You are here: Home / Countries, regions and cities / Transnational regions / Adriatic-Ionian Area
Region's countries:
Croatia, Greece, Italy, Slovenia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia

Adriatic-Ionian Area

Policy framework

a. Transnational cooperation programme

The Adriatic-Ionian Programme (ADRION) belongs to the family of the INTERREG V transnational 2014-2020 programmes and forms part of the Cohesion policy of the European Union. Its geography coincides with the macro-regional strategy EUSAIR – European Strategy for the Adriatic Ionian Region. The aim of the programme is to promote the sustainable economic and social prosperity of the Adriatic and Ionian area through growth and jobs creation, by improving its attractiveness, competitiveness and connectivity while at the same time preserving the environment and ensuring healthy and balanced marine and coastal ecosystems.

For the period 2014-2020 ADRION will focus on four priorities:

  1. Innovative and Smart Region
  2. Sustainable Region
  3. Connected Region
  4. Supporting the governance of the EUSAIR

These four priorities will work towards:

  • Strengthening research, technological development and innovation;
  • Preserving and protecting the environment and promoting resource efficiency;
  • Promoting sustainable transport and remove bottlenecks in key network infrastructures;
  • Enhancing the institutional capacity of public authorities and stakeholders and the efficient public administration.

Adaptation is covered under sub-section on ‘Climate change and risks' within the second priority of the programme on ‘preserving and protecting the environment and promoting resource efficiency'. In addition to this, ADRION addresses a number of horizontal thematic aspects linked to EU regulations and other cross-sectoral themes related to adaptation such as sustainable development and the eco-systemic approach. The programme was launched in December 2015.


b. Macro-region Strategies

Adriatic-Ionian macro-region

The Region is a functional area primarily defined by the Adriatic and Ionian Seas basin. It also covers an important terrestrial surface area, and treats the marine coastal and terrestrial areas as interconnected systems with intensified movements of goods, services and people. The Region plays a key role in strengthening geographical continuity in Europe. The Strategy builds on the Adriatic-Ionian Initiative, which involves eight countries.

Some areas of the Adriatic–Ionian macro-region region overlap with other macro-regions that may have relevant information in their strategies. This is the case for the Danube macro-region.



Assessments and projects

a. Projects funded in 2014-2020

The programme was launched in December 2015. The first call is currently open and closes on 25th March 2016.


b. Projects funded in 2007-2013

The geographic scope of the new programme is slightly different to the geographic scope of the previous "South East Europe 2007-2013" programme. However, a number of countries from the Adriatic-Ionian region were involved in these projects and the results may be useful.

The SEERISK project focused on natural hazards and addressed disaster risk assessment and management in the context of climate change.

The OrientGate project aimed to coordinate climate change adaptation efforts. It developed a methodology for assessing risks of climate variability and change, and to harmonise risk assessments and encourage inclusion of climate adaptation knowledge in territorial planning and development.


c. Other policy and assessment initiatives not funded within the Transnational Programmes

The Drought Management Centre for South East Europe (DMCSEE) coordinates development and application of drought risk management tools and policies with the goal of improving preparedness and reducing drought impacts. DMCSEE is co-financed by European Union through South East Europe Transnational Cooperation Programme and it includes 15 partners from 9 countries.

The Environment and Climate Regional Accession Network (ECRAN) is financed by the EU and managed by the European Commission. It assists the beneficiaries in exchange of information and experience in the fields of environment and climate action related to preparation for accession. There are various Climate Action Working Groups and adaptation is number 4. There are two specific tasks being implemented under this working group: Task 4.1: Best practices on adaptation and regional training on vulnerability assessments and Task 4.2: Support for the identification of adaptation options.

Document Actions