Accueil Base de données Études de cas Renforcer la résilience au feu en utilisant de l’eau recyclée à Riba-Roja de Túria, Espagne

Exclusion of liability

This translation is generated by eTranslation, a machine translation tool provided by the European Commission.

Website experience degraded
The European Climate and Health Observatory is undergoing reconstruction until June 2024 to improve its performance. We apologise for any possible disturbance to the content and functionality of the platform.
Études de cas

Renforcer la résilience au feu en utilisant de l’eau recyclée à Riba-Roja de Túria, Espagne

Renforcer la résilience au feu en utilisant de l’eau recyclée à Riba-Roja de Túria, Espagne

La zone urbaine entourée de forêts de Riba-Roja de Túria (Valence, Espagne) est exposée à une augmentation des incendies de forêt. La municipalité vise à renforcer la résilience en mettant en œuvre des actions urbaines vertes, notamment en recyclant 80 000 m³ d’eaux usées et en créant des pare-feu verts pour atténuer les risques d’incendie de forêt.

RIBA-Roja de Túria est une municipalité située dans le parc national de Túria à Valence (Espagne) qui représente l’un des derniers poumons forestiers restants dans sa zone métropolitaine. Le parc Túria représente également un exemple clair des rares et précieuses forêts riveraines méditerranéennes associées à la rivière Túria. Il est riche en biodiversité avec la présence de pins d’Alep et de gommages méditerranéens, ainsi qu’en termes de traditions, de paysages agricoles et de patrimoine culturel local liés à l’ancienne agriculture valencienne. Sa classification en tant que Parc Naturel a assuré la conservation de toutes ces valeurs au sein d’une zone fortement peuplée et industrialisée.

La région est composée d’une agglomération croissante de petites villes avec des colonies dispersées et entremêlées avec des terres boisées. En cas d’incendie de forêt, ce frottement des agglomérations urbaines avec les zones boisées (également appelées terres sauvages) crée une exposition potentielle des structures et des citoyens qui peuvent avoir d’énormes conséquences. Aujourd’hui, ces communes sont submergées par une situation caractérisée par une croissance remarquable de la population en été (pendant le pic de la saison des incendies), principalement en raison de résidents secondaires, entourés de forêts (faible sylviculture et gestion), de champs agricoles abandonnés et d’un grave manque d’eau.

La municipalité de Riba-Roja de Túria dirige le projet GUARDIAN, visant à accroître la résilience des municipalités espagnoles face aux risques d’incendies de forêt grâce à la mise en œuvre d’actions urbaines vertes. La zone à protéger a une extension de 35 hectares et est peuplée d’environ 15,000 habitants qui sont potentiellement touchés par les incendies.

Environ 80,000 m3 d’ eau recyclée annuelle provenant de la station d’épuration urbaine des eaux usées sont disponibles dans la région, ce qui pourrait grandement améliorer la capacité de faire face aux incendies de forêt. Dans ce contexte, une infrastructure hydraulique pour un traitement avancé des eaux usées est en cours de développement, dans le but d’offrir un outil défensif contre les risques d’incendie de forêt et de renforcer la résilience aux incendies de forêt. RIBA-Roja de Túria construit également des coupe-feu verts (c’est-à-dire des bandes de végétation à faible inflammabilité) pour accroître la résilience de la zone contre les incendies de forêt.

Description de l'étude de cas

Défis

La municipalité de Riba-Roja de Túria est soumise au risque croissant d’incendies de forêt. Ces événements sont extrêmement exacerbés par différents facteurs, tels que le changement climatique, l’abandon de l’agriculture et l’insuffisance de la gestion des forêts. Les conséquences sont non seulement liées aux ressources naturelles (perte de biodiversité, dégradation des sols), mais comprennent également des risques pour la vie des résidents, des dommages aux infrastructures urbaines et une diminution de la qualité de l’air, et ont un effet global négatif sur l’économie locale (par exemple, le tourisme). Au cours de la période 2000-2016, la municipalité a subi 40 incendies de forêt, qui deviennent de plus en plus destructeurs en raison du développement urbain rapide de la région. En outre, le changement climatique affecte de plus en plus la disponibilité des ressources en eau, qui sont essentielles pour la prévention et l’atténuation des incendies de forêt. Historiquement (1984-2013) et actuellement (période de référence 2015), la région est affectée par uneréduction annuelle du taux de précipitations de 5,5 %; lesprojections indiquent une diminution drastique des précipitations annuelles au cours du siècle entre -22,3 et -3,0 % (correspondant à une réduction de 103 et 162 mm) en fonction de la période sélectionnée (à court terme ou à long terme) et du scénario climatique. Une augmentation significative du nombre annuel de jours sans pluie est également prévue, atteignant plus de 30 jours à la fin du siècle, ce qui implique des sécheresses plus persistantes et plus graves.

Objectifs

L’objectif principal est d’accroître la résilience au feu dans la zone du parc naturel de Túria, en appliquant des principes de gestion durable de l’eau. Plus de 35 hectares de «nature stratégique» (c’est-à-dire des coupe-feu verts et des espèces végétales présentant des caractéristiques permettant de réduire le risque d’incendie) sont prévus afin d’éviter les incendies à l’interface urbaine-rurale, en protégeant les zones naturelles, la biodiversité, les terres agricoles et la population potentiellement affectée. L’utilisation de l’eau recyclée pour l’extinction du feu contribuera également à préserver les ressources en eau, dans une perspective d’avenir. En outre, il est reconnu que la protection contre les incendies à l’interface avec les zones urbaines (Wildland Urban Interface, WUI) n’est pas seulement une responsabilité des pompiers. Les décideurs et les praticiens, travaillant au WUI, doivent apprendre à utiliser des stratégies intégrées de résistance au feu, telles que la mise en œuvre de solutions d’irrigation et la prise en compte d’un cycle d’eau durable, en adaptant la demande d’eau à la disponibilité réelle de l’eau. Par conséquent, la sensibilisation du public à la prévention des incendies et à l’autodéfense est un autre objectif à poursuivre.

Solutions

RIBA-Roja de Túria a développé une stratégie de résilience au feu basée sur l’utilisation d’eau recyclée pour prévenir et protéger une zone située à l’interface sauvage-urbaine contre les incendies. La stratégie prévoit des schémas d’irrigation et de trempage préventifs, présuppression et extinction, programmés automatiquement pour: (I) augmenter l’humidité du carburant à tout moment pendant la saison des incendies, (ii) protéger directement contre la flamme de feu pendant l’étape de préparation au cas où un incendie est déclaré à proximité et (iii) réagir à un incendie par application directe de l’eau.

Pour mener à bien cette stratégie, trois actions principales de nature différente sont mises en œuvre:

  1. Construction d’une infrastructure hydraulique pour l’approvisionnement en eau recyclée, de la station de traitement des eaux usées de la ville à l’interface terre-urbaine sauvage de la région
  2. Concevoir, construire et entretenir des «ceintures vertes» transitoires autour de la zone urbaine (pare-feu vert), en réutilisant les eaux traitées, pour agir comme coupe-feu et prévenir l’avancée du feu dans la zone d’interface urbaine-forêt
  3. Mener des campagnes de sensibilisation et des activités de formation à l’intention des citoyens afin d’accroître la perception du risque d’incendie et les capacités d’autoprotection

Le système hydraulique est composé d’un réservoir principal de 500 m3 (le réservoir «Alpha»). Il collecte l’eau de la station de régénération de l’eau (WRS) et la distribue à 42 canons à eau (par exemple, des tours d’irrigation et d’arrosage) à travers plus de 6500 mètres de tuyaux et quatre réservoirs supplémentaires. L’eau traitée reçoit le réservoir Alpha par un équipement de pompage situé à la station de traitement et une conduite en polyéthylène de 63 mm de diamètre. Sur la base d’un réseau de capteurs, un système de surveillance et de commande calcule la quantité et la répartition spatiale de l’eau nécessaires pour compenser le déficit d’humidité du sol, et le délivre automatiquement pour prévenir et protéger contre les incendies.

L’eau récupérée provenant du WRS sera également utilisée pour améliorer la qualité de l’eau d’une zone humide existante (étang La Vallesa), qui est exploitée comme réservoir d’urgence naturel en plus des réservoirs. La zone est cataloguée comme zone humide protégée par le plan de gestion des ressources naturelles du gouvernement valencien. La station de régénération de l’eau permet un traitement avancé de l’eau pour éliminer les contaminants de l’eau tels que le chlorpyrifos, un pesticide commun provenant de l’eau influente, et garantit l’utilisation sécuritaire de l’eau recyclée dans le parc naturel. Cela permettra de réduire la charge actuelle des solides en suspension livrés à la zone humide, minimisant ainsi les processus d’envasement, ainsi que la restauration de l’ensemble du réseau hydraulique dans les environs. Certaines actions sylvicoles dans la région sont également prévues pour la garder propre de la végétation extraterrestre.

La municipalité de RIBA-Roja de Túria construit également des pare-feu verts pour accroître la résilience au feu de la région. Les coupe-feu verts sont des bandes de végétation à faible inflammabilité situées dans des zones stratégiques du territoire pour ralentir ou arrêter la progression des incendies de forêt. Les brise-feu verts sont constitués d’arbres stratégiquement plantés résistants au feu. Ils obtiennent de l’eau de l’infrastructure hydraulique pour humidifier la végétation dans la région et forment un épais mur vert face au vent dominant pour bloquer les cendres et la chaleur. Les espèces végétales sont sélectionnées en fonction des caractéristiques suivantes: faible inflammabilité, propriétés structurelles pour réduire la vitesse du vent, réduction de la charge de carburant, capacité à générer la croissance et le maintien des champignons pour améliorer l’état du sol, et une combinaison de plantes herbacées pour favoriser l’humidité du sol.

En outre, la municipalité de Riba-Roja de Túria mène des campagnes de sensibilisation pour former les citoyens à la prévention des incendies. Les séances de formation ciblent à la fois les résidents et les écoliers vivant à proximité des zones à risque d’incendie. Les résidents sont compétents en matière de prévention des incendies et de la façon dont l’infrastructure hydraulique peut minimiser les risques d’incendie, y compris une démonstration des canons à eau installés dans toute la région. Dans le cadre de ces formations, la ville organise également des ateliers sur le jardinage résistant au feu afin de développer davantage les compétences des citoyens en matière de prévention des incendies. Les écoliers, âgés de 6 à 11 ans, apprennent le changement climatique, y compris ses causes et ses effets, et les conséquences que les incendies peuvent avoir sur les maisons en fonction des mesures de résilience au feu adoptées.

Enfin, la municipalité de Riba-Roja de Túria a élaboré avec succès un plan d’action pour une solution intégrée visant à réduire les risques d’incendie tout en offrant un environnement naturel sûr aux citoyens. Une liste d’indicateurs et de valeurs cibles a été établie pour mesurer le succès des mesures mises en œuvre: surface minimale pour les traitements sylvicoles (105 ha), normes minimales de qualité de l’eau de l’usine de traitement (pesticides comme la concentration de chlorpyrifos dans l’eau recyclée, avec un objectif de <0,03 μg/l) et nombre minimal d’habitants et de zones résidentielles protégées par le système global de protection contre l’incendie. Ce plan permet de suivre et de rendre compte en permanence et de plus en plus des progrès et de l’efficacité des mesures mises en œuvre.

Pertinence

Cas développé et mis en œuvre en tant que mesure d’adaptation au changement climatique.

Détails supplémentaires

Participation des parties prenantes

Les parties prenantes ont été principalement engagées dans les campagnes de sensibilisation à la prévention des incendies. Des sessions de formation et des ateliers ont été organisés pour former les résidents et les écoliers aux risques liés au changement climatique dans la région, aux dommages causés par les incendies et aux mesures de prévention. En outre, des sessions spécifiques ont été consacrées à présenter et à démontrer l’infrastructure hydraulique et ses avantages avec l’objectif, à accroître son acceptation par la communauté locale et à éviter tout conflit lié aux risques potentiels liés à la réutilisation des eaux usées.

Facteurs de réussite et facteurs limitants

Le plan d’action élaboré par la municipalité de Riba-Roja, qui établit une liste d’indicateurs et de valeurs cibles, permet de tester le succès des premières mesures mises en œuvre, permettant ainsi leur achèvement.

Les autres facteurs de succès qui ont permis la mise en œuvre des mesures d’adaptation sont les suivants: la quantité suffisante d’eau disponible à partir de la station de traitement et l’existence d’une interface urbaine-forêt où construire l’infrastructure. En outre, les initiatives de sensibilisation et d’implication des citoyens, qui ont été entreprises aux premiers stades du projet, ont favorisé leur succès.

Inversement, travailler dans un parc naturel nécessitait plusieurs autorisations et augmentait les coûts de réalisation de l’infrastructure. Les facteurs limitatifs sont également liés au cadre institutionnel de la Communauté valencienne. Le règlement sur la prévention des incendies n’était pas suffisant en l’espèce, et la législation relative à la réduction des risques de catastrophe et à la sauvegarde de la vie humaine ne couvrait pas tous les aspects nécessaires. En outre, l’utilisation des eaux usées traitées peut modifier le pays actuel afin d’inclure la possibilité (actuellement non explicitement envisagée) de réutiliser une telle source d’eau pour la lutte contre les incendies d’une manière fiable et sûre (voir la section sur les aspects juridiques). Enfin, d’autres facteurs limitatifs importants ont été liés à la garantie de la qualité de l’eau recyclée (questions techniques) et à la détermination adéquate de l’emplacement du système hydraulique dans une zone naturelle, en tenant compte des distances de l’infrastructure par rapport aux arbres à valeur spéciale.

Coûts et bénéfices

Le coût total des mesures d’adaptation s’est élevé à 5 494 755 EUR, partiellement financés par les actions innovatrices urbaines de l’UE dans le cadre du projet GUARDIAN (4 395 804 EUR, 80 % du financement).

Les avantages de la mise en place de l’infrastructure hydraulique pour recycler les eaux usées sont principalement liés à l’augmentation de la résilience des zones pour prévenir les incendies de forêt et réduire les risques d’incendie de forêt. Le traitement avancé de l’eau assuré par ce système permet également de réduire l’impact environnemental précédemment associé au rejet des eaux urbaines résiduaires et à leur réutilisation pour l’irrigation. Il peut également fournir un approvisionnement rentable qui réduit la demande — et le stress — sur des sources précieuses, telles que les eaux souterraines, les rivières et les réservoirs d’eau. Cela est particulièrement important dans les zones touchées par la pénurie d’eau et la sécheresse, ce qui accroît la durabilité environnementale. 

Au niveau de l’UE, le recyclage et la réutilisation des eaux usées sont abordés dans la communication de l’UE intitulée «Relever le défi de la pénurie d’eau et de la sécheresse dans l’Union européenne» (2007). En 2020, la Commission a adopté un règlement (acte législatif contraignant qui doit être appliqué dans toute l’Union européenne) concernant les exigences minimales applicables à la réutilisation de l’eau pour l’irrigation agricole afin de stimuler la réutilisation de l’eau lorsqu’elle est rentable et sûre pour la santé humaine et la santé. La loi espagnole qui réglemente l’utilisation de l’eau recyclée (RD/2001) n’envisage pas la possibilité de réutiliser l’eau pour prévenir les incendies. Il n’y a pas de texte juridique spécifique lorsque cette utilisation est clairement définie. Cependant, la plupart des documents juridiques acceptent d’indiquer l’autorisation expresse d’utiliser toutes les ressources disponibles pour lutter contre un incendie; cette nouvelle utilisation de l’eau recyclée compatible avec la lutte contre les incendies a donc été acceptée par le bureau de planification hydrologique.

Temps de mise en œuvre

Le projet GUARDIAN s’étend de 2019 à 2021. Cette période de trois ans comprenait les phases de construction, d’essai et d’exploitation de l’intervention prévue. Une période de prolongation a été accordée, jusqu’en avril 2022.

Durée de vie

L’infrastructure devrait avoir une durée de vie de plus de 25 ans avec un plan d’entretien régulier.

Informations de référence

Contacter

Vicente Adobes Golfe, project manager

Email: vadobes@ribarroja.es

Référence

The Guardian Project Journal n°1, mai 2020

Publié dans Climate-ADAPT Nov 22 2022   -   Dernière modification dans Climate-ADAPT Apr 11 2024


Veuillez nous contacter pour toute autre enquête sur cette étude de cas ou pour partager une nouvelle étude de cas (email climat.adapt@eea.europa.eu a >)

Actions sur le document

Home Database Case studies Building fire resilience using recycled water in Riba-Roja de Túria, Spain
Case studies

Building fire resilience using recycled water in Riba-Roja de Túria, Spain

Building fire resilience using recycled water in Riba-Roja de Túria, Spain

Riba-Roja de Túria is a municipality located in the National Park of Túria in Valencia (Spain) which represents one of the last remaining forestry lungs in its metropolitan area. The Túria Park also represents a clear example of the scarce and valuable Mediterranean riparian forests associated with the River Túria. It is rich in terms of biodiversity with the presence of Aleppo pines and Mediterranean scrubs, as well as in terms of traditions, agricultural landscape and local culture heritage related to ancient Valencian agriculture. Its classification as a Natural Park has ensured the conservation of all these values within a highly populated and industrialised area.

The area is composed of an increasing agglomeration of small cities with settlements scattered and intermixed with forested lands. In case of wildfire, this friction of urban settlements with (also referred as wild land) creates a potential exposure of structures and citizens that may entail tremendous consequences. Nowadays, these municipalities are overwhelmed by a situation consisting of a population growing remarkably in summer (during the peak of the fire season), mainly due to secondary residents, being surrounded with forests (lacking silviculture and management), with abandoned agricultural fields and with a serious lack of water.

The Riba-Roja de Túria municipality leads the GUARDIAN project, aimed to increase the Spanish municipalities’ resilience against the risk of forest fires through the implementation of green urban actions. The area to be protected has an extension of 35 hectares and is populated by about 15,000 inhabitants that are potentially affected by fires.

About 80,000 m3 of annual recycled water from the urban wastewater treatment plant is available in the area that could greatly improve the ability to cope with forest fires. In this context, a hydraulic infrastructure for an advanced treatment of wastewater is under development, with the aim to offer a defensive tool against forest fire risk and build forest fire resilience. Riba-Roja de Túria is also building green firebreaks (i.e. low flammability strips of vegetation) to increase the resilience of the area against the forest fires.

Case Study Description

Challenges

The municipality of Riba-Roja de Túria is subject to the growing risk of forest fires. These events are extremely exacerbated by different factors, such as climate change, agriculture abandonment, and insufficient forest management. Consequences are not only related to natural resources (loss of biodiversity, soil degradation) but also include risks for residents’ lifes, damages to city infrastructures, and decrease in air quality, and have a negative overall effect on the local economy (e.g. tourism). In the period 2000-2016, the municipality suffered 40 forest fires, which are becoming increasingly destructive due to the rapid urban development in the area. In addition, climate change is increasingly affecting the availability of water resources, which are vital in the prevention and mitigation of forest fires. Historically (1984-2013) and currently (2015 reference period), the region is affected by an annual reduction in precipitation rate of 5.5%; projections indicate a drastic decrease of annual rainfall during the century between -22.3 and -35.0% (corresponding to a reduction of 103 and 162 mm) depending on the selected time frame (short term or long term) and climate scenario. A significant increase in the annual number of days without rain is also projected, reaching more than 30 days at the end of the century, thus implying more persistent and severe drought events.

Objectives

The main objective is to increase fire resilience in the area of Túria Natural Park, by applying sustainable water management principles. More than 35 hectares of “strategic nature” (i.e. green firebreaks and plant species with characteristics allowing to reduce fire risk) are planned to be managed in order to prevent fires at the urban-rural interface, protecting natural areas, biodiversity, agricultural land and the potentially affected population. The use of recycled water for fire extinction will also help in preserving water resources, in a future looking perspective. In addition, it is recognized that the protection against fires at the interface with urban areas (Wildland Urban Interface, WUI) is not only a fire-fighters’ responsibility. Both decision-makers and practitioners, working at the WUI, must learn to use integrated fire resilient strategies, such as implementing irrigation solutions and considering a sustainable water cycle, adjusting the water demand to the actual water availability. Therefore, raising awareness of the public in fire prevention and self-defence is another objective to be pursued.

Solutions

Riba-Roja de Túria has developed a fire resilience strategy based on the use of recycled water to prevent and protect an area at the wildland-urban interface against fires. The strategy provides preventive, pre-suppression and extinction irrigation/soaking patterns automatically programmed to respectively: (i) increase fuel moisture anytime during the fire season, (ii) directly protect from fire flame during the preparedness stage in case a fire is declared nearby, and (iii) respond to fire event with direct water application.

To carry out this strategy three main actions of different nature are being implemented:

  1. Building a hydraulic infrastructure to supply recycled water, from the city wastewater treatment plant to the wild land-urban interface of the area
  2. Design, build and maintain transitional ‘green belts’ around the urban area (green firebreaks), reusing treated waters, to act as firebreaks and prevent the advance of fire in the urban-forest interface area
  3. Raise awareness campaigns and training activities for citizens to increase fire risk perception and self-protection capabilities

The hydraulic system is composed of a main tank of 500 m3 (the “Alpha” tank). It collects water from the Water Regeneration Station (WRS) and distributes it to 42 water cannons (e.g. irrigation and sprinkler towers) through more than 6,500 meters of pipes and four additional tanks. The treated water gets the Alpha tank by a pumping equipment located at the treatment station and a 63 mm diameter polyethylene pipeline. Based on a network of sensors, a monitoring and command system calculates the amount and spatial distribution of water needed to compensate soil moisture deficit, and automatically deliver it to prevent and protect from fires.

The reclaimed water coming from the WRS will also be used to improve the water quality of an existing wetland (“la Vallesa” pond), that is exploited as a natural emergency reservoir in addition to tanks. The area is catalogued as a protected wetland by the natural resources management plan of the Valencian Government. The Water Regeneration Station allows an advanced water treatment to eliminate water contaminants such as Chlorpyrifos, a common pesticide coming from the influent water, and guarantees the safe use of recycled water in the natural park. This will allow reducing the current load of suspended solids delivered to the wetland, thus minimising siltation processes, as well as to restore the whole hydraulic network in the surroundings. Some silvicultural actions in the area are also planned to keep it clean of alien vegetation.

Riba-Roja de Túria municipality is also building green firebreaks to increase the fire resilience of the area. Green firebreaks are low flammability strips of vegetation located in strategic areas of the territory to slow down or stop the progress of forest fires. The green fire breaks are made up of strategically planted fire-resistant trees. They get water from the hydraulic infrastructure to moisten vegetation in the area and form a thick green wall facing the prevailing wind to block the ashes and heat. Plant species are selected based on the following characteristics: low flammability, structural properties to reduce wind speed, fuel load reduction, ability to generate the growth and maintenance of fungi to improve soil condition, and a combination of herbaceous plants to favour soil moisture.

In addition, the Riba-Roja de Túria municipality is engaged in awareness raising campaigns to train citizens in fire prevention. The training sessions target both residents and schoolchildren living near the fire risk zones. The residents are being skilled about fire prevention and how the hydraulic infrastructure can minimise fire risks, including a demonstration of the water cannons being installed throughout the area. As part of these training sessions, the city is also holding workshops on fire resilient gardening to further develop citizens’ skills in fire prevention. The schoolchildren, aged 6 to 11 years old, are taught about climate change, including its causes and effects, and the consequences fires can have on homes depending on the fire resilience measures adopted.

Finally, the municipality of Riba-Roja de Túria has successfully developed an Action Plan for an integrated solution to reduce fire risks while providing a safe natural environment for citizens. A list of indicators and target values has been set to measure the success of the implemented measures: minimum surface area for silvicultural treatments (105 ha), minimum water quality standards of the regenerated water from the treatment plant (pesticides like chlorpyrifos concentration in recycled water, with a target of <0.03 μg/l) and minimum number of inhabitants and residential areas protected by the overall fire defence system. This plan allows to constantly and increasingly monitor and report on progress and efficiency of the implemented measures.

Relevance

Case developed and implemented as a CCA (Climate Change Adaptation) Measure.

Additional Details

Stakeholder Participation

Stakeholders have been mainly engaged in the awareness raising campaigns on fire prevention. Training sessions and workshops have been organized to train both residents and schoolchildren on climate change risks for the area, damages from fires, and prevention actions. In addition, specific sessions have been dedicated to present and demonstrate the hydraulic infrastructure and its benefits with the objective, to increase its acceptance by the local community and to avoid any conflicts related to potential risks associated to the wastewater reuse.

Success and Limiting Factors

The Action Plan developed by the municipality of Riba-Roja that set a list of indicators and target values, allows testing the success of the first implemented measures, thus enabling their completion.

Other success factors that allowed the implementation of the adaptation measures were: the sufficient amount of water availability from the treatment plant and the existence of an urban-forest interface where to build the infrastructure. In addition, the initiatives of awareness raising and involvement of citizens, that were undertaken at the early stages of the project, favoured their success.

Conversely, working in a natural park required several authorizations and increased the costs for realizing the infrastructure. Limiting factors are also related to the institutional setting of the Valencian Community. The regulation on fire prevention was not sufficient for this case, and legislation for addressing disaster risk reduction and safeguard of human life was not covering all the needed aspect. In addition, the use of treated wastewater may a modification of the current national to include the possibility (currently not explicitly envisioned) of re-using such a water source for firefighting in a reliable and safe way (See the Section on Legal Aspects). Finally, other important limiting factors were related to guarantee the quality of the recycled water (technical issues), and to properly determine the location of the hydraulic system in a natural area, taking into considerations the distances of the infrastructure from special value trees.

Costs and Benefits

The total cost of the adaptation measures amounted at €5,494,755, partially financed by EU Urban Innovative Actions under the GUARDIAN project (€4,395,804, 80% of funding).

Benefits from the implementation of the hydraulic infrastructure to recycle wastewater are mainly related to the increase in the resilience of the areas to prevent forest fire and reduce the forest fires risks. The advanced water treatment ensured by this system also allows reducing the environmental impact previously associated to the discharge of urban waste waters and its re-use for irrigation. It can also provide a cost-efficient supply that decreases the demands – and stress – on valuable sources, such as groundwater, rivers, and water reservoirs. This is particularly important in areas affected by water scarcity and drought, thus increasing environmental sustainability. 

At EU level, recycling and reuse of wastewater is addressed in the EU communication "Addressing the challenge of water scarcity and droughts in the European Union" (2007). In 2020, the Commission adopted a Regulation (binding legislative act that must be applied across all the European Union) on minimum requirements for water reuse for agricultural irrigation to boost water reuse when it is cost-efficient and safe for human health and the . The Spanish law that regulates the use of recycled water (RD/2001) does not envision the possibility to re-use water to prevent fires. There is not any specific legal text where this use is clearly defined. However, most of legal documents agree to state express authorization to use all available resources to fight a fire; so this new use of recycled water as compatible with firefighting was accepted by the hydrological planning office.

Implementation Time

The GUARDIAN Project run from 2019 to 2021. This 3 years period included building, testing, and operational phases of the planned intervention. An extension period was granted, to end by April 2022.

Life Time

The infrastructure is expected to have a lifetime of more than 25 years with a plan of regular maintenance.

Reference Information

Contact

Vicente Adobes Golfe, project manager

Email: vadobes@ribarroja.es

Reference

The Guardian Project Journal n°1, May 2020

Published in Climate-ADAPT May 12 2022   -   Last Modified in Climate-ADAPT May 12 2022


Please contact us for any other enquiry on this Case Study or to share a new Case Study (email climate.adapt@eea.europa.eu)

Document Actions