Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
We are currently facing a technical issue with the website which affects the display of data. The full functionality will be restored as soon as possible. We appreciate your understanding. If you have any questions or issues, please contact EEA Helpdesk (helpdesk@eea.europa.eu).

Länderprofile

Lettland

 

 

 

Die Quellen, die für die Erstellung von Gesundheits- und Anpassungsinformationen für Länderprofile verwendet werden, sind von Land zu Land unterschiedlich. Für die EU-Mitgliedstaaten beruhen die Informationen auf ihrer offiziellen Anpassungsberichterstattung: Anpassungsberichterstattung 2021 im Rahmen der Verordnung über das Regieren der Energieunion und des Klimaschutzes (siehe EU-Anpassungsberichterstattung, Länderprofile Klima-ADAPT) und Anpassungsberichterstattung 2019 gemäß der Verordnung über den EU-Treibhausgasüberwachungsmechanismus. Diese beiden Berichterstattungsmechanismen werden hier zusammen als „offizielle Berichte der EU über die Anpassung“ bezeichnet. Hinweis: Die einschlägigen Informationen wurden aus der amtlichen Mitteilung der EU über die Anpassung (bis zum 21. Juli 2021 übermittelt) kopiert, ohne den Inhalt des Textes weiter zu erläutern. Einige Informationen, die zum Zeitpunkt der Berichterstattung gültig sind, sind möglicherweise heute nicht mehr gültig. Alle notwendigen Ergänzungen zum Text werden deutlich hervorgehoben.

Darüber hinaus zusammengestellte Informationen in der Analyse des Klimawandels und der Gesundheit der EUA: die nationale Überprüfung der Politik in Europa (2021), der Länderbogen für die Anpassungsvorsorge ( 2018) und die WHO-Studie zu Politiken im Bereich der öffentlichen Gesundheit und der Anpassung an den Klimawandel in der Europäischen Union (2018) werden vorgestellt. Hinweis: Einige Informationen, die zum Zeitpunkt der Veröffentlichung gültig sind, sind möglicherweise heute nicht mehr gültig. Alle notwendigen Ergänzungen zum Text werden deutlich hervorgehoben.

Die Informationsquellen für Nicht-EU-Mitgliedstaaten des EWR sind begrenzter.

Informationen aus dem EWR-Bericht. Klimawandel und Gesundheit: der nationale politische Überblick in Europa (2022)

Die nationalen Strategien zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel und nationale Gesundheitsstrategien wurden analysiert, um die Erfassung klimabezogener Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit (physisch, mental und sozial) und die Arten von Interventionen zu ermitteln. Der Bericht bietet einen europäischen Überblick, während die geografische Abdeckung verschiedener Aspekte der nationalen Politik in ganz Europa mit Hilfe des Kartenbetrachters visualisiert werden kann. Die Ergebnisse für Lettland werden hier zusammengefasst.

Überprüfte Richtliniendokumente:

Nationaler Anpassungsplan Lettlands (2019)  

Leitlinien für die öffentliche Gesundheit 2014-2020 

Aspekte, die im überarbeiteten Strategiepapier behandelt werden:

Informationen aus der amtlichen Berichterstattung der EU über die Anpassung. GovReg-Berichterstattung (2021), MMR-Berichterstattung (2019)

Einer der Sektoren, die im Nationalen Anpassungsplan (NAP, 2019 [Editoren]) behandelt werden, ist Gesundheit und Wohlergehen. Das Gesundheitsministerium gehört zu den für die Umsetzung des NAP zuständigen Ministerien.

Die allgemeine Priorität Lettlands bei der Anpassung an den Klimawandel besteht darin, die Anfälligkeit von Menschen, Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Bau und Umwelt gegenüber den Auswirkungen des Klimawandels zu verringern. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, hat der NAP mehr als 80 konkrete Anpassungsmaßnahmen und 5 strategische Ziele zur Bewältigung der Risiken des Klimawandels. Katastrophenrisikomanagement und Katastrophenschutz sind eines der fünf strategischen Ziele des NAP: „Das menschliche Leben, die Gesundheit und das Wohlbefinden sind unabhängig von Geschlecht, Alter und sozialem Hintergrund vor den negativen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels geschützt“. Um das Ziel zu erreichen, sind Maßnahmen geplant, die sowohl auf die menschliche Gesundheit und das Wohlergehen als auch auf den Katastrophenschutz abzielen, wie die Verbesserung des Frühwarnsystems (insbesondere bei Wetterextremen), den Zugang zu kostenlosem Trinkwasser an öffentlichen Stellen, das Bewusstsein bei Bildungs- und Sozialeinrichtungen, die Ausarbeitung von Empfehlungen für Sozialeinrichtungen und Sozialarbeiter zu Gesundheitspräventionsmaßnahmen bei Hitzewellen usw.

Es wurden Bewertungen der primären und sekundären Auswirkungen des Klimawandels, der Risiken und der Anfälligkeit durchgeführt, die auch Kosten-Nutzen-Analysen für Anpassungsmaßnahmen, Indikatoren und Entwürfe für das Überwachungssystem umfassten. Die untersuchten Sektoren befassten sich auch mit Gesundheit und Wohlfahrt.

Informationen aus WHO-Publikation. Politik deröffentlichen Gesundheit und der Anpassung an den Klimawandel in der Europäischen Union

Country profiles

Latvia

 

 

 

The sources used to compile the health and adaptation information for country profiles vary across countries. For EU Member States, information is based on their official adaptation reporting: 2021 adaptation reporting under the Regulation on the Governance of the Energy Union and Climate Action (see EU Adaptation ReportingClimate-ADAPT Country Profiles) and 2019 adaptation reporting under the EU Greenhouse Gas Monitoring Mechanism Regulation. These two reporting mechanisms are together referred to here as “EU official reporting on adaptation”. Note: The relevant information has been copied from the EU official reporting on adaptation (submitted until July 21, 2021), without further elaborating the contents of the text. Some information, valid at the time of reporting, may no longer be valid today. Any necessary additions to the text are clearly highlighted. 

In addition, information collated in the Adaptation preparedness scoreboard country fiches (2018) and the WHO study on Public health and climate change adaptation policies in the European Union (2018) are presented. Note: Some information, valid at the time of publication, may no longer be valid today. Any necessary additions to the text are clearly highlighted. 

Information sources for non-EU member countries of the EEA are more limited. 

Information from EU official reporting on adaptation. GovReg reporting (2021), MMR reporting (2019)

One of the sectors addressed in the National Adaptation Plan  (NAP, 2019 [editors]) is health and welfare. The Ministry of Health is among the ministries responsible for implementation of the NAP.

The overall climate change adaptation priority of Latvia is to reduce the vulnerability of people, economy, infrastructure, construction and environment to the impacts of climate change. To meet this aim, the NAP has more than 80 concrete adaptation measures and 5 Strategic goals to address climate change risks. Disaster risk management and civil protection is one of the five strategic goals of NAP: 'Human life, health and well-being, regardless of gender, age and social background, are protected from the adverse effects of climate change'. To achieve the goal there are planned measures to address both – human health and well-being, and civil protection, such as improvement of early warning system (especially on weather extremes), access to free drinking water in public places, awareness rising among educational and social care institutions, development of recommendations for social care institutions and social workers on health prevention measures during heat waves etc.

Assessments on primary and secondary impacts of climate change, risks and vulnerability have been carried out, which also included cost-benefit analysis for adaptation measures, indicators and draft for the monitoring system. The analysed sectors also covered health and welfare.

Information from WHO publication. Public health and climate change adaptation policies in the European Union (2018)

In accordance with a decision of the Latvian Cabinet of Ministers, two working groups were set up in 2008, based on a Cabinet-approved report on adaptation to climate change: an intergovernmental expert group, consisting of representatives from ministries, and an expert group, consisting of scientists, specialists from different agencies and representatives of companies and the insurance sector. Public health authorities are also represented in these working groups.

Latvia is in the process of including health aspects related to climate change impacts, risks, policies, measures and indicators for monitoring in a national adaptation climate change strategy to 2030. Climate change risks are also mentioned in the national public health programme for 2014-2020.

Disaster-related risks are defined within the civil protection mechanism – specifically storms, rainfall, intense snowfall, flooding and forest and peat bog fires. A state emergency medicine plan has been developed for health sector preparedness and response, which includes descriptions of responses in the event of disasters related to climate.

Resources in the Observatory catalogue on Latvia