You are here: Home / Countries, regions and cities / Transnational regions / Northern Periphery and Artic
Region's countries:
Finland, Ireland, Sweden, United Kingdom, Iceland, Norway, Greenland, Faroe Islands

Northern Periphery and Artic

Policy framework

a. Transnational cooperation programme

The Northern Periphery and Artic (NPA) programme belongs to the family of the INTERREG V transnational 2014-2020 programmes and forms part of the Cohesion policy of the European Union. It is a cooperation between nine EU and non EU Member countries encompassing the Euro-Arctic zone, and under specific circumstances it might also involve partners outside the programme area. The programme's vision is to help generate vibrant, competitive and sustainable communities, by harnessing innovation, expanding the capacity for entrepreneurship and seizing the unique growth initiatives and opportunities of the Northern and Artic regions in a resource efficient way.

For the period 2014-2020 the NPA programme will focus on four priorities:

  1. Using innovation to maintain and develop robust and competitive communities
  2. Promoting entrepreneurship to realise the potential of the programme area's competitive advantage
  3. Fostering energy-secure communities through promotion of renewable energy and energy efficiency
  4. Protecting, promoting and developing cultural and natural heritage

During this period, the Programme is expected to contribute towards:

  • Changing the attitude and actual behaviour in relation to innovation processes, entrepreneurship and market behaviour among small and medium sized enterprises in the low densely populated areas outside the regional centres;
  • Enhancing the capacity and preparedness in local and regional communities to handle the risks connected to climate change and large-scale exploitation of natural resources.

The NPA 2014-2020 programme considers adaptation explicitly in its thematic objectives (i.e. TO5). In addition to the thematic orientation, the programme addresses three horizontal thematic aspects highlighted in EU regulations. Among others, these include environmental sustainability, which underlines the need to implement adaptation measures in the area, if resilience to climate change is to be strengthened. Furthermore, the NPA programme is expected to contribute to the generation of adaptation knowledge which is required for the development of other relevant / needed skills and awareness raising.


Assessments and projects

a. Projects funded in 2014-2020

The Renewable Community Empowerment in Northern Territories (RECENT) project, funded under the priority axis 3, aims to increase energy knowledge in rural communities and help them to have more resilient and energy efficient public infrastructure capable of handling climate change related risks. The project will develop 24 pilot community energy and energy efficiency projects across 5 NPA countries, with a focus on the innovative use of community-owned water assets.

The results of the third call for projects are available here.  Some projects address environmental sustainability (ASCENT, BUSK) and may include elements of adaptation to climate change. The fourth call for applications will open on 1st May and close on 30th September 2016.


b. Projects funded in 2007-2013

The overall objective of the Clim-ATIC project is to establish a sustainable advice and training service for community climate change adaptation across the whole of the Northern Periphery.

Document Actions