörten:

  • Umstrukturierung und/oder Ersatz des erodierten und verdichteten Bodens;
  • Entfernung von undurchlässigen Gehwegen und deren Ersatz durch durchlässige Oberflächen, wodurch die Wasserentwässerung und -entwässerung erleichtert wird;
  • Installation von unterirdischen Speichertanks unter den Gehwegen und dem dazugehörigen Wassersammel- und -verteilungssystem;
  • Wiedervegetation der erodierten Bereiche.

Im Jahr 2004 erhielt das Projekt eine „Good Practice“-Qualifikation im Rahmen des Best-Practice-Preises durch UN Habitat (UN Habitat Best Practice Database). Die Wasserinfiltrations- und -sammlungstechnologie wurde anschließend in mehreren Projekten in Madrid und anderswo in Spanien nachgebildet und ähnliche Lösungen werden derzeit auch international weit verbreitet. Die nachhaltigen Entwässerungssysteme wurden später für eine Vielzahl von Stadtentwicklungsprojekten in Spanien verwendet, wie z. B.:

  • Schaffung von Stadtparks (z. B. Barrio les Roquetes in Barcelona im Jahr 2017);
  • Begrünung von Straßenlandschaften (z. B. Barrio Bon Pastor in Barcelona im Jahr 2016);
  • Durchlässige Verkehrsinfrastruktur (z. B. grüne Abdeckung des Bahnhofs Logroño in den Jahren 2012-2013, durchlässige Schulter der Autobahn A-6 in Valladolid 2008, Verbesserung der städtischen Straßen in Torre Baró, Barcelona, 2008):
  • Recycling von Regenwasser zur Bewässerung (z. B. ein Sportplatz in Las Palmas in den Jahren 2016-2017, das Grundstück und die vegetate Fassade eines Zentrums für ältere Menschen in Madrid in 2017-2018).
Relevanz

Case mainly developed and implemented because of other policy objectives, but with significant consideration of Climate Change Adaptation aspects

Zusätzliche Details

Stakeholderbeteiligung

Das Projekt wurde von der Stadt Madrid vorangetrieben und finanziert. Die Technologie und Beratung für die Intervention wurde von einem privaten Beratungsunternehmen zur Verfügung gestellt. Der Park ist von Sozialwohnungen umgeben, die in den 1960er Jahren gebaut wurden. Die Beschwerden der Mieter über die durch Blitzfluten verursachte Feuchtigkeit in ihren Häusern gaben dem Wohnungsverband einen Impuls, die Wohngebäude zu sanieren. Dieser Prozess wurde in den Gemeindeplan und die Revitalisierung des Gomeznarro-Parks integriert.

Erfolgsfaktoren und Hemmnisse

Die Beschwerden der Bewohner der Nachbarschaft waren ein wichtiger Motor für die Verbesserung des Entwässerungssystems des Parks in ein Programm der Stadtsanierung. Der Zustand des Parkgebiets hatte bereits aufgrund von Wolkenbrüchen für die Bewohner Probleme bei überfluteten Gebäuden verursacht.

Die Technologie und die verwendeten Materialien waren damals in Spanien neu. Dies führte zu Verzögerungen bei der Umsetzung, da der Entwurf sorgfältig geplant werden musste; die Genehmigungskriterien für die vom privaten Berater und Anbieter der Technologie vorgeschlagenen Lösungen mussten festgelegt werden; und die Auftragnehmer mussten gründlich informiert werden.

Eine besondere Schwierigkeit ergab sich aus der Notwendigkeit, verschiedene kommunale Abteilungen (Wassermanagement, Bau, Planung, Umwelt u. a.) in die Planung und Lieferung einzubeziehen. Der in dieser Fallstudie gewählte Ansatz zur Entwässerung städtischer Grünflächen wurde an anderen Orten in Madrid und anderswo in Spanien wiederholt.

Kosten und Nutzen

Die Stadt Madrid finanzierte das Projekt. Die Baukosten beliefen sich auf 343,600 EUR (ca. 34 EUR/). Obwohl der Nutzen nicht geldwert bewertet wurde, fallen im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Landschaftsbaulösungen, die in Parks verwendet werden, keine zusätzlichen Wartungskosten an. Das Projekt führte zu einer Verringerung der Erosion, des Hochwasserrisikos und des Drucks auf die Entwässerungssysteme. Der Park erhält jährlich etwa 5 Millionen Liter Regenwasser, das nun nicht in das Entwässerungssystem gelangt, sondern den Grundwasserspiegel wieder auflädt und einen geringeren Bedarf an zusätzlicher Bewässerung durch Parkwartung ergibt. Weitere Vorteile sind verbesserte Luftqualität und reduzierte Lufttemperaturen im und um den Park.

Im Jahr 2002 führte die Stadt Madrid eine obligatorische Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung für jeden städtischen Wandel in der Stadt ein (Ley 2/2002, De 19 de Junio, de Evaluación Ambiental de la Comunidad De Madrid), einschließlich der Verringerung des Wasserverbrauchs als eines der Bewertungskriterien.

Nach Abschluss des Projekts wurde ein kommunales Gesetz zur effizienten Wassernutzung (Ordenanza de Gestión y Uso Eficiente del Agua en la Ciudad de Madrid ANM 2006\50) eingeführt, das ausdrücklich Maßnahmen zur Verringerung des Wasserverbrauchs und zur Schaffung von Wasserreserven in Madrid erfordert.

Umsetzungszeitraum

Die Planungsphase dauerte 3 Monate. Die Umsetzung dauerte ebenfalls drei Monate, von Januar bis März 2003.

Lebensdauer

Die Infrastruktur ist noch vorhanden und funktioniert. Sofern keine Schäden am unterirdischen Wasserverteilungs- und -sammelsystem entstehen, gibt es für die Lösung keine Lebensdauerbegrenzung.

Referenzinformationen

Kontakt

Technical contact
Pedro Lasa
SUDS-ATLANTIS
C\Portuetxe 23 B edificio Cemei oficina 201
20018 San Sebastián
Tel: +34 943 394399
E-mail: pedrolasa@drenajesostenible.es 

web-site: www.drenajesostenible.com 

Referenz

UN Habitat Best Practices Database, SUDS-ATLANTIS

Veröffentlicht in Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Zuletzt aktualisiert in Climate-ADAPT Feb 19 2024


Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns für eine weitere Fragen zu dieser Fallstudie oder um eine neue Fallstudie zu einzureichen (E -Mail Climate.adapt@eea.europa.eu ))

Artikelaktionen

Home Database Case studies The refurbishment of Gomeznarro park in Madrid focused on storm water retention
Case studies

The refurbishment of Gomeznarro park in Madrid focused on storm water retention

The refurbishment of Gomeznarro park in Madrid focused on storm water retention

As a result of sloped topography and impermeable ground surface, the Gomeznarro Park in Madrid was affected by erosion during heavy rainfall events, and the surrounding residential areas suffered from flash flooding. In response to these problems, in 2003 complex works aiming at improving the natural drainage and rainwater retention were carried out in the park. These included replacement of impervious pavement with permeable surfaces, restoration of compacted soils, revegetation of the areas at risk of erosion and installation of underground rainwater collection system and storage tanks. These measures significantly reduced the problem of erosion and flash flooding in the area, reduced pressure on wastewater management system and established a more natural water cycle in the area. An additional benefit came from the increased moisture in the soil that also helps to mitigate the urban heat island effect in and around the park.

Case Study Description

Challenges

The park is characterised by steep slopes. This, in combination with compacted soils and considerable proportion of sealed surfaces in the park resulted in little infiltration of water into the ground, and intense water runoff and erosion during heavy rainfall events. The housing nearby was regularly affected by flooding, and the basements and ground floors were suffering from dampness, causing inconvenience and health hazards to local residents. In addition, the runoff carried a considerable amount of suspended matter that was a burden for the wastewater management system in the city. Low rates of infiltration implied low moisture levels in the soil. As a consequence, the park area had difficulties in supporting substantial vegetation and thus was not providing as much cooling as possible during hot weather.

In the future, more frequent extreme weather conditions, such as heatwaves and heavy rainfall events, are expected. Under the high emission scenario (RCP 8.5) extreme heatwaves are projected to occur every two years by the end of the century and the strongest impacts are expected in southern Europe. The mean annual precipitation is expected to decrease particularly in the summertime. Along with longer dry periods, higher intensity of heavy precipitation events is expected in most of Europe. (EEA 2017).

The adopted solution in Gomeznarro park has contributed to the improvement of the resilience of the residential area to heavy rainfall and drought events. In addition, increased infiltration capacity and the increased water availability for the park vegetation, as well as reduced surface run-off, improve the microclimate in the area, which is especially important during heat spells.

Objectives

The aim of this initiative was to restore the natural water cycle in the urbanised area of Gomeznarro Park. The specific objectives were:

  • Regeneration of the park landscape;
  • Elimination or significant reduction of runoff processes;
  • Reduction of the volume of water with high levels of suspended matter, of which the quantity and quality affected the urban drainage system during heavy rain events;
  • Demonstration of the efficiency of new water sensitive materials and rainwater management techniques.
Solutions

The 10,000 m2 area of the Gomeznarro Park located in the southern part of Madrid, in Hortaleza District, underwent a transformation through the application of a combination of grey and green infrastructure. The interventions implemented in the park included:

  • Restructuring and/or replacement of the eroded and compacted soil;
  • Removal of impervious pavements and their replacement with permeable surfaces, thereby facilitating water drainage and collection;
  • Installation of underground storage tanks under the pavements and the associated water collection and distribution system;
  • Re-vegetation of the eroded areas.

In 2004, the project received a ‘good practice’ qualification as part of the best practice award scheme by UN Habitat (UN Habitat Best practices database). The water infiltration and collection technology has been subsequently replicated in several projects in Madrid and elsewhere in Spain and similar solutions are also currently widely used internationally. The sustainable drainage systems have later been used for a variety of urban development projects in Spain such as:

  • Creation of urban parks (e.g. Barrio les Roquetes in Barcelona in 2017);
  • Greening of streetscapes (e.g. Barrio Bon Pastor in Barcelona in 2016);
  • Permeable transport infrastructure (e.g. Green cover of the Logroño train station in 2012-2013, permeable shoulder of highway A-6 in Valladolid in 2008, urban street improvement in Torre Baró, Barcelona, in 2008):
  • Recycling of rainwater to irrigation (e.g. a sports field in Las Palmas in 2016-2017, the plot and the vegetated facade of a centre for the elderly in Madrid in 2017-2018).
Relevance

Case mainly developed and implemented because of other policy objectives, but with significant consideration of CCA aspects

Additional Details

Stakeholder Participation

The project was driven and funded by the Madrid municipality. The technology and consultancy for the intervention was provided by a private consultancy company. The park is surrounded by social housing built in the 1960s. Tenants’ complaints about the dampness in their houses caused by flash flooding provided an impulse for the housing association to refurbish the residential buildings. This process was integrated with the municipality’s plan and the revitalisation of the Gomeznarro park.

Success and Limiting Factors

The complaints by inhabitants of the neighbourhood were a key driver for including the improvement of the park’s drainage system in a programme of urban rehabilitation. The state of the park area had already caused problems for residents in terms of flooded buildings as a result of cloud bursts.

The technology and materials applied were novel to Spain, at that time. This caused delays in implementation, as the design had to be carefully planned; approval criteria for the solutions proposed by the private consultant and provider of the technology had to be defined; and the contractors had to be thoroughly briefed.

A particular difficulty arose as a result of the need to engage different municipal departments (water management, construction, planning, environment and others) in the planning and delivery. The drainage of urban green spaces approach adopted in this case study has been replicated in other locations in Madrid and elsewhere in Spain.

Costs and Benefits

The municipality of Madrid financed the project. The construction cost was €343,600 (approximately € 34/m2). Whilst the benefits have not been assessed in monetary terms, there are no additional maintenance costs compared to traditional landscaping solutions used in parks. The project resulted in reduced erosion, risk of flooding and pressure on the drainage systems. The park receives about 5 million litres of rainwater annually, which now does not enter the drainage system but instead recharges the groundwater levels and results in a lower need for additional watering by park maintenance. Further benefits include improved air quality and reduced air temperatures in and around the park.

In 2002, the Municipality of Madrid introduced compulsory environmental impacts assessment for any urban transformation undertaken in the city (Ley 2/2002, De 19 de Junio, de Evaluación Ambiental de la Comunidad De Madrid), including the reduction of water consumption as one of the assessment criteria.

Following the completion of the project, a municipal by-law for efficient use of water was introduced (Ordenanza de Gestión y Uso Eficiente del Agua en la Ciudad de Madrid ANM 2006\50) which explicitly requires measures for reduction of water consumption and creation of water reserves in Madrid.

Implementation Time

The planning phase lasted 3 months. Implementation also took 3 months, from January to March 2003.

Life Time

The infrastructure is still in place and functioning. Provided that there is no damage to the underground water distribution and collection system, there is no lifespan limit for the solution.

Reference Information

Contact

Technical contact
Pedro Lasa
SUDS-ATLANTIS
C\Portuetxe 23 B edificio Cemei oficina 201
20018 San Sebastián
Tel: +34 943 394399
E-mail: pedrolasa@drenajesostenible.es 

web-site: www.drenajesostenible.com 

Reference

UN Habitat Best Practices Database, SUDS-ATLANTIS

Published in Climate-ADAPT Jun 07 2016   -   Last Modified in Climate-ADAPT Apr 19 2021


Please contact us for any other enquiry on this Case Study or to share a new Case Study (email climate.adapt@eea.europa.eu)

Document Actions